We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Bonaparte

Cafe Bonaparte
Ranked #2,035 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Bar, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Turkey, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

food/drink was just what i wanted - service was quick and the place was clean...all in all, i was happy to be able to get my brunch and get going so i could head back home.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpshep l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    163
    66
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and have brunch in St. Germain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We walked all the way from Opera on a Sunday for a relaxing brunch at this spot. We sat in the chilly sunshine on their patio and had the friendliest, smiling waiter ever. Truly the best service we received during our entire trip to Paris. Most importantly, I LOVED the patio here! It was super chilly when we were there, but the fleece blankets kept us warm.

I had a croque madame, which was super rich with the fried egg on top. It was definitely fuel for our day of walking! I'm not sure I'd get it again - I could barely finish it! I enjoyed several cafe au laits and just relaxed and people watched our brunch time away, since Fashion Week was providing numerous opportunities for the spectator sport (I swear, at least 3 women walked by without pants!).

Excellent service, a patio with a great view (and the sounds of live music from closeby), and yummy coffee. Perfect. Please don't hurry this experience - just relax and enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank valerie210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great cafe in a lovely area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Typically French, mid-range prices, good food, excellent atmosphere, staff variable. Just far enough off the tourist scene.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theil Rabier France
Level Contributor
202 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Dive in Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

If you are around St Germain de Pres and feeling peckish, here is a place to dive into for a snack, breakfast, brunch, lunch and even dinner, all at very reasonable prices.
Cheerful and friendly staff and comfortable seating on the banquettes help to make your visit worthwhile.
We had Omelettes, Ceasar Salads, one and a half bottles of good white Bourgogne plus, and this was a surprise, two of the best Cafe Gourmands for a long while (always difficult to find a really good one, but always well worth if you do!).
The only downer was we were sat opposite the front door, and there was a constant draught from the opening and closing of it, but that was our mistake for choosing that table, and not realising how popular with the locals it was. Hence the constant opening and closing.
Otherwise, a great place to dive into if you are in the area.
Recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bolger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good spot for lunch/snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Good choice of salads and sandwiches. Typical French selection and high quality. As with all Paris bistro's, fairly expensive. Nice outdoor heated seated which added to the ambiance. Note to those adverse to tight seating- be forewarned, all the bistro's in Paris are very tight.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bonaparte also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing