We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double is better”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #289 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Good location, quiet place, charming and clean hotel, friendly staff. But the single room (or at least number 21) is very small. A tiny table that can hardly contain a laptop. In the bathroom the toilet stands right in front of the shower. Better book a double room even if you travel alone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
There are newer reviews for New Orient Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

Chose this place because of the great reviews. To be honest, we'd usually stay somewhere with a higher star rating but the quality of this little boutique hotel was just fantastic, and for what is a really cheap price in Paris. The rooms are small (which is pretty standard for old European capitals) but were very comfortable indeed with good bathroom facilities and super beds. The building is old but it is beautifully kept and the spiral staircase is a wonderful feature. The breakfast was tasty and filling; a little pricey but then again not really if you try to eat the same outside in cafes. The wifi was both strong and free which is hard to find even in much more expensive establishments. The service was also flawless and everyone is very helpful and friendly. Added to that, the location was perfect; on the southern edge of the old Montmartre district and within short walking distance of two different metro stops that get you onto major lines which will take you anywhere you want to go. So all in all, we couldn't recommend it highly enough; top marks for everything and next time we're in town we wont even bother looking for anywhere else.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a little balcony and/or a lovely view across the Parisian rooftops.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Me and my wife stayed here from 4th to 15th... We searched a lot i could say to find a good value and we chose New Orient hotel that his price was more close to us!! Well it was a really good experience; the room wasn't very large but nice and romantic!! The staff is a really big plus of this hotel as they helped us in whatever we needed!! Totally recommended!! A really value for money!!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RuthMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This was the best value I found on Trip Advisor, so gave it a try. I can't compare to other Paris hotels, but based on comments from others, I think this was a good deal.
Note - The stairs are narrow and the elevator stops between floors (middle of the stairs). This may be a factor for those not wanting stairs.

The rooms are "cozy", code for small. The bed is 6 foot long, so those of us 6+foot tall will have their feet hanging off. The shower is a snug fit - make sure to point the showerhead into the corner to limit spray onto the bathroom floor.
We had a very small balcony - great in January for storing drinks, etc. to keep them cold. Not much of a view.

The desk staff was very helpful. They printed some tour tickets for me. They also went out of their way to make sure we got to the airport on time - let them know 24hrs in advance before you depart so they can help.

A few blocks from the Metro, which then gets you anywhere. Also lots of restaurants and bakeries around the Metro Stop. There is a little market just across the street from the Hotel.

We did not do the breakfast, instead went and got fresh items from the local bakeries and fruit from the market.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bstrvl55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This hotel is really good, placed in an area well connected to the subway stations. The reception staff is friendly and always smiling, gave us restaurant recommendations and tips on the city. The room was not very spacious but very nice and clean with free wi-fi. The breakfast is good. We found a very friendly hotel in this romantic city. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adolfo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Deeply impressed by the private-owned cute hotel. The decor brand-new, comfy bed, generous breakfast, and above all, really great service that is rarely mentioned in Paris. From hotel owners to staffs, they showed great attention to your needs.

Besides, the hotel sent small gifts like Chocolates to us when we mentioned we are on honeymoon to Paris.

We will choose this hotel again if we visit Paris next time.

Room Tip: We don't choose balcony room as it is cold in winter. But it seems it is a good option during mi...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The New Orient Hotel was exactly what I was hoping for when choosing a hotel for my Christmas holiday vacation in Paris. Located in the 8e Arrondissement and within a short walking distance from several Metro stations, markets, coffee shops, restaurants and department stores. The hotel was also a stone’s throw from the Parc Monceau (ideal for morning jogs and strolls) and a short distance from the famed Opera Garnier. Despite its convenient location, The New Orient still manages to feel tucked away and off the beaten path – which is a huge boon to anyone looking to find a little peace and quiet in the midst of the bustling city.

The hotel has an adorable lobby and breakfast nook, oozing warmth and hospitality and decorated in traditional French style. Breakfast is an additional 8-12 Euro per day, and includes a selection of pastries, breads, jams, cereals, yogurt, as well as coffee, tea and juice. The food was good, but frankly, for the money you can do better elsewhere.

The rooms were small but very clean and well appointed, with comfortable beds and free Wi-Fi. The service was fantastic – which comes as no surprise since the hotel recently picked up a Trip Advisor award for Best Service – we were given spot-on dining and sightseeing recommendations whenever we consulted the front desk for advice.

For the location, service and cozy quarters, the price at The New Orient Hotel can’t be beat – rooms go from 85-185 Euro/night, a relative steal in pricey Paris.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Traveler3381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Le Swann
0.1 mi away
Idol Hotel
Idol Hotel
#54 of 1,803 in Paris
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#229 of 1,803 in Paris
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Berne Opera
Hotel Berne Opera
#343 of 1,803 in Paris
570 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#202 of 1,803 in Paris
1,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais Monceau
Hotel Relais Monceau
#1,052 of 1,803 in Paris
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £104 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing