We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best 'tourist garret' experience in Paris”
Review of Hotel de Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Nice
Ranked #666 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best 'tourist garret' experience in Paris”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Loved every minute but read on fellow traveller . . .
If you long for an untypical experience this is the place for you . . . 6 floors, elliptical stair case that was built 50 years before the building, the building dates from about circa 1600 (my uninformed guess), haphazard staff friendliness (weekend casuals don't try too hard, weekday staff very friendly and helpful.
Fantastic narrow balcony for a true garret experience but you can see people below in the cafes.
7 different colours and patterns of wall paper in the room, a bathroom smaller than a cupboard, a shower that is the complete opposite of the TARDIS. Barely enough wardrobe space to hand a T-shirt.
Great location for Metro, walk 10 minutes to Seine for great sunsets, more cafes that you can poke the proverbial stick at . . . half price cocktails in the happy 'hour' in bars below . . . 5 minute walk to mini-mart.
Double glazed windows keep out the bar and traffic noise at night (must have been awful before)
Simply off the wall experience, would come back for all its 'flaws' !

Room Tip: The Marais in Paris's 4th Arr. is recommended for its location, local café and bar life, real Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeachCombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    143
    46
    15
    9
See reviews for
50
110
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have been at this hotel twice, both time I was given a nice, charming room, really quite during the night, with private, clean bathroom.
I found really charming the strong classic style of interior design, definitely a good choice for a proper Parisian night break.

The Breakfast is not exceptional, and room price are a bit high but still... we are in Paris!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrElenaCrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

In the centre of Paris, close to metro station and Batobus river taxi. Plenty of restaurants at the foot of the hotel. ( very busy til 4am fri and sat, but double glazing blocks out the noise ) very clean and friendly staff ( English speaking )
Spent 6 nights here in room 7 which has a balcony and enjoys sunshine all afternoon.
Would definitely return here without doubt. Prices were very reasonable for location.
Hope to return again soon.
Benefits fom hair dryer , balcony to some rooms, air con, tv ( only bbc news in English ) lift to all floors. They request you leave your key at reception but its manned til 1am. Reception booked us a 60euro taxi to Charles de Gaulle airport which took 30 mins. ( much needed in 28 degrees with luggage )

Room Tip: Request a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Expensive but surprisingly lovely little place sandwiched between some fantastic Paris cafes. The area, Marais, is the 4th quarter and an amazing location to stay if you like to walk around.

I would stay there again, but only if the price improves - overall satisfied though.

PS - if you need an iron, they set it up for you in the kitchen so be prepared.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJBaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
214 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Firstly this hotel is all about location and price. It's on the Rue De Rivoli almost opposite the Hotel De Ville and a few mins from Notre Dame etc. And it is ridiculously good value.

Secondly whilst it is a little shabby it does have charm. Sure the tuile wall paper and the lurid turquoise paint job are a little off my taste, but hey- it feels like a 50's home, antiques and knick knacks and the little lounge is really pretty.

We had room 5 which had a great little balcony overlooking a bustling square- it was very vibrant but the double glazed door kept all the noise down, we didn't have hardly any contact with the staff so no comment on that.

The bathroom was just tiny but adequate. didn't love the old fashioned bedding- a blanket! really in 2013? No duvet!!

Location fab fab fab- great breakfast at Le Pain Quotidienne round the corner- lots of fab eye candy in Le Marais too! and great macaroons.

So cheap and with personality- I think quirky!

Room Tip: get a side room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbesmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at this very well located hotel for 5 nights. It is 200 metres either way to a Metro station. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants around the hotel. It is just a few minutes to Notre Dame. We felt it was reasonable value for a hotel in a seemingly safe area. The room was small but it was clean. The decoration of the hotel is rather quaint! We had a room overlooking the Rue de Rivoli on the 5th floor. We had 2 windows which made the room appear a little larger than other ones at the hotel. It was relatively quiet and there is good soundproofing. There is a heater and air conditioner in the room and the free wifi worked well for us. The receptionist, Maree, was very welcoming on our arrival. It was a convenient base to tour the sights of Paris with the easy to use Metro. The shower recess is very small but the bathroom was clean and functional. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as there are plenty of cafes and a lovely bakery just downstairs. There is a small lift in the hotel which was a plus for us. Overall, we would recommend this small hotel to travellers who wish to be located in a central hotel, with easy access to the Metro, which is not too expensive. The Marais area is fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room overlooking the Rue de Rivoli as they have 2 windows. We had room 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel for five nights. I absolutely loved their Parisian "Marie Antoinette" decoration and feel, but a friend of mine called it gaudy, so I guess it's up to you and your own personal style. For Paris, it is a very decent price, especially for the GREAT location. It is very close to the Metro and walking distance to many attractions. Marais location great for cafes and funky shopping.

I did their breakfast the first morning and wasn't very impressed with the two biscuits and coffee for 8e. Not bad, but you can get a crepe and cafe from a street vendor that's better for the same price. Also, the free wifi is spotty and didn't work with my devices while I was there.

I had a good experience with the staff, but I agree that they don't go above and beyond for your comfort. But they were all very nice and polite and helpful when I had questions.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel. It was the exact Parisian experience I was looking for. If you are more about comfort and convenience over luxury and service, then you'll enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: I asked for a terrace room and was given the top floor with a HUGE balcony and it was GREAT (room 16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlaNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#329 of 1,802 in Paris
486 reviews
Le Marais
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Grand Hotel du Loiret
#1,037 of 1,802 in Paris
233 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Paris Rivoli
Hotel Paris Rivoli
#763 of 1,802 in Paris
431 reviews
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#997 of 1,802 in Paris
132 reviews
Le Marais
France Louvre
France Louvre
#1,383 of 1,802 in Paris
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Nice

Property: Hotel de Nice
Address: 42 B rue de Rivoli, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#598 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic Marais quarter, this hotel of charm will warmly welcome you on your arrival to the French capital. Friendly and romantic, the Hotel de Nice is ideally situated near Paris 's most famous sights. All rooms are "en suite", with bathroom (shower or bathtub), toilets , hair dryer , TV & AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Nice Hotel
Hotel De Nice Paris
De Nice Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing