We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, charming hotel”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #344 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently had a three night stay at the New Orient. I was very impressed with the cleanliness and appointments of our room. The hotel is close to 2 metro stations and a nice walk to MontMarte. We looked for a quaint Paris hotel and we found it. The hotel desk staff has to be the best ever! We had some major problems because of the train strike and they helped us on two occasions to arrange alternate transportation. One of those times was after we had checked out and found that we couldn't get a train to our next destination. We called the desk and Emma arranged for a cab to pick us up and take us to Beaune.These people like what they do and it shows. Next time we're in Paris we're here! .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UsaTrvlpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We spent 7 nights at the New Orient Hotel in June. This spotlessly clean hotel is charming with lovely decor. It is located between Europe and Villiers metro stations, which we frequently used and zipped all over Paris. We felt safe and welcomed in the nice neighborhood. The room value is great! Many wonderful, reasonable restaurants and outdoor markets are in the Villiers area. Our air-conditioned/heated room had a comfortable bed with pretty linens. The modern bathroom with super shower was immaculate. The small elevator made getting to our room on the fifth floor easy. The owners and staff were helpful and kind with directions, baggage, and obtaining taxis. Stay 7 nights to truly enjoy the beautiful hotel, neighborhood, and wonderful people of Paris.

Room Tip: It was lovely to sit on the balcony of our fifth floor room on the street side to enjoy the views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 6/13 - 6/20. The hotel is immaculately clean, the service is fantastic, it's close to the metro, the price is great, the beds are comfortable and it's in a fairly quiet neighborhood. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Paris.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Averydylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

New Orient Hotel is a terrific hotel with gracious owners. We've stayed in 7 other hotels in Paris and this is the best (three of the others were Rick Steves' recommendations), loved the balcony. The bathroom just sparkled with cleanliness, the decor was very well done. A grocery directly across the street kept our costs in line, picnics here and there, a lunch on our balcony. We used all three metros close to New Orient. Villiers has places to eat. Europe is close by. Monceau Park, not too far, is a lovely distraction from the usual touristy attractions. We rented our car from AutoEurope (Avis), picked it up from Gare Saint- Lazare, and were directed to a one way street which gave us a straight shot out of Paris. This hotel is a dandy, truly earns its TA awards.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. We loved using ours. Worth the extra euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our family of 4 just finished staying in June. We had two rooms on a common floor. One of the rooms faced the street and had balcony we could sit outside on. The location is really great for visiting the city. There is a grocery right across the street for daily items. There are also several cafes, markets, and stores close by. Also, the subway is near so the hotel works great as a base to discover the city. The staff is also good with making suggestions and recommendations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at the New Orient hotel for 2 nights. I had a single room with a double bed. The good thing about this hotel is that the hotel is very clean. The bad things were that my double bed was very small and my legs would hang over the end of the bed so you don't feel refreshed in the morning from not having a good sleep and in Paris this is not good if you are planning on doing a lot of walking like I was. I am 5 feet 11 inches so not that tall. Also the shower was very small even for Paris. The room size was just average. The hotel is not really in a great part of town. About a 15-20 minute walk to the Opera district. Not many restaurants or stores seemed to be opened when I was there although it was quite at night but not much else to do around the area. The guy at the front desk was helpful though and the metro was about a 10 minute walk and the hotel is situated close to Saint-Lazare train station. My room was on the second floor so had to take the stairs 2 flights up. Not sure if they had an elevator. Was surprised that breakfast was not included in the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie4324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is our 2nd stay over the last 12 months and each time we stayed about 4 nights. We were upgraded and had room 22 on the 4th floor. The room has both airconditioning and heating system. Room has a balcony and decent size bath. Most of the reviewers have been spot on in their comments. Credit should be given to the owners and staff who operate the hotel, tres bien. Catherine has always managed to assist me in getting meal reservations at some of the best Michelin restaurants. The staff were helpful in carrying our luggages to the room as I had to return the rental car to the drop-off point. If you renting a car, there is a within walking distance drop off point at the Lazare train station. If you have time to spare, visit rue de Levi's in the day- great option to buy your French groceries/snacks and prepare your own sandwiches. We only took the metro twice (notre dame and eiffel tower) and walk from these sights back to hotel. Highly recommended place (neighborhood and hotel) to stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel des 3 Poussins
Hotel des 3 Poussins
#298 of 1,804 in Paris
730 reviews
Atlantic Hotel
#243 of 1,804 in Paris
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Magda Champs Elysees
Hotel Magda Champs Elysees
#217 of 1,804 in Paris
1,723 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#37 of 1,804 in Paris
1,584 reviews
Idol Hotel
#71 of 1,804 in Paris
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Paris
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#289 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £90 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing