We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel de l'Esperance
Ranked #942 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Antioch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed here 10 years ago and it was wonderful then. I was so pleased to see that it was the same and even better. Service was excellent. It's near Mouffetard market and Notre Dame. Situated between two metro stops and easy to find. Arrived at 10 am and was given the key to my room. Small rooms and elevator but super friendly place. Easiest check in ever. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    155
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
43
147
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

My friends and I spent 5 nights in hotel de l'Esperance and will probably stay there again on our next visit to Paris. We liked the hotel, the room, the friendly staff and the neighborhood. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cobele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My sister and I shared a twin room for four nights and fell in love with this hotel. Our room and bathroom was well decorated, comfortable and spotless. Ithe lobby is also beautifully decorated and inviting. The location is perfect; not too touristy, 7 minute walk from metro, a perfect little Parisian neighborhood. The staff was great.

We selected this hotel based upon a Rick Steves recommendation for inexpensive options and we were not disappointed! This hotel is a gem. I would definitely stay here again and recommend.

My only negative is we booked a non smoking room, yet our room smelled of air freshner
masking cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammyport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

II agree with many reviewers that this hotel is a good place to stay in central Paris and is well priced for the location. The Monge neighborhood is a real community and you feel like less of a tourist and more at home. Management was kind and helpful; rooms clean and street was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I love staying at this hotel. It's in an excellent location, the rooms are clean and tidy, and it's good value for money. The day receptionist is always lovely, friendly and helpful, as is housekeeping. We did find the night receptionist a little brusque but that could be just because our French isn't very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longue-Jumelles, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here in September last year and are thinking of returning again. A lovely small hotel near to everything you could possibly need. Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. We had breakfast at a small cafe/bar at the end of the road, lovely. Would recommend as a base for touring Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank je49160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

An air conditioned room with its own bathroom for a reasonable price in Paris?! This was a real find. The people who work there were nice and relaxed and accommodating.
The non-touristy neighborhood is fantastic! Rue Mouffetard has all the cheese shops, bakeries, creperies, bars, shops and restaurants you could hope for. There is a great square for people watching at the top of the street. The metro is close by and you can hop a bus at the corner down to the Seine and Notre Dame, where all the action is. I definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The street is fairly quiet so there should be no problem with rooms. There is also a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Esperance
Hotel Esperance
#1,634 of 1,802 in Paris
30 reviews
Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris
#948 of 1,802 in Paris
281 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
#1,225 of 1,802 in Paris
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#473 of 1,802 in Paris
462 reviews
Hotel Sunny
#1,354 of 1,802 in Paris
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Esperance

Property: Hotel de l'Esperance
Address: 15 rue Pascal | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#92 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#549 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Esperance 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Esperance greets you in the 5th arrondissement of Paris. This small boutique hotel is located just a stone's throw away from the rue Mouffetard. It is one of the most picturesque place of the Latin Quarter. The38 elegantly and colourfully decorated hotel's guest rooms are painted blue, pink or yellow and have four-poster beds, marble bathrooms. You will have your breakfast or aperitive served in our delightful garden The hotel is open all year round and will always extend a very warm welcome to you. Please feel free to contact the Hotel de l'Esperance with any question you may have. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Esperance
De l Esperance Hotel
Hotel De Lesperance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing