We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Bonaparte

Cafe Bonaparte
Ranked #2,035 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Bar, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stopped here after visiting the stunning Luxembourg gardens on our way to le louvre. Ordered a light breakfast. When it arrived it was a measly portion of dried out cold coissant and measly serving of jam and rock hard butter! My mum had a slightly better dish of toasted raw steak sandwich with garlic mayo. Both were well overpriced even for paris. Good location but food less than impressed with! Wouldn't recommend this place at all, there are much more reasonably priced places nearby with delicious food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loobylou1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    163
    66
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
134 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The location is fabulous...but the rest...!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Other then the location, think twice! Maybe you get lucky for lunch (for a salad) . Avoid dinner or anything else after dark!
Whatever you choose won't get worse then this.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, not great cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Prime Place St. Germain-des-Prés spot. Our late lunch of onion soup and salads was lackluster. Pricey carafe of mediocre Chablis. Charming waiters, quick to serve. They're always on the move, pull out a credit card and you're invisible. Cafe waiters notoriously hate processing cards; it slows them down. They ignore you until in frustration you just leave cash and go. Walk another block or two for better priced places with better food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phineas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No Service Equals Horrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We sat down outside at about 6:30 pm to have a drink. After watching two waiters attend to other customers for at least 20 minutes, no acknowledgement, not a word spoken to us, we got up and walked away and spent our money someplace else. Horrible way to treat a customer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Denver_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

food/drink was just what i wanted - service was quick and the place was clean...all in all, i was happy to be able to get my brunch and get going so i could head back home.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpshep l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bonaparte also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing