We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Paris Gem”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #271 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Paris Gem”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Have just enjoyed 4 perfect days in Paris, the Hotel was within easy walk of the train station and we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff.
The room was small but had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable.
As the hotel is fairly central we were able to walk to most of the famous sights this wonderful city has to offer.
We would highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    344
    41
    3
    8
See reviews for
172
629
118
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good location and very good value! Recently renovated and very clean, rooms big enough and comfortable as a base to explore Paris! Friendly staff and situated in a quiet area close enough to walk or access transport.

Room Tip: A balcony room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
536 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is an older building (by any American standard), but that only adds to its charm. The spiral stair case is a bit of a challenge with luggage...so the hotel clerks helped with the luggage by taking them to our room via the very small elevator (two people was a tight squeeze). The room was also small but had its own charm, as well. The "bathroom" came in two parts - each only slightly larger than a closet. One part was the shower and sink, the other part (on the other side of the room) was the toilet. The hotel is a very short walk from a local(ish) train station, and a subway ride from most everything of interest in Paris. The nice thing about the location is that it is in a neighborhood, very quiet at night.

Room Tip: "Inner" rooms are quieter as the windows open to the "courtyard" rather than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKcabingirlA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Me and my wife stayed here in August during our stay in Paris, We were previously in the Radisson which you can see my review on.

I must say, this hotel felt like a gamble when I did the booking, I was not sure what to expect. I must say I had a very pleasant surprise. This hotel is really special in every way which I will give my thoughts on below.

Overview & check in:
This is a boutique hotel, Its in an old wonderful building, and the hotel management does a great job in keeping it well maintained and wherever possible modernising without comprising the integrity of the style. Although rated as a 3 star, this place feels more like a home away from home rather than a hotel, some 5 star properties I stayed in have not given me this satisfaction.

Check in was really easy and smooth, the staff soo friendly and warm, and they make you feel you are staying somewhere special.

Room:
We booked a room on the fifth floor, and it was the room with a balcony. The room is of good size, cozy really and although not big in size, the style, furnishing, and energy compensate and give you a good feeling. The bed is quite comfortable, and everything is super clean & tidy. Well done to house keeping everything spotless. The balcony is very nice to have, especially if you are in paris, and ours was just perfect. The bathroom is actually surprisingly spacious and again very clean and neat. Again the room makes you feel right at home. The necessary amenities are all their, A/C, T.V and Good closet space and free WIFI :)

Breakfast: we didn't have breakfast in the hotel, so I cant really judge. But I did have a look one morning and it looked very fresh. But there is also a few places a few minutes away walking that can provide you with a meal. One place in particular which is very near to the hotel is El Picorino, which makes really good Italian food.

Service: Perfect, everyone here is very hospitable, its amazing how you sometimes find the true meaning of customer service and hospitality in the unexpected places, and this hotel is exactly that. I had the privilege of meeting the owners who work in the hotel. Joseph & Katrina, thank you for the kind welcome, customer service, and it was very nice chatting with you. You have a wonderful hotel that you run & manage perfectly. Both me & my wife were very pleased in our stay. Two thumbs up.

Final thoughts:
This hotel was very well priced and has a decent location, It doesn't claim to be something it is not, they keep things simple and deliver on what they say. Its romantic for couples and if you want a real home away from home, I recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: 5th floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rami d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton NSW
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just checked out of our paris hotel. We had 3 nights there and loved the service and friendliness of all staff, from the front managers to breakfast staff and the girls who clean the room. It is immaculate. The location is away from the centre but you can walk to Galleries Lafayette and after you have studied the underground the transport around the city is easy. Even travelling at nightit feels safe as many people are still out and about.

Room Tip: I would suggest a balcony room as it is worth the little bit extra. It is not a wheelchair friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DArcangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It is hard to find fault with this hotel for the dollar charged. We came in August when most of Paris closes, and We found the location a bit desolate. It is in a quiet area and the local market is a true glimpse into Parisienne life, and for me was the highlight of the hotel's location. The rooms are really small and you don't want to drop he soap in the shower because there is no room to bend over to pick it up. The rooms are very clean and tidy though and Josef, the proprietor, is very helpful. He recommended a great neighbourhood restaurant ( Le Percolateur on Rue de Turin) where we had a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurorof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A Gem Hotel in Paris.
Almost 30 years ago we have stayed in this hotel until we have moved to an apartment nearby where we lived for few years. Now, that we brought our 17 years old grandson with us to introduce him to our beloved Paris, we chose to déjà vu to the same quartier and the same hotel. What a great choice!
The hotel is a real gem. It is a small family hotel, run by the same proprietors, Catherine and Josef Wehrle, who give every guest a warm welcoming and every possible help. This great couple are always at the spot. They and all the staff - the front desk personnel, the cleaning ladies, and the host at the dining room - are very friendly and very helpful, open to any question or need of the guests, day and night.
It is a real old style Parisian hotel, with a beautiful décor of another époque. Yet, it has been tastefully modernized with all the necessary amenities that are needed - air conditioned and efficiently Wi-Fi connected. The rooms are not too big, but amazingly cozy. We had two rooms - one for a couple with a flower bedded balcony overlooking the Rue Constantinople, and one single room for our grandson (a garçonnierre). All were immaculately clean, and the linens were changed every day.
The breakfast was wonderful, with fresh pastries and croissants of all kinds baked early in the morning at the corner boulangerie. One can choose between a continental breakfast and a buffet which is very rich - contains pastries, fruits, cereals, all kind of cheese, meats, etc. – and the coffee was great. A great start for the morning.
The hotel location is great. Nearby there is the daily wonderful market of Rue de Levis and across the street one can find a lovely supermarket and a Laundromat – all very convenient. The hotel is in a walking distance to the magnificent Park Monceau and to the Gare de Saint Lazare SNCF RER links (bringing you to any place in Paris including the Château de Versailles.) The Metro Villiers station is in a short walking distance and within three Metro stations to the Champs-Élysées and the Arc de Triomphe.
We highly recommend this hotel. There is no doubt that in our next visit to Paris we will come back to the New Orient Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#60 of 1,801 in Paris
399 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#163 of 1,801 in Paris
1,391 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#154 of 1,801 in Paris
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#262 of 1,801 in Paris
1,802 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel des 3 Poussins
Hotel des 3 Poussins
#209 of 1,801 in Paris
698 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#183 of 1,801 in Paris
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing