We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, lovely hotel, excellent situated”
Review of Hotel Chaplain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Chaplain
Ranked #211 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“nice, lovely hotel, excellent situated”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

very nice Hotel, very friendly & helpful staff, 2 Metro stations are within 5 minutes walking distance, rooms are rather small, but modern & clean, and quiet, good breakfast (except for coffee...) - walking distance to some attractions (jardin de Luxembourg, etc.) - really good place to stay in Pari!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear guests,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and thank you for your kind review..

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    312
    54
    11
    5
See reviews for
66
448
83
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My Girlfriend and I chose this hotel for our long week-end trip to paris.
The location is excellent; nice neighbourhood, very close to a metro station and the Jardin du Luxembourg; and no unwanted noises to speak of.
Staff was always very friendly, and the room (queen ) was well looked after.
We didn't take the breakfast in the hotel, so no comments on that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your kind feedback about our hotel.
We would be very pleased to welcome you again.

Best regards,

A.Sané
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Had a 4 night stay here mid-April. A lovely hotel - spotlessly clean; friendly and helpful staff; very welcoming. On arrival we were given a free room up-grade which was great. Rooms are quite small, but this is fairly typical of central Paris. Modern and tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities in room. Hotel is well located for transport links - 2 minute walk to Vavin metro station, and 10 minute walk to Port Royal RER which has a direct service to Charles de Gaulle. Montparnasse is also a lively, bustling area with plenty of cafes, bars and restaurant. It is also within easy walking distance of the main tourist attractions if you enjoy walking. We walked almost everywhere and discovered lots of lovely places which are not part of the main tourist attractions. Great way to get a good feel for the city.
Overall, we would definitely return to Hotel Chaplain - we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking time writing this comment and inform other guests about your satisfaction concerning our hotel. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and the location of the Hotel with major metro stations just nearby.

Hope to welcome you again in our hotel next time you come to Paris.

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A lovely (cosy!) room in Montparnasse.

Friendly staff, and a pleasant simple breakfast before heading out for the day, although I wouldn't pay extra for it if not included in your booking as there are some lovely cafés nearby.

the room was very clean, and the shower was hot and powerful - perfect!

A Comfortable bed, with good linen, and we were lucky to have a window into a small courtyard so it was very quiet.

Nothing out of the ordinary, but well worth it and a good deal at £300 for 3 nights, given the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkAndPlay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your kind message! Many thanks for taking the time to let us know you feedback from your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and our service.

We hope to see you again in our hotel for your next trip to Paris!

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It is a very nice hotel, friendly staff and clean rooms. The fee mini bar is nice. We had a room with a patio view. Nespresso machine in the room. Good breakfast. We are looking forward to our next stay at Hotel Chaplain Rive Gauche. Higly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcellus1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for these wonderful compliments on our hotel and its services! It was a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is highly appreciated and will be a great source of motivation.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon, and please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit in Paris.

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cromer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Chaplain! Staff were welcoming and helpful. Our room was lovely and adequately sized. The bed was quite large and comfy and the bathroom clean and smart and we enjoyed the complimentary soft drinks in the mini-bar! The aircon wasn't working so we just left the windows open! Breakfast was maybe a little pricey, but adequate (lovely yoghurts and pastries!) The location is on a quiet side street, just around the corner from the many bars and restaurants. We walked to the Eiffel Tower in around 30 minutes, however, the Metro is just around the corner if needed. A good location for getting around the tourist sights. Thank you Hotel Chaplain for making us so welcome!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear guests,

I thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience.

We were delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments are most encouraging and help to motivate us all to keep improving the quality of our services. Your supportive interest is greatly appreciated.

I need to precise you something, indeed when you stayed at the hotel it was quite sunny but not really hot yet, as a consequence we are still with the heating mode, we will change into the air conditionning mode hopefully at the begginning of May.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

There's nothing wrong with this hotel, but neither does anything particularly stand out.

The location in Montparnasse is pretty good, with easy access to the metro and a number of bars and restaurants nearby. If you're feeling like some fresh air, the main tourist sites clustered around the river are about 30-45 minutes walk away.

Room was clean and well equipped, with a fairly attractive decor and the staff spoke good English.

In line with Parisian accommodation generally, the room was quite small compared to what is available in other major tourist cities and not particularly cheap.

We had a look at the breakfast available for €14 per person per day and quickly concluded we were better off going to one of the many cafes nearby instead.

The staff were helpful enough, without really going out of their way to offer advice or tips for guests.

Basically, I wouldn't advise against staying here but I wouldn't be shouting from the rafters about how fantastic it was either.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on the basic buffet breakfast - there are plenty of cafes nearby that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylop9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel on Trip Advisor. Customers’ reviews help us to improve our service.

I am sorry to read that you found our hotel “Perfectly ok but nothing special”

Regarding our standard rooms they are between 14 and 16 square meters, "in the average" of the 3 stars hotels in Paris. It may seem small to people who are not accustomed to Parisian standards. However, for greater comfort and living space, we can only invite you to book a Privilege room with a size of about 20 square meters, this room generally responds well to requests from our clients wishing to disposed more space.

We are sorry to read that the breakfast buffet did not match with your expectations. However, we offer on our buffet breakfast generous choice of fresh products delivered every morning such as pastries (croissants, “pains au chocolat”, pains aux raisins ...), fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh fruit salad. The breakfast also provides bread and toast with jam, butter, honey, spreads, marmalade, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, a selection of cheese and cold cuts, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, yoghurts.... In short, the possibility to make a real meal before exploring Paris! For less demanding, we also have a lighter version named “Express breakfast” at 8€ with one hot drink (coffee, hot chocolate or tea), couple of pastries or slices of bread and one fresh squeezed orange juice)

Actually, as you may see on other reviews, our first aim is to satisfy and help our guests, that is why soft drinks in the Mini Bar are complimentary and replenished every day, that is why staff tries everyday to satisfy our guest’s requests as much as they can. Moreover we propose our own mobile application with a lot of tips: Free Newspapers, choice of restaurants, Tourism advice, Interactive map, Chat, Deals….
Download the LoungeUp app : chaplain.loungeup.com with the password: LECHAPLAIN

I am sorry, if the Hotel didn’t match with your expectations, but we still hope you will consider a new visit at the Hotel Chaplain in order for us to provide you with a superior service.
For better prices don't forget to use our loyalty card.

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#163 of 1,802 in Paris
686 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#174 of 1,802 in Paris
660 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#135 of 1,802 in Paris
504 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#201 of 1,802 in Paris
1,103 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Villa Des Artistes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chaplain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chaplain

Property: Hotel Chaplain
Address: 11 bis, rue Jules Chaplain, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#217 Business Hotel in Paris
#279 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#449 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chaplain 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying between Saint Germain des Pres, the Luxembourg Gardens and Montparnasse, the Hotel Chaplain is immersed in a multifaceted whirl of culture and art. Writers, painters, sculptors and musicians have given this district its unusual character. Surf the Internet at your leisure, enjoy your choice of drink or be swept away by a good book in one of our twenty five air-conditioned rooms, in our lounge with its library or in our inner courtyard. Each room greets you with a depiction of a unique smile, surrounded by sober, contemporary decor. Our rooms offer a full range of amenities to ensure your comfort (Wi-Fi, Internet, flat-screen TV, domestic and international channels). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chaplain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaplain Rive Gauche Paris
Chaplain Rive Gauche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing