We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel des Carmes-we'll be back”
Review of Hotel des Carmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Carmes
Ranked #841 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Spent 4 days in this hotel (our 3rd stay here) and once again we were more than happy with the experience. While the rooms are small, they are clean and bright. The hotel is really well located in the heart of the Quartier Latin at the foot of the Sorbonne. Maubert Mutualité metro stop is just down the street. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble-our boarding passes were printed off, suggestions re buses were explained and written down, directions to restaurants given and luggage was stored on departure day until the afternoon. There is a calm about the place that I really like. We had two adjoining rooms(2 adults 2 teenagers) at the back this time. Last time our room was overlooking rue des Carmes, a nicer aspect. It's a 2 star hotel but the service is superb! I have given the name of this hotel to friends many of whom have stayed there and I would still heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank m0uette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

The reception staff was wonderful. They met our needs for dinning advice and ways to get around the city. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to Notre Dame and the river. It's a central location for sightseeing around historic Paris.

The rooms are small, clean, and met our every need. The café selection near the hotel is great. We enjoyed visiting the sights of Paris, eating at the nearby cafés, people watching, and only short walk to return to the hotel.

Luc and Marie made us feel very welcome!

Room Tip: Rooms are either street side or courtyard. The courtyard rooms have a view of another near by build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert_draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great location and very reasonably priced rooms clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Had a great week in Paris here and will definitely stay here again next time I return. Close to blvd St Germain and the river with a metro station just at the corner and a laundrette around the corner. Everything one needs!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

There's no other thing to say about this hotel: fantastic location and service! Wonderful! It's near the Notre Dame Cathedral, Boulevard St. Michel, easy access to the subway, lots of restaurants near.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GiovanniSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here in early July 2014 and had a very good experience. The hotel is well located on the left bank. It is close to the pantheon and in the neighborhood of the Sorbonne. There is a metro station just down the street. Our room was clean and met our needs. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a room on the top floor, which I would recommend. We had a great view of Notre Dame from our balcony. This hotel was suggested to us by family and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We came late at night after having to abandon the hotel we booked, due to a lack of basics such as air conditioning.
Once inside, we were greeted by a very kind manager on duty who was able to communicate with us in either English and Spanish.
We stayed in that hotel for three nights. It was very clean, quiet, comfortable and well maintained. With very hospitable staff. Needless to say that it is located at a walking distance to all major Paris attractions. Transportation to the rest is just around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Easy access to/from the Maubert - Mutualité metro station. Right off Saint-Germain yet the area is quiet in the nighttime. The room is simple but huge by Paris standards. The beds are comfortable and windows open into an enclosed area (our room, anyway). The elevator is not too small, either. The front desk staff were always nice and helpful. The price is right for this great location in the Latin Quarter. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior as we found it to be very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcT555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#182 of 1,805 in Paris
972 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Les Bulles de Paris
Hotel Les Bulles de Paris
#614 of 1,805 in Paris
285 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
#533 of 1,805 in Paris
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#393 of 1,805 in Paris
1,009 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#555 of 1,805 in Paris
437 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#559 of 1,805 in Paris
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Carmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Carmes

Address: 5 rue des Carmes | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #841 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £69 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Carmes 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Carmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Carmes Hotel
Des Carmes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing