We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and genuine staff.”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #269 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and genuine staff.”
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel on trip advisor and were not disappointed. Fantastic location close to the metro, great neighbourhood and most importantly fantastic staff. Nothing was too much trouble not matter what our question or request was. Great bakery a couple of doors up which we visited each morning on our way to explore. The room and bathroom was spotlessly clean. A great treasure in Paris and will definitely stay again if we ever get to return to Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmm798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    344
    41
    3
    8
See reviews for
172
629
118
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Great Hotel, Freindly Staff, very clean ensuite room with separate toilet. Good size for european standards. The location grows on you every day, visit Rue de Levi just down the road for sensational rotisserie meat and cakes and tarts and bread and..... Closely located to Villiers Metro. The staff made us feel very welcome and were incredibly helpful.

Room Tip: Dont pay big money for Chain hotels and this place beats an apartment. however a fridge would be go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisCC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We where torn between a cheap/budget hotel near one of the big rail stations and paying more to be closer to the action in Paris. We decided on the New Orient (which was reasonably priced for Paris) and we where not disappointed!
We arrived via Eurostar, Metro and then an easy stroll to the hotel through the Opera district. The hotel and it's staff are brilliant (especially the night porter/manager whose name i forget - sorry) who gave us information on local places to eat and drink.
The room itself was decent size (bigger than my bedroom at home so no complaints) and the en suite was also very nice, the room had a nice Parisian feel to it and my girlfriend really appreciated the furniture and decor to making her "feel like i'm in Paris". The only problem people might have is that the lift/elevator does not start on the ground floor and stops between floors with a few steps either up or down to get to your floor (but not a problem for us).
The area is also really nice to stroll around and metro stations are within a 5min stroll to get to all the landmarks, although there are many tourist buses too.
I would highly recommend this hotel as Paris is a very expensive city but this hotel made us feel like we where getting great value for money and if you've been to Paris before and are looking for something a little special then you can't go wrong here. Also if you've never been to Paris before this hotel will set the mood for a true Parisian stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviddwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton Upon Humber
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

New Orient is spotlessly clean, staff are very welcoming and very friendly. The hotel is ideally located between two metro stations, there is a supermarket directly opposite and plenty of restaurants/bars/shops around. I stayed in a single occupancy room which wasn't spacious (it is Paris) but perfectly comfortable. The shower cubicle was particularly small though and some may struggle. A tight spiral staircase leads up to all floors but there is a lift that only stops between floors. A choice of breakfast is available and there is a (non-alcoholic) bar available. All in all a very comfortable stay, the perfect location for seeing Paris and I'd definitely go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The New Orient Hotel has left us with great memories of our time in Paris the end of July. The staff was welcoming, engaging and most helpful and capable. Our room was delightful with a charming balcony, red geraniums and table and chairs to enjoy relaxing. The room was also spotless and well appointed, with comfortable beds and ample bathroom space. The area was comfortable and pleasant, with a short walk to charming and delicious bistros; all suggestions from the reception employees. The area is quiet yet offers a market and not-to-miss Boulangerie within a short distance. We would definitely chose to stay at the New Orient Hotel again..and welcome seeing our new French friends who work there!

Room Tip: Love the balcony and morning sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stlcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany NY
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We ( 4 seniors ) had some concerns about our booking last Feb at the New Orient based on good notices from Trip Advisor. The closer we got to our Stay,Sept 2 & 3, the more it seemed out of the way from the Paris highlights. But not to worry. The hotel was a little gem. The staff was very helpful with good advice on nearby restaurants and metro use. The rooms though small were comfortable. The litlle cafe near the lobby was a good start to our days. And the location was not a problem. We got to see another part of Paris and using the metro was pretty easy. It proved a nice ending to our river cruise to Normandy on Uniworld which we also would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our 3d floor room faced the street and was fine. Large casement windows were banked with geraniums...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Wow! Such a fabulous, quaint, spotless, clean hotel. I loved staying there! Great location. Grocery store right across the street. The Elevator is in between floors. You only have to walk a few steps up to get to it..then you walk a few steps down to get to your room. They carry all your luggage to your room and bring it down when you leave! great bakery on the corner!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#56 of 1,800 in Paris
405 reviews
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#255 of 1,800 in Paris
1,816 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#170 of 1,800 in Paris
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#187 of 1,800 in Paris
1,116 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel des 3 Poussins
Hotel des 3 Poussins
#300 of 1,800 in Paris
704 reviews
Le Fabe Hotel
#97 of 1,800 in Paris
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing