We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Gem”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #252 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Little Gem”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Charming little hotel near the Opera House Paris, close to restaurants, shops, Printemps, Lafayette and transport especially the railway, Easy and a joy to walk the boulevards to The Champs Elysees and The Eiffel Tower or to Monmatre. Rooms are quite small, but beautifully appointed and more than adequate for a guests needs. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast in the morning is a delight of French pastries, cheeses, fruit and good coffee. Good price for being in this lovely city, close to everything, but far enough away to have tranquility and enjoy the real Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking time to share your impressions on the New Orient.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in our little Parisian village!

We hope to welcome you again in the future and wish you all the best.

Kindest regards

Catherine, Josef W ehrle and their team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    342
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
171
627
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Loved this hotel, couldn't believe it was possible in Paris to stay somewhere so cosy and French at this price.

It was very clean, the bed was Queen size when I thought it would have been a cramped single and there was no noise from outside.

The only negative was the cafe au lait, it wasn't so typically French but then who cares when you're comfy!

Loved Catherine too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we wold like to thank you for choosing the Ne Orient for your honeymoon and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sorry that you did not like our smoothy café au laid but this is a personal thing8

All the best to you all for the future
with our kind regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

As others have described: Friendly, Clean, close to Metro stops.

This was the first hotel my wife and I stayed at on our honeymoon around France. The trip had religiously been booked using trip advisor and this hotel did not disappoint! Really clean, really friendly: there was even a congratulations on getting married card and gift in our room! We had a shower room with balcony, was stylish and clean. I think this hotel can be summed up by saying that its really user friendly. Everything works as you'd want: nice shower, nice bedding, silent and efficient aircon (was 36 degrees during our stay but our room was a balmy 20!). Also, great wi-fi, little things like this make it easier to make last minute plans or alterations when staying in a vast city!

Will definitely be returning.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind compliments on the New Orient following your honeymoon in Paris.

It is nice to read that you appreciated your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you soon again,

with our kind regards

Cathrerine, Josef Wehrle and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I have been a traveler to Paris for many years. Occasionally I stay at the very high end but usually I am seeking a solid clean base of operations. I have probably stayed in as many as 20 different 3 star rated hotels. This stay in July 2013 was my third for the NOH. I don't think I will ever stay anywhere else, if they have rooms available! The New Orient has become my center-point in Paris.
A combination of features make it super desirable. It top features is that its management( possible the owners) on on site every day. This keeps it functioning like you want a hotel to be.
It is very clean, the rooms are well appointed. It is air-conditioned and everything works. The location is walking distance to the Gare St. Lazare. and lines 2 and 3 It is on fairly quiet street with many small restaurants nearby. The Grand Magazines(shopping centers) of Printemps and Galleries Lafayette are possible walking journeys.
The area, which is about 1.5 KM north of the Champs Eysees is safe.
Breakfast is great.
About the only issue I can think of is that the elevator is a strange configuration but one can get used to it.
Just book early as it seems the place has been discovered.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JL1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind comments on the New Orient and are pleased that you had a nice stay in our little hotel far from the traditional hotel standards!
We will continue to do our best to give our best service to all our guests.

Sorry for the elevator but this was the only way to integrate one without destroying our lovely staircase.

Kind regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a wonderful 4 night stay here. It was my wife's 50th birthday weekend and we were greeted with a lovely present and card on the bed. What a nice touch.
Rooms were super clean. Great air con. Balcony was wonderful with flowers and nice views.
Lovely area to eat and drink in. Breakfasts superb.

The attention to detail and customer service was second to none. You can keep your 5 star hotels with no atmosphere and character. This place has it all.
100% recommended. Great value too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamTheobald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind comments on the New Orient. We are far to be a 5 stars hotel but we just wish our guests to fell comfortable in our small hotel. It is our pleasure to help them to discover Paris in the nicest and easiest way and to try to save them from traps which are frequent in a big touristic city like Paris;
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you for another occasion;

Kindest regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and their team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed at this beautiful hotel for the weekend of the Tour de France. We were excited about seeing the final day of the TdF but knowing that we were staying in such a lovely hotel completed a perfect weekend. We especially enjoyed spending time on the balcony as the sun went down sharing a bottle of wine and watching the street life below. We had a twin room which was made up into a queen sized bed, the bathroom was spotless and the continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful. We will definitely book this hotel for our next trip to Paris, we loved it.

Room Tip: All front rooms have balconies, complete with table, two chairs and flowers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking time to share your impressions on our hotel.
It is nice to read tht you enjoyed your stay with us and your little balcony which helps to feel the Parisian atmosphere.

We also hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon,

Kindest regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and their team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed a this fantastic hotel in November, 2012 for a week. The owners (Catherine & Josef Wehrle) are friendly and gracious and will do whatever they can to help. The hotel is conveniently located between 2 Metro stations-Rome & Europe-as well as Gare St-Lazare. Getting around is fast and easy. The morning breakfast in the hotel lobby was very nice. There is a fantastic pastry shop on the corner, a laundromat and a convenience store across the street. Sure the rooms and bathrooms are not big (by American standards), BUT we did not go to Paris to spend ANY time in the room!!! We recommend taking a taxi from the airport as the shuttle bus is difficult if you have large pieces of luggage. I am sorry I did not write this review sooner. I am doing it now because I love it so much I am looking into a visit in August 2013.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at te New Orient and your details will certainly help our future guests a lot.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon,

Kindest regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and their team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#54 of 1,802 in Paris
393 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#163 of 1,802 in Paris
1,386 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#145 of 1,802 in Paris
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#199 of 1,802 in Paris
1,103 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#40 of 1,802 in Paris
1,515 reviews
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#272 of 1,802 in Paris
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing