We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel de l'Esperance
Ranked #905 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

staff were friendly and efficient, the room and bathroom were clean, and the maid left us chocolates every day. Located very close to metro stations, cafes, creperies and even Starbucks around the corner. The breakfast was a bit steep at 9 euros but the quality was very good. Highly recommended for those looking for a tidy and neat little place with no frills.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starlitsky3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    155
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
43
147
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We chose to come back to the Hotel De l'Esperance because we were pleased with it last year and felt it represented good value. We have not been disappointed. Last year we stayed in the rooms that go for ten euros a night more and have bathtubs. Since we are just as happy to shower, we chose the rooms with showers. We found out that is not the only difference. The shower equipped rooms are also quite a bit smaller, both in the bathroom and the bedroom. We have still found it to be quite good for the money although if space is a priority, the ten extra euros for the room with a tub/shower may be well worth the difference for many people. The convenient location two blocks from the Les Gobelins Metro station is a real positive and we have found plenty of good cafes and merchants for our needs just a quick few minutes walk away. The staff here are excellent and friendly. Their English is great and they have helped us to pick up new phrases in French. This hotel is a fun place to stay.

Room Tip: Take a look at both the normal rooms with just a shower and the ones which also have a tub as the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank farout75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I would recommend this hotel anytime. It is a two star establishment and should be considered as this. This small family run hotel is well situated for sight seeing, metro, and is located close to rue Mouffetard. The hotel is clean, rooms are adequate by Paris 2 star standards. We could hear the woman in the next room talking rather loudly, but that was just one morning and she certainly was not being considerate of others, the closing room doors also can be heard, but the noise from the street was certainly not a problem. The AC worked very well and the staff is friendly enough and helpful, bathrooms are updated. European breakfast is available at a cost and is fresh. All in all it was a very agreeable stay.

Room Tip: Double bed with bath gave us a larger bathroom area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Meall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Quaint accommodation and 2nd time staying here over the yrs. No money appears to be going back into the hotel, but everything very functional and clean. Noisy narrow front street and no soundproofing in this hotel. Clearly 2 star at best. Staff can be a bit indifferent and all too often, abrupt. Don't go for over priced pastries and coffee as lots of wonderful great value choices in the area. The Mouffetard (sp) is a great fresh everything shopping area with some lovely restuarant choices as you climb up the winding market street, clearly both locals and tourists enjoy.

Room Tip: There is no way you won't hear your neighbours through walls and doors, but to reduce street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed here 10 years ago and it was wonderful then. I was so pleased to see that it was the same and even better. Service was excellent. It's near Mouffetard market and Notre Dame. Situated between two metro stops and easy to find. Arrived at 10 am and was given the key to my room. Small rooms and elevator but super friendly place. Easiest check in ever. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

My friends and I spent 5 nights in hotel de l'Esperance and will probably stay there again on our next visit to Paris. We liked the hotel, the room, the friendly staff and the neighborhood. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cobele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My sister and I shared a twin room for four nights and fell in love with this hotel. Our room and bathroom was well decorated, comfortable and spotless. Ithe lobby is also beautifully decorated and inviting. The location is perfect; not too touristy, 7 minute walk from metro, a perfect little Parisian neighborhood. The staff was great.

We selected this hotel based upon a Rick Steves recommendation for inexpensive options and we were not disappointed! This hotel is a gem. I would definitely stay here again and recommend.

My only negative is we booked a non smoking room, yet our room smelled of air freshner
masking cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammyport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Esperance
Hotel Esperance
#1,614 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris
#939 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
#1,213 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#459 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Hotel Garance
#1,184 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Esperance

Property: Hotel de l'Esperance
Address: 15 rue Pascal | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#79 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#549 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Esperance 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Esperance greets you in the 5th arrondissement of Paris. This small boutique hotel is located just a stone's throw away from the rue Mouffetard. It is one of the most picturesque place of the Latin Quarter. The38 elegantly and colourfully decorated hotel's guest rooms are painted blue, pink or yellow and have four-poster beds, marble bathrooms. You will have your breakfast or aperitive served in our delightful garden The hotel is open all year round and will always extend a very warm welcome to you. Please feel free to contact the Hotel de l'Esperance with any question you may have. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Esperance
De l Esperance Hotel
Hotel De Lesperance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing