We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #252 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the New Orient hotel in mid July and felt very welcomed by managers Catherine and Josef. They shared much information about Paris;where to dine and getting around etc. Booking on line was pretty straight forward and our basic room was cozy, comfy bed, very clean and charmingly decorated with typical geranium in the outside window boxes. Remember you are in a city so if you open your window at night to let in the breeze it will be noisy. Don’t complain! The room also had a very modern bathroom that was small but equipped with every thing you needed.
Loved the location, the European quarters didn't feel touristy (Yeh…I know I’m the pot calling the kettle black!)and even though there were other hotels in the district the ambiance was freshly local. We didn't do breakfast at the New Orient, but walked to near by boulangeries for our daily dose of almond or chocolate croissants and grabbed a shot of espresso at the tiny café bar on the corner that was quietly ladened with local characters. We ate dinner at Le P’tit Canard on rue Legendre a few block away(recommended by Josef) and very much enjoyed the friendly waiters and regional cuisine. Most restaurants open after seven in this area, not sure about the rest of Paris. We also found a great supermarket a few blocks away and picniced in the delightful park at Monceau one sunny evening. The hotel was close to metro stations-Villiers or Europe although we actually walked from the hotel all the way to the Louvre-Champs Elysee to watch the parade on Bastille day, another unique experience with the celebrating Parisian crowds. There is so much to see walking via the Opera district that the forty minute trek was never dull. Of-course we took in most of the typical sites of Paris.I recommend the D’Orsey museum if you like to the great Impressionists and although I was in awe of the Louvre, frankly enjoyed the exterior gardens (great place for a picnic lunch) and architecture more. It was more interesting, vastly spaced and better than being stuffed inside on tiptoes trying to catch a glimpse of the armless poor old Venus de Milo. Read your guide books folks.. some museums are closed on select days. We missed the Pompadour centre completely as it was closed on Tuesdays. Other fun places to go..Lafayette Department store was chic with amazing stain glass ceiling. I tricked my husband into thinking we were going to an historic site(and it is ofcourse!) but cashed in on a little boutique shopping while I was there. Loved walking along the Seine and the lock bridges…although big advice…GO BEFORE YOU GO since washrooms are hard to find in these areas if you’re not in a museum or gallery. Otherwise I am a wiser traveler the next time I visit the core of Paris.
Would I go to Paris and stay at the New Orient again though? You betcha! There is a reason why this hotel is highly rated. The New Orient is a pleasant stay in Paris without breaking your piggy bank too much. So go stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britgirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your k;ind review on the New Orient. Its title is the best compliment you could give us.

All the best to you and maybe we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    342
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
171
627
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Close to the train station and metro, walking distance to the Opera and the Arc de Triomphe, great places to eat ( Le Coin ) and a street made for shopping ( Levi ).. We have stayed there twice and it's on our first choice to stay in Paris....

Room Tip: Every room is a good pick.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kings_20147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you another time at the New Orient

Kindest regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

After cancelling our reservation in another Paris hotel while we're in London, I only had 2 days to find another hotel. Having read the reviews on New Orient, I initially booked 2 nights thinking I could always find another one should we decide it didn't suit us. But I was very wrong. It's a very lovely, friendly and clean hotel. I asked to extend our stay and they thankfully obliged. We had room 19 double room with shower and large windows (no balcony). I'm sure that the other rooms especially with the tub, balcony et al are bigger. Air conditioning worked very well. Water pressure is strong, there's hot water all the time. Bathroom looked like it's been newly remodeled. There is also a safe inside the big cabinet. Across the hotel is a small grocery store with reasonably priced goods and 4 doors down from it is a laundromat (we went in twice). Street is quiet at night. Twice, we woke up late because it was just being at home.

This is the first time I am posting photos of a hotel I have stayed in simply because I am amazed by it. And no itchiness at all! I am hoping that they will keep up their excellent service. (Stayed Aug. 10-14, 2013)

Room Tip: Room 19 is a double room with shower only and large windows. It is a corner room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McIntyre_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on our hotel and also for your nice pictures.

We are happy that you were not disappointed by the New Orient and decided to stay with us longer.

Wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kindest regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was a very comfortable, clean hotel.our room was air conditioned and had a small balcony looking out at the city. 2 min walk to the metro and 10 min walk to the opera where the stop is for the city sight seeing bus. Within walking distance of lots of restaurants!
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guests,

It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you so much for your kind review.

With our best regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The bed was comfortable, the room was pretty and clean, the staff were very helpful regarding nearby restaurants, things to do, etc. Both of their restaurant recommendations nearby were excellent (Le Coin and Risi et Bisi). Our bathroom was very stylish and large. We could open the balcony doors for a breeze, but it also had air conditioning. We had lovely breakfasts of pastries and coffee in the breakfast room. There were two convenience stores nearby. It is in a quiet area, but an easy walk to Moulin Rouge and the Montmartre area. We also walked to the Arc De Triomphe and along the Champs Elysee, but it was a pretty long walk. The subway station was close by. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennySouthSurrey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind review which will certainly help our future guests to know more about us.
We are happy that you had a great time at the New Orient,

with our best regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel, good location only 5 mins from the metro and 10 walk to the opera where you can hook up with the hop on hop off buses that stop at all the major tourists attractions. Staff were great here and gave us great restaurant recommodations that were close by and were really good.
We had a lovely room on the top floor, the room was small but think that it the case in most Paris Hotels. This hotel is spotless and room were lovely french Decor. Also Air Conditioning was available in our room which was great to cool down and sleep as it was quiet warm in July.
Overall had a very pleasent experience and would stay here again and would also recommend to anyone travelling to Paris.
Fab Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your feelings on our hotel. This is a real help for us and our future guests.

All the best to you

Kind regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorktown heights, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for nearly two weeks at the New Orient Hotel on our recent visit to Paris. We first chose this hotel last summer based on its very reasonable price and high Tripadvisor ratings. We were again totally delighted with our stay. Our room was quiet, comfortable and freshly made up and cleaned each day. The host and hostess could not be more helpful and friendly. The breakfast options are fresh and include a number of healthy options. I was in love with the chocolatey cappuccino. The hotel is a quick walk to a number of different Metro stops- this was helpful for us as we preferred to not change trains. We had lots of options using my husband's phone app! I hope we will be able to return!

Room Tip: There is a little grocery across the street and early deliveries there can be noisy. We had a court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly_halim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your loyalty to the New Orient and also to take time to share your experience with future guests.

All the best to you both,

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#54 of 1,802 in Paris
393 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#163 of 1,802 in Paris
1,386 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#145 of 1,802 in Paris
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#199 of 1,802 in Paris
1,103 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#40 of 1,802 in Paris
1,515 reviews
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#272 of 1,802 in Paris
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing