We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, really good”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #241 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really, really good”
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We could not find a bad thing to say about this hotel. Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Really clean room, albeit quite small but definitely big enough for the two of us. Close to metro and train lines. Quite a few nice places to eat and drink within walking distance. The hotel is near a road but the sound proofing is just brilliant - slept really well both nights. As we arrived, they were just finishing laying new carpet, for which the owner was very apologetic but there was no need to be - the new carpet looks great! We had breakfast in the hotel on one day and it was great - on the Sunday, we ate out at a nearby cafe, which was better to be honest - it was a bit better value. The toilet in reception is amazing by the way - use it if you get the chance!! Having free wifi was very helpful as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoopyHoop82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    342
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
171
627
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the New Orient Hotel on March 31 and April 1st. It is located in an area that is convenient to the metro and the main attractions in Paris. My room was spotless and even though on the small side was adequate for all my needs. The people who staffed the front desk were very personable and were always willing to dispense useful advice to this tourist. Travelers should note that this is a small family run hotel. The owners obviously care about its maintenance and were in the process of painting and renewing the central staircase. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would hope to be able to bring my wife with me to stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHITBY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

It is a good choice for Paris it is expensive! The room was small the shower was really small! But it was clean and a pretty good location! Close to the train station! Would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melandtom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

My friend and I stayed here for three nights for a long, girly weekend. We chose the New Orient Hotel based on the reviews on here and the price. I booked a Twin Superior room which had a balcony and a bath. The hotel is located a short walk from Villiers metro station. I was surprised that the hotel is only 2 star when I think it could really be more like a 3 star hotel.

When we checked in, the man at the reception was very helpful, took our bags and showed us to the lift. Our room was on the second floor and we had a great view of the typical Parisienne street and a lovely little balcony. The road was quite noisy but as soon as you closed the balcony doors, you couldn't hear any noise from outside. The soundproofing was excellent. The room itself wasn't what I had expected - judging by the pics on the website I thought we were going to get a room which had more antique furniture - but the room we were given was clean, a little more modern (which suited us fine) and was big enough for the two of us and our cases. Beds were really comfy and we even had a tv! The room also had free wifi - very useful for checking Tripadvisor before we went out to dinner ;)

Our room was cleaned spotlessly everyday and the staff were always very welcoming and helpful. On the last day we had breakfast in the hotel and that was cheap and filling at only 8 euros each for the continental breakfast. I guess the only things that could be improved in the room would be the lighting and the amount of plug sockets. I think there were two plug sockets in the room, which is fine, but we're two girls who are blow drying our hair, straightening our hair, laptop plugged in, phone on charge - an extension cable would have been useful ;) Also, there wasn't a main light hanging from the ceiling - just three small lamps - one by the dressing table and one each by the twin beds. It wasn't an issue at all until it came to get ready for nights out - we ended up elbowing each other for the prime spot in the bathroom mirror! Easily solved I suppose with some higher watt bulbs? But that's seriosuly the only thing that could be improved. We loved the hotel and would happily go back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iseestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Stayed at the New Orient for 7 nights in mid march. The hotel is in a nice area that feels more residential than the other places I've stayed in while in Paris & it's easy to reach any location from there as there are many subway stations nearby.

Room was the normal size for Parisian standards, spotlessly clean, great bed and pristine bathroom. Our room faced the street but we didn't get any noise from the outside - the problem was inside. More than once we were awoken by guests slamming doors or walking around in the rooms above or next to ours, packing bags and talking loudly late at night or very early in the morning - like, 6 am. This really annoyed us a lot.

Getting up and down the stairs with big suitcases is a bit of a challenge, even with the elevator, but we managed. Service was just fine.

I would recommend this place to other people specially because of how clean and nice the rooms are & how fair the price is, but I'm not sure if I'd stay agan. I really value quietness in a hotel and didn't really get it here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brunitza82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I had a most pleasant time at this hotel. It is very charming and has a very friendly and helpful staff. It's very well situated, close to the Gare Saint-Lazare, which means that you can quickly go anywhere in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

What a great place to staff the staff were fabulous close to most of the attractions but far enough away to feel that you are not in a tourist area. We asked for restaurant recommendation for our 25th wedding anniversary could not be happier great food reasonably priced.
The hotel is very Parisian and in walking distance to most things but also close to the metro.

The staff were just fabulous and only too willing to help.

Would recommend with out hesitation

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#55 of 1,802 in Paris
394 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#163 of 1,802 in Paris
1,386 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#145 of 1,802 in Paris
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#198 of 1,802 in Paris
1,103 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#42 of 1,802 in Paris
1,515 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel des 3 Poussins
Hotel des 3 Poussins
#224 of 1,802 in Paris
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing