We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent budget hotel”
Review of Familia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Familia Hotel
Ranked #835 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This place was a find! It's in a great neighborhood in the Quartier Latin, right near La Sorbonne and the Pantheon and very close to two Metro lines, so you can get anywhere very easily. Rue des Ecoles can be a busy street, but we didn't have much trouble with noise. The uppermost floors have balconies, and if you get one situated just right, you can see Notre Dame from your window. The staff are extremely friendly and multilingual - there's even a chart on the front desk explaining the various languages that each employee speaks. You can tell this is a well-run, family-oriented operation, and in fact they also own the hotel next door, which is supposed to be a bit nicer and correspondingly a bit more expensive. As far as this hotel goes though, the rooms were clean, nicely decorated and well-maintained, and for the money it was a great deal, given that everything is quite expensive in Paris. There's a small elevator in the building, as is typical of some European hotels. We didn't buy the available breakfast, but it's there if you want to add that on, so that's a nice bonus. They also offer airport transportation if you don't want to navigate the Metro and RER system, though it will cost you a lot more. But for a budget-minded hotel, it's really hard to beat this place. We loved our stay here and would enthusiastically recommend it!

Room Tip: Request an inside-facing room for more quiet, or a balcony room if you want to overlook the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avs1cup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Lovely little hotel right in the center of Paris, a short walk from Notre Dame cathedral. As always in paris the room was small but totally acceptable for the 3 of us. Unusually for Paris and France staff were friendly and I mean really friendly, helpful friendly!!!! AC worked well, the rooms was clean and the location was perfect. There are a lot of amazing cafes and bakeries close by for a proper French breakfast. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harryram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I love this little hotel in the Latin Quarter. I've lived and studied in Paris for 25 years, and know what to expect in neighborhoods and concerning hotels. As long as they are CLEAN, that is my main priority. And the neighborhood is another. I went back to Paris with my husband and he was happy about it too. His first time in France. This hotel is typically french, from outside to inside. The rooms are quite small, ours was tiny, but if you plan to spend your days and evenings in the room, maybe Paris isn't the place to be! There is a room safe for valuables which was nice, a refrigerator, flat screen TV, and the bathroom was accommodating. We had a corner room with a small courtyard which was so quiet for sleeping. The hotel in general was very quiet considering it's on a very busy street. Rooms facing the street would obviously be more noisy. They have balconies. The rooms are also air conditioned with a thermostat that can be adjusted.
We were on the second floor and there is the winding, narrow staircase, but the hotel also has an elevator.
We didn't take the petit-dejeuner, which is in addition now in most hotels (use to come with the price years ago). There's the American Diner a few doors down if you really want an American breakfast and large cup of coffee, but I will take my baguette while in Paris s'il vous plait!
Speaking of English, it is spoken now widely throughout the city and in the hotel (my husband doesn't speak French).
The staff is very pleasant and helpful. They loaned me an extender for my curling iron adapter because the outlets don't fit even with our adapters.
Location, location, location is everything and the Latin Quarter has it. (5e)
Ile St. Louis is directly down the street along with Cite Notre Dame de Paris.
Behind is the Pantheon, nearby the bustling Boulevard St. Michel and Rue de l'Harpe area where there are to many cafes to choose from (and a lot of night life). All in walking distance. The only thing negative is the metro stop Cardinal Lemoine. It isn't the easiest to link with other lines simply, meaning sometimes it's easier to walk the distance than take that metro station. But it's around the corner and accessible.
In short, if you are looking for a typically french, quaint, good priced, CLEAN hotel (the linens were pristine), with a great location and nice staff, this hotel is one of them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Layla57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is well situated a few blocks from the Seine near the Sorbonne. The room was a bit small but well maintained with great wifi and A/C and great views of Rue des Ecoles. The staff were exceptional, our friend Nicholas was very helpful and quite the raconteur. Close to all the attractions and near the Notre Dame Batobus dock. We thoroughly enjoyed our week stay there and would return on our next visit to Paris. Good value for the price. Recommended.

Room Tip: We had a third floor view of Rue des Ecoles, no balcony but the window is a full door that opens to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank selcuktheharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Location: Terrific. Great part of the Latin quarter - central to everything and easy to get around.

Room: Small, and thin walls. But gorgeous view from the little balcony out to the rooftops of Paris. You're really paying for the view - which is very charming/Parisien.

Sleep: Comfy beds, but those stupid long "roll" style pillows that seem to be all the rage in Paris. Apparently (I see from other reviews) there are normal pillows at reception, but we didn't know that. Would recommend they keep 2 per room in the room's wardrobe.

All up: Would recommend for location, price and view! :)

Room Tip: Request a higher room with a balcony/view! Otherwise it's just a pokey little room without a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

we stayed here because of tripadvisor reviews and location. the hotel is super convenient to several metro stations but is walkable from any location in the 5th. they have an elevator which is really nice considering how many floors they have.

Nicolas was very helpful before we arrived and on checkin.

we arrived at our room just after cleaning and the chemicals they use to clean were horribly stinky. we had to leave the windows open to get rid of the smell.

they do not offer pillows with the bed, just the roll that will kill your neck. you have to ask for the pillows which is odd since i'm assuming everyone wants a real pillow. we got back to the hotel around midnight and i had to go down to reception in my pajamas to get the pillows. i wasn't really happy about that given how much money we paid to stay here.

still, the bed was comfy. the room was really warm. we supposedly had one of the large rooms and i'd hate to see what the small rooms were like. we barely could walk around each other to get to and from the bathroom and our bags.

they really push the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport. i highly recommend that you do not use that service. we were promised to be the last stop prior to leaving for the airport - untrue. we had the rudest driver on the planet - not a fun way to start the day. do yourselves a favor and take the RER.

for the location and comfort of the bed, i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 night at end of May 2014.
Good value for the $$$..

Friendly staff, clean rooms. The rooms are small and had a nice bathroom with a good tub/shower!

1.5 blocks to Metro which takes you right to Eiffel Tower.. 6 blocks walking to Notre Dame... 5 minute walk to the hustle of the Latin quarter.. Great for food, drinks and little shopping!

Would recommend this place and would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KamBob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Minerve Hotel
Minerve Hotel
#921 of 1,804 in Paris
758 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Au Royal Cardinal
Hotel Au Royal Cardinal
#1,278 of 1,804 in Paris
526 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
#918 of 1,804 in Paris
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Quartier Latin
Hotel Quartier Latin
#419 of 1,804 in Paris
457 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
#520 of 1,804 in Paris
117 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#593 of 1,804 in Paris
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Familia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Familia Hotel

Address: 11 rue des Ecoles | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#572 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £73 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Familia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Familia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Familia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing