We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem, great location”
Review of Hotel Chaplain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Chaplain
Ranked #226 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We just returned from 5 nights at the Champlain Rive Gauche. The hotel is small and hidden on a very safe and quiet side street making for a very peaceful stay. You are steps to the metro, 15 min walk to the RER B train to the airport and 15 minute walk to Jardin Luxembourg. The cafes around the neighborhood are amazing and you are at the intersection of two main roads that offer great people watching. The staff was very accommodating speaking multiple languages and always available to help. Our room was a great size with two windows facing the internal courtyard. The room was very well appointed with great decor, mini bar stocked daily with soft drinks, big queen size bed, shower and all amenities. I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a modern room in a great area with fantastic staff.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner courtyard room if you prefer the quiet. Also remember that elevators in France are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddydilski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read your detailed comments about your stay with us at the Hotel Chaplain ! It was such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our hotel and services.

Thank you very much for your great appreciation of our staff! I will certainly not fail to share these comments with them.

It is also very kind of you to recommend us.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights in March of 2014. The hotel is conveniently located at Blvd de Montparnasse with everything you need within a few min walk. You have two subway lines around the corner of the hotel and the street has some of the best restaurants & cafes. The room was a little small but very clean and comfortable-If you are going to be out most of the day and just looking for a nice place to crash.. this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShruthiShadul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about our hotel. It is always a great pleasure for us to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay at the Hotel Chaplain.

Please note that for bigger rooms, you can also book the Privilege room.

Thank you do much to recommend us.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

With very best regards,

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Room quite comfortable. Big windows letting lots of light in.
Big practical bathroom. Hair dryer iron supplied. Drinks in the refrigerator complementry.
Coffee is extra. We opted out on the breakfast. Very welcoming lobby and restauant area.
Very nice for a week in Paris.
Recommend? Yes.
Return? Someday soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for these wonderful compliments on our hotel and its services! It was a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope we will welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

After reading the reviews, we went ahead and booked this hotel for 8 nights. We were extremely pleased. It was on a small quiet street even with the 2 restaurants and cinema a few doors away. Even on the weekends, it was pretty quiet. The added advantages to the location of this hotel were the close proximity (1 minute walking distance) to numerous restaurants, shopping, and 2 different Metro stations. It was clean, recently renovated, and the staff was extremely helpful. The windows in the bedroom and bathroom open. It was nice to have the fresh air and when closed, they kept out any outside noise from the street below. This hotel provides you with a true Parisian experience. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street provide a true Parisian experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your kind feedback about our hotel.
We would be very pleased to welcome you again.

Best regards,

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here early December; it was superb! We didn't expect much as the cost was not too big but what we found was perfect for a young couple wanting to experience Paris. Each time the room was cleaned it smelt like lemon sherbert which I found really lovely. Convenience to trains was brilliant and the area was quite. Beautiful parks in the surrounding area. The staff were so friendly and even help us with learning a bit more French. I would recommend the breakfast, it's good value and all fresh. Highly recommend this hotel and will be staying next time we vist.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Directeur général at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for your kind message! Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your feedback from your stay with us. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, our service and location.

Thank you very much for your great appreciation of our staff! I will certainly not fail to share these comments with them.

Regarding our breakfast, indeed we do provide fresh products such as fruit salad, squeezed orange juice , bread and pastries delivered every morning. I am glad to read that you did enjoy it.

It is very kind of you to recommend the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a next occasion.

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This small boutique hotel is located near two metro stops so all the sights was very accessible. The room was nice, modern, and well-appointed. The room was not large; however, the bathroom was larger than many we’ve encountered in European lodging. There is a small elevator so the 4th floor room was fine. There was construction noise from the building across the street. With the windows shut the noise was lessened but could get stuffy. Also, there is a cinema close-by so some noise on Saturday night. The rest of the nights were quieter. The staff was very pleasant and arranged transportation to the airport when we left. Morgane was especially helpful and very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guests,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and thank you for these wonderful compliments on our hotel and its services!

Many thinks for your congratulations on the staff and especially Morgane. She was thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time.

Best regards

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Over the last few years I stayed a number of times in the Chaplain Rive Gauche and I'm happy with this hotel every time again.
The hotel is excellently located near the Jardin du Luxembourg and very close to the metro station Vavin. Great brasseries and excellent restaurants are just around the corner along the boulevard du Montparnasse.
Despite its central location, the hotel is very quiet, it is located in a small side street.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and very well looked after. I recommend this hotel for couples and families alike.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andre3368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for you kind comments ! It's a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in Paris.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

With very best regards,

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#189 of 1,804 in Paris
720 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#59 of 1,804 in Paris
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#140 of 1,804 in Paris
526 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#175 of 1,804 in Paris
1,139 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#112 of 1,804 in Paris
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chaplain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chaplain

Address: 11 B rue Jules Chaplain, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#216 Family Hotel in Paris
#216 Business Hotel in Paris
#278 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £111 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chaplain 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying between Saint Germain des Pres, the Luxembourg Gardens and Montparnasse, the Hotel Chaplain is immersed in a multifaceted whirl of culture and art. Writers, painters, sculptors and musicians have given this district its unusual character. Surf the Internet at your leisure, enjoy your choice of drink or be swept away by a good book in one of our twenty five air-conditioned rooms, in our lounge with its library or in our inner courtyard. Each room greets you with a depiction of a unique smile, surrounded by sober, contemporary decor. Our rooms offer a full range of amenities to ensure your comfort (Wi-Fi, Internet, flat-screen TV, domestic and international channels). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chaplain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaplain Rive Gauche Paris
Chaplain Rive Gauche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing