We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A country manoir in Central Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Grandes Ecoles

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel des Grandes Ecoles
Ranked #460 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A country manoir in Central Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights on our annual trip to Paris and what a wonderful surprise we had on first arriving at the hotel. Behind the large gates awaits a little bit of countryside where peace and quiet is a blessing after a busy and frenetic day in the city.
Our room was on the top floor and overlooked the pleasant garden, we were awoken each morning by the sound of song birds in the trees. The room was of a good size and decorated in traditional French style which added to the overall relaxing ambience.
We had an excellent and very tasty breakfast each morning in the attractive dinning room and took our coffee in the garden when the weather permitted.
All of the staff were friendly and welcoming and we will certainly be staying here in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    258
    54
    21
    21
See reviews for
145
311
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had wanted to stay here again for years but found it hard to get in...they book up fast. The setting is nice with a nice courtyard with garden where weather permitting you can eat petit dejeuner or picnic. That said, we arrived during rain and by the time we made it to the door over the cobbled walkway we were a bit drenched. If you are coming when it is hot, there is no air conditioning and a bit close in the smaller rooms tho they provided a fan. There was also a lack of places to put your things. Again, the staff were great as is the garden.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a reasonably-priced nice hotel in a nice courtyard. The courtyard keeps it quiet from the street and provides a nice sitting space. The decor is heavily floral, nice if not exceptional. Rooms are more spacious than many in Paris. Location is near all the tourist attractions of the Left Bank.
Personnel very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

A very nice hotel in a great location at the Quarter latin. very near to mouffetard market. very close to jardin Luxembourg and Pantheon and Sien.in the hotel is a very nice garden, quiet and clean hotel.good value for the money.close to St Germain street.we shall come back.

Room Tip: in the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoni g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is very nice, in a great location, at the quartier latin. It is just 3 minutes walk from the Rue Muffetard, one of the oldest and charming street of Paris. It is very close to the Pantheon and Jardin du Luxembourg. It is a very nice, quiet and clean hotel. I did not have breakfast there because I knew the two wonderfull boulangerie there is just in the corner of Rue Monge, two minutes walk. Also there is a Carrefour very close to it. I will certanly will stay there again and again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zildamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northerner abroad
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

When the Portuguese lady is on reception (the young woman on Saturday night may 24th couldn't have looked more bored) and when the lovely,lively, French lady is doing breakfast, then all is right in my Parisian holiday world. I love the garden annexe. And the garden (even when it's as wet as it was this week). And the location. Everything really. I want to go back already.

Room Tip: I prefer the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel des Grandes Ecoles for 5 nights and it was wonderful. The grounds are beautiful, pleasantly enclosed from the street so they feel very private. Room was excellent. Nice and close to dinning in the Latin Quater. A real gem!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#135 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#458 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#200 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#296 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Quartier Latin
Familia Hotel
Familia Hotel
#643 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#139 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grandes Ecoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grandes Ecoles

Property: Hotel des Grandes Ecoles
Address: 75 rue du Cardinal Lemoine, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#160 Family Hotel in Paris
#230 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Grandes Ecoles 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Des Grandes Ecoles Paris
Grandes Ecoles Hotel
Des Grandes Ecoles Hotel
Hotel Des Grandes Ecoles Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing