We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant and very clean”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #180 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Very pleasant and very clean”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The New Orient fully matched the overwhelmingly positive reviews on this site -- attractive rooms, helpful and attentive staff, and scrupulously clean. The location offers easy access to anywhere in Paris, in a quiet neighborhood near Place de Clichy (Cinema des Cineastes) and Parc Monceau (Musee Nissim de Camondo). Convenient shopping and services -- convenience store, laundromat and cleaners across the street, and a short walk to metro stations, cafes, and rue du Levis for food, atms, Monoprix. An excellent choice if you are looking for a nice place to stay at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: I had a room that faced the courtyard -- no balcony -- and it was wonderfully quiet. The room did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    342
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
171
627
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Have just enjoyed 4 perfect days in Paris, the Hotel was within easy walk of the train station and we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff.
The room was small but had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable.
As the hotel is fairly central we were able to walk to most of the famous sights this wonderful city has to offer.
We would highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good location and very good value! Recently renovated and very clean, rooms big enough and comfortable as a base to explore Paris! Friendly staff and situated in a quiet area close enough to walk or access transport.

Room Tip: A balcony room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
529 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is an older building (by any American standard), but that only adds to its charm. The spiral stair case is a bit of a challenge with luggage...so the hotel clerks helped with the luggage by taking them to our room via the very small elevator (two people was a tight squeeze). The room was also small but had its own charm, as well. The "bathroom" came in two parts - each only slightly larger than a closet. One part was the shower and sink, the other part (on the other side of the room) was the toilet. The hotel is a very short walk from a local(ish) train station, and a subway ride from most everything of interest in Paris. The nice thing about the location is that it is in a neighborhood, very quiet at night.

Room Tip: "Inner" rooms are quieter as the windows open to the "courtyard" rather than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKcabingirlA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Me and my wife stayed here in August during our stay in Paris, We were previously in the Radisson which you can see my review on.

I must say, this hotel felt like a gamble when I did the booking, I was not sure what to expect. I must say I had a very pleasant surprise. This hotel is really special in every way which I will give my thoughts on below.

Overview & check in:
This is a boutique hotel, Its in an old wonderful building, and the hotel management does a great job in keeping it well maintained and wherever possible modernising without comprising the integrity of the style. Although rated as a 3 star, this place feels more like a home away from home rather than a hotel, some 5 star properties I stayed in have not given me this satisfaction.

Check in was really easy and smooth, the staff soo friendly and warm, and they make you feel you are staying somewhere special.

Room:
We booked a room on the fifth floor, and it was the room with a balcony. The room is of good size, cozy really and although not big in size, the style, furnishing, and energy compensate and give you a good feeling. The bed is quite comfortable, and everything is super clean & tidy. Well done to house keeping everything spotless. The balcony is very nice to have, especially if you are in paris, and ours was just perfect. The bathroom is actually surprisingly spacious and again very clean and neat. Again the room makes you feel right at home. The necessary amenities are all their, A/C, T.V and Good closet space and free WIFI :)

Breakfast: we didn't have breakfast in the hotel, so I cant really judge. But I did have a look one morning and it looked very fresh. But there is also a few places a few minutes away walking that can provide you with a meal. One place in particular which is very near to the hotel is El Picorino, which makes really good Italian food.

Service: Perfect, everyone here is very hospitable, its amazing how you sometimes find the true meaning of customer service and hospitality in the unexpected places, and this hotel is exactly that. I had the privilege of meeting the owners who work in the hotel. Joseph & Katrina, thank you for the kind welcome, customer service, and it was very nice chatting with you. You have a wonderful hotel that you run & manage perfectly. Both me & my wife were very pleased in our stay. Two thumbs up.

Final thoughts:
This hotel was very well priced and has a decent location, It doesn't claim to be something it is not, they keep things simple and deliver on what they say. Its romantic for couples and if you want a real home away from home, I recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: 5th floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rami d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton NSW
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just checked out of our paris hotel. We had 3 nights there and loved the service and friendliness of all staff, from the front managers to breakfast staff and the girls who clean the room. It is immaculate. The location is away from the centre but you can walk to Galleries Lafayette and after you have studied the underground the transport around the city is easy. Even travelling at nightit feels safe as many people are still out and about.

Room Tip: I would suggest a balcony room as it is worth the little bit extra. It is not a wheelchair friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DArcangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It is hard to find fault with this hotel for the dollar charged. We came in August when most of Paris closes, and We found the location a bit desolate. It is in a quiet area and the local market is a true glimpse into Parisienne life, and for me was the highlight of the hotel's location. The rooms are really small and you don't want to drop he soap in the shower because there is no room to bend over to pick it up. The rooms are very clean and tidy though and Josef, the proprietor, is very helpful. He recommended a great neighbourhood restaurant ( Le Percolateur on Rue de Turin) where we had a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurorof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#57 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#33 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#49 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#144 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#114 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#158 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing