We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel des Carmes
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Mercure Paris Bastille Marais(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$1,788
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Astoria - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$407
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
109
90
21
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
90
21
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslatin quarternotre dameplace maubertair conditioningmetro stationrooms are smallgreat locationblvd st germainstay there againclean hotelleft bankparis hotelsjust round the cornerbudget hotelshort walkthe hotel stafffront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Pretty much everything has been said bellow. Its a clean hotel in a nice part of town about 5 minutes from Notre Damme and 2 minutes from Pantheon. Its in a relatively quiet side street and just steps from a market just down the street.

I recommend a street side room as the rooms in the middle of the building have their windows facing a depressing, narrow schaft, where as the street side offers fairly nice views (especially the upper floors) and is reasonably quiet. One room on each floor is at the rear of the buildings and is presumably facing some kind of courtyard, but i have not seen it.

Regarding noise from other rooms, which i heard ro be a problem in many paris hotels, I must say we had no problems, and the neighboring rooms were in fact occupied. When you have have the street side room you really only have oke neighbor, and even that is sepparated by a bathroom and a closet. So no problems in this area.

We had a tripple bed room, which was really just a double bed room with and extra portable bed of a reasonably good quality. The rooms are by no means large, but they are big enough. If you are travelling with a small child and hoping to sqeeze in one double sized bed forget it. It barelly holds two, you will need and extra bed, no matter how small you or your child are.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, which is consistent with the other reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellerCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I spent 7 nights in late Sept. 2010 and was absolutly charmed. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the receptionist to the cleaning ladies. Luc was able to give all kinds of interesting info on places to visit. The location could not be better: 5mn walking to Notre-Dame, no more than 10 mn to the Jardin du Luxembourg and the RER is less than 10mn walk to the hotel. The street is quiet and if you want more quiet you can ask for a room on the interior. A 2 star hotel worth 5 stars. Louise from Saint-Sauveur.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louise_dufresne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Excellent 2 Star Hôtel with 5 Star Service in heart of Paris !

Thanks to Trip Advisor, I discovered this excellent and comfortable hôtel
in the heart of the Latin Quarter, located 1 minutes from the Pantheon
and a quick walk down the hill to Boulevard St. Germain and metro Maubert Mutualité
or a 7 minute walk from metro St. Michel. It's also close to the Seine, Musée de Cluny,
Notre Dame, l'Institut Arabe, many affordable restaurants and cafés and
practical conveniences including a stationery shop, small grocers (right on
the rue des Carmes) dry cleaner, laundromat, phone store,
pharmacie, banks, post office, (7 min walk on the rue des Ecoles) and much
more. Markets are held by the metro Maubert Mutualité several mornings
a week and sell various things: flowers, foods,cheese, nuts, as well as a variety of scarves
(great light gifts) and clothing,


The best thing (beyond the fine location) about the hotel which put "the icing on the cake"
was the wonderful staff who worked hard to make sure our needs were met and made
many helpful suggestions to us, which enhanced our trip and helped us get to and fro
locations, including the airport, efficiently. Their superb reputation, already recorded in
Trip Advisor, led me to try the hôtel and I was not disappointed. Whether or not you spoke
French was no problem and the staff all tried hard to make sure we were having a
happy and comfortable stay. They also had a little fridge which we used quite often to
store perishable food (e.g. for picnics) A simple breakfast of coffee or tea with bread and croissant and jam is offered for an additional supplement.

The rooms are comfortably furnished in a practical style and very clean - beds are comfortable and our double had a clean and pleasant bathroom equipped with a large
bathtub and separate toilet. Both my friend and I slept well there and our room on the courtyard was quiet most of the time, with occasional possiblilites for eavesdropping on noise from other guests living on the courtyard.

I would definitely stay at the Hôtel des Carmes if I can get a room, be sure to reserve ahead, esp in holiday periods, they are quite popular !

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chansonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

a few metres from teh metro makes this a really attractive hotel. nothing really stands out about it, but it was quite cheap, the staff were friendly and i really liked the location.
Be warned, if you're offered Room 1 on the bottom floor (even though it goes at a cheaper rate), you wont sleep a wink. Other rooms are perfect though.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrishGirl-late20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Location can't be beat for convenience to metro, restaurants and the key sights in Paris. Terrific Latin Quarter location and an historic building thrown in as an extra. Read FOOTPRINTS IN PARIS for a good history of the Quarter and this hotel. That said, the accomodations themselves are very basic and rooms would compare to a Motel 6 or Microtel in USA, that is to say, clean and serviceable, but no extras (except that air conditioning is a plus in a 2 star hotel). Staff is very pleasant and all strove to be helpful in any way possible. When asked about a nearby town and an attraction there, 1 of the staff volunteered that he lived there and would be happy to meet us at the train station and provide a ride to that destination.

Continental breakfast was very basic, but could be supplemented with fruits from nearby markets. Rooms had low beds (mattresses on slatted bases, with no box spring or foundation so initially one felt close to the floor. The room, a triple, had a tiny closet and no dresser (just a small shelf on each side of thebed and a tiny desk with a straight-backed wooden chair) . To be fair, other rooms used by family members had larger closets. Essentially, you will live out of your suitcase. No room safes are provided. Toiletries included towels and soap, but no shampoo or washcloths.

On a price/value basis, this is an outstanding choice but I would probably opt for more amenities.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
3  Thank LFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews