We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Expensive Paris”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #242 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Value in Expensive Paris”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It is hard to find fault with this hotel for the dollar charged. We came in August when most of Paris closes, and We found the location a bit desolate. It is in a quiet area and the local market is a true glimpse into Parisienne life, and for me was the highlight of the hotel's location. The rooms are really small and you don't want to drop he soap in the shower because there is no room to bend over to pick it up. The rooms are very clean and tidy though and Josef, the proprietor, is very helpful. He recommended a great neighbourhood restaurant ( Le Percolateur on Rue de Turin) where we had a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurorof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    342
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
171
627
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A Gem Hotel in Paris.
Almost 30 years ago we have stayed in this hotel until we have moved to an apartment nearby where we lived for few years. Now, that we brought our 17 years old grandson with us to introduce him to our beloved Paris, we chose to déjà vu to the same quartier and the same hotel. What a great choice!
The hotel is a real gem. It is a small family hotel, run by the same proprietors, Catherine and Josef Wehrle, who give every guest a warm welcoming and every possible help. This great couple are always at the spot. They and all the staff - the front desk personnel, the cleaning ladies, and the host at the dining room - are very friendly and very helpful, open to any question or need of the guests, day and night.
It is a real old style Parisian hotel, with a beautiful décor of another époque. Yet, it has been tastefully modernized with all the necessary amenities that are needed - air conditioned and efficiently Wi-Fi connected. The rooms are not too big, but amazingly cozy. We had two rooms - one for a couple with a flower bedded balcony overlooking the Rue Constantinople, and one single room for our grandson (a garçonnierre). All were immaculately clean, and the linens were changed every day.
The breakfast was wonderful, with fresh pastries and croissants of all kinds baked early in the morning at the corner boulangerie. One can choose between a continental breakfast and a buffet which is very rich - contains pastries, fruits, cereals, all kind of cheese, meats, etc. – and the coffee was great. A great start for the morning.
The hotel location is great. Nearby there is the daily wonderful market of Rue de Levis and across the street one can find a lovely supermarket and a Laundromat – all very convenient. The hotel is in a walking distance to the magnificent Park Monceau and to the Gare de Saint Lazare SNCF RER links (bringing you to any place in Paris including the Château de Versailles.) The Metro Villiers station is in a short walking distance and within three Metro stations to the Champs-Élysées and the Arc de Triomphe.
We highly recommend this hotel. There is no doubt that in our next visit to Paris we will come back to the New Orient Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We recently returned yet again to Paris and the Hotel New Orient. The hotel was as comfortable as ever and the staff remain delightful. The breakfast is really delicious too! The neighbourhood is good fun to wander around in the evening.

Room Tip: Do be sure to book a room at the front with a balcony - lovely to sit quietly with glass of wine bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our second time to stay at the New Orient Hotel, this time we stayed for a week. Wonderful staff, very accommodating. The hotel has "Parisian charm". The cleaning staff was excellent; never bothered us during our stay but each time we left and returned to our room, it was always clean and tidy. We were in the Opera District, very close to the best Parisian shopping malls and many cute little corner restaurants and bistros. Down the road was a beautiful park where we would go jogging, I loved it! It is Paris, a city where all hotel rooms are a little smaller, but they are laid out nicely. Also, we were very close to Paris' 2nd largest train station and could easily walk there, where we were able to take the RER train to Versailles and Disneyland Paris, so that was very easy and convenient without ever having to take a taxi! And it's just a quick, inexpensive cab ride to anywhere else in the city. For the price, this is a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. Beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atascamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Convenient ,Charming, Close to metro. Helpful staff. Great neighborhood . I loved the fact it was not in a touristy area . Really can not think of one negative . Not a big chain Hotel which is what we loved made you really get the feel of the city . Although no refrigerator in the room we had just come from wine country and we would ask them to chill a bottle before we left for the day and they were very accommodating even supplying glasses .

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a small juliet balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank leathena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I echo the positive comments of the other reviewers. All the staff are friendly and willing to help out and make suggestions. A few blocks from two metro stops and in a neighborhood with a number of shops etc. We really enjoyed our stay here and it served as a perfect start to our European vacation. There are perhaps neighborhoods more convenient to the major sites for tourists but the Paris metro is one of the best in Europe so everything is relatively convenient. This is not the typical corporate feel of a Hilton/Marriott or similar but is more of a small, boutique hotel with personal service. You can tell the owners and staff really care about the place. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ84037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in July 2014 for the first three nights of our honeymoon. We chose it after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and were so pleased! The lobby is small, but adorable, and the couple who run the hotel are very nice and helpful - they are more than willing to make suggestions and help with dinner reservations. (It almost has more of a "bread and breakfast" feel than a hotel, in a good way!) When we arrived in our room, there was a lovely card and note from the owners congratulating us on our wedding, with a paperweight of the Eiffel Tower! What a thoughtful touch. We thought the location was perfect. There are several metro stops nearby, and we easily navigated our way there from the airport by metro. We were able to walk to the Seine, the Champs-Elysees, and Montmartre. (All about a 20-30 minute walk - we don't mind walking and didn't find things to be far.) There is also a great market street just up the road that occupies about one block; there are cute cafes, a cheese shop, a wine shop, and plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. Overall, the location was great - we loved being in a quiet neighborhood of Paris but within walking distance to many parts of the city. The hotel itself was very clean. Our room was the typical size of a Europen-style room; small by American standards, but nicely decorated, and like I said, very clean. We opted for a room with a balcony - I would definitely recommend it! We enjoyed coffee, wine, cheese, and other snacks while looking over the rooftops of Paris. We could not have picked a better place to kick off our honeymoon! Merci bien, New Orient Hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors get more sun! I recommend a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#55 of 1,802 in Paris
394 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#163 of 1,802 in Paris
1,386 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#144 of 1,802 in Paris
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#198 of 1,802 in Paris
1,103 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#40 of 1,802 in Paris
1,515 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel des 3 Poussins
Hotel des 3 Poussins
#249 of 1,802 in Paris
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing