We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful small boutique hotel”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #180 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful small boutique hotel”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed there over a weekend in February 2011. As we booked on short notice and the hotel was already fully booked, we were offered single room for 2 people. Mrs. Wehrle told me in advance that the room would be small but i was surprised that it was just fine. Our room was on the top floor, with nice views over the neighboring areas.
To our surprise everything was extremely clean and very quiet, which is not normal for a hotel in paris.
Check in was very easy and convenient, the same for check out. The Hotel has a small breakfast restaurant, but we didn't try it.
WiFi is complimentary and very neat, easpially if you are a tourist and you're looking for a place to eat or so online.
They were doing some refurbishment in the public areas of the hotel but they did it without distracting their guests. Upkeep is very good and the minor ongoing construction was hardly noticed. It should be done by now.
I strongly recommend this hotel. It's not expensive, clean, friendly, uncomplicated and quiet. All factors that don't come easy in Paris.
Well done Mrs. and Mrs. Wehrle! Congratulations, a true bijoux!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TebboTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    342
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
171
627
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Like many other reviewers, we picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor recommendations. We were not disappointed.

During our stay, the hallways were being remodelled slightly to comply with some new building regulations, but there was no noise from this work while we were in the hotel. Our room was well-appointed and clean, making good use of the space. The furnishings were tasteful and everything in the bathroom was in full working order. The only exception was the lack of fan in the bathroom, but nowhere we stay seems to have one - are they really that rare?

Paris was relatively cold during our stay, but our room stayed cosy and warm, and had the best hotel bed I've had the pleasure of sleeping on - firm mattress, big soft pillows and warm duvet. The walls were very thin - we were woken up one night by an excitable couple talking loudly on the phone, but they had just arrived and he had proposed on the plane on the way over, so it was forgiveable! Other than that it was a very peaceful hotel, possibly attracting guests who are in Paris for the culture rather than the nightlife.

Location-wise, it's not bad. There are a couple of small good museums very close by (particularly the Nissim De Camondo), and it's easy to get to by bus or metro from the Gare Du Nord. We found that the area closed down on Sundays more than some other areas - we spent a good long while trying to find a late lunch snack, but came up with nothing, only to hop on the metro to Montparnasse and find that everywhere was open! The number 21 bus was a good friend to us during our stay, going from the near-by Gare St Lazare right through the centre of the big museums district. In fact, I would highly recommend any potential visitors to Paris to find a bus map - it would have done us the world of good!

There was a very personal feel to the service, the staff knew who you were and picked up conversations where they left off the previous evening. We didn't try the breakfast, but the room looked lovely. There is free wifi throughout the hotel, and a computer that is free to use in the lobby. All in all, a gem of a hotel in a quiet area that I would not hesitate to stay at again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belongsinamuseum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

A very attractive, well set-up hotel. The staff were very jolly and happy to help when they could. The street seemed more residential than tourist-y, which made it nice and quiet, but also meant shops and cafes tended to be closed every time we went past. The hotel is not more than ten minutes from buses or metro lines in any direction, so very convenient in that sense. And the room was lovely, nicely furnished, clean and with a good amount of storage to make up for not being particularly spacious. My only hesitation for returning to this hotel on subsequent stays is how VERY thin the walls between rooms are. I don't blame the hotel for this, as it's more likely a problem they inherited from the original renovations, but ear plugs are a must for undisturbed sleep (although, I'd like to say a big congratulations to the couple next to us who just got engaged. I hope you can get that ring re-sized soon!).

Ultimately, the hotel was charming, rooms were well appointed and the price extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurMrsReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We are a family of 4 who stayed 4 nights at this wonderful, clean and friendly hotel.
The location was, convieniently, within walking distance of the 2 Metro stations. A local street was blocked off and became a market place during the day , selling everthing from fruit to clothes. There was a very French feeling to the area, not too touristy and of course the patisseries were numerous and to die for!!
The staff at the New Orient were so helpful, friendly and spoke excellent English. Our room , although cramped with 4 people, was decorated with gorgeous duvets and was warm during the cold nights and always cleaned well, daily.
I hope to return to this wonderful establishment one day soon

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We were in Paris on business and a tight budget. I booked a room at the New Orient Hotel, mainly based on reviews on this site, hoping for value. This was the third stop in 10 days and where I had the best nights sleep . The hotel is on a fairly quiet street, despite its unbeattable location. The beds are extremely comfortable. The decor exquisite. The bathrooms are nicely renovated with a modern look. Small but new and more than adequate. The hotel managers and staff are friendly and extremely accommodating. Internet access available in a cozy lobby (the lounge), free of charge, where you can order fresh brewed tea -- around the clock. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reinepersane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2011

If you're looking for a value hotel, in a great location, with friendly service New Orient definitely fits the bill! This was my first trip to Paris and I had made my travel arrangements only weeks prior, so I didn't come very well prepared. I was very grateful then that the owners spoke fluent English and were very helpful in recommending restaurants/bars. Everyone was very friendly and helpful that worked there.
The room itself was small (we stayed in a double with a shower on the fifth floor), but on par with hotel rooms in other large cities. It was perfect for us though; we like being cozy! I'm not sure how big the rooms with multiple beds are, but given the size of the double, I would not recommend sharing a room with a friend unless you are really fond of each other. Our room overlooked the courtyard; it was very quiet all three nights. The street was not very busy so I imagine if you have a street-side room it would be just as quiet. There are several quality restaurants in walking distance, two metro stops only a block away and a convenience store directly across the street.
So to summarize if you're a couple looking for a budget-friendly retreat with fantastic service that welcomes everyone, including English-speaking gay couples, this is it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hart817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Reviewing this on the basis that they market themselves as a 2-star hotel, it's perfect!

Great service: We arrived a bit early (and hadn't given notice) and our room wasn't ready. We were told we could leave our luggage at the hotel, no problem. Had coffe and a croissant at the next door bakery, took a walk past a nice park down to Arc de Triomphe, subway back again, and by the time we got back to the hotel, our room was ready and they had even put our suitcases in the room!

We had a nice room with a french balcony toward the street. The street may have some traffic during daytime, but at night it was pretty silent (and the doors are pretty soundproof). Two bakeries close by, a small one next door, and a slightly larger one at Rue Larribe (between the hotel and Villiers metro station). Small grocery store across the hotel, (mind the hotel room has no fridge).

Nice, clean bathrooms, which seemed fairly new (we had a room with a shower - nice pressure).

Small steep stairway in the hotel, floor space could fit two small suitcases, but I would probably think twice if I was going there with heavy loads of luggage. They do have a tiny elevator though.

They were doing maintenance in the hallway when we were there, but there was no noise that bothered us, and maintenance has to bee done, so I'm not going to complain about that! Better to do it now than during high season I assume.

All in all, a wonderful and charming non-chain 2-star hotel, with excellent service and great value for money! Free wifi is always a bonus too.

By the way, I stumbled upon a street market in Rue Levis next to Villiers metro station, very nice and charming.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oslo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#57 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#33 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#49 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#144 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#114 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#158 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing