We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”
Review of Hotel St Merry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St Merry
Ranked #1,356 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Forgot to write my review but better late then never! We stayed 4 nights and couldn't ask for a better hotel! Beautiful gothic style in a great location. Get ready to climb stairs but man it's worth it! Friendly staff, boulangerie and many pubs and restaurants in the area, plus walking distance to pompidou, the louvre and metro station. Tip: buy some pastries at the boulangerie near the hotel and enjoy it at saint jacques park next door.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Ori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    66
    30
    21
    13
See reviews for
23
78
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

2 minutes walk form chatelet underground station and around 15 min travel to gare du nord and eurostar.Perfect for an early start into Paris as we left london and we re having coffee and croissants in Paris by 10 am. The hotel 's reception was very friendly and could not do enough for us. Left bags in hotel on Sunday so we could walk in the city and collect later.
Good sites not far, Notre Dame, centre pompidou etc.. Did not take breakfast as there is an amazing boulangerie seconds from the hotel. We will definitely stay again there! Also be careful but some website says it s closed but it not ! there is a mistake.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myrlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We found this hotel when we needed a last minute reservation, and we were thrilled with our stay. I should mention that my review is based on our stay in the "City view suite", which is room 20 on the top floor.
The reservation process was very pleasant. I spoke to a gentlemen on the phone, and he was friendly, detailed what the room looked like, and explained what was the best way to reserve the room (directly or through a different website) and gave me the closest Metro station exit to select.
The check in process was flawless. Now... true, there is no lift. We were traveling with tons of luggage, and lugging it all to the 4th floor was tough. However, I knew there was no lift prior to booking, and the gentleman who checked us in offered to a) keep the luggage we didn't need down in the main office, or b) if we needed every piece, to help us bring it up. We picked option B and he did help us.
The trek up was tough, but to our pleasant surprise, there was AC and the cold air was so wonderful! The staff offered us free cold bottles of water after we completed the luggage business, which was very nice and appreciated.
The room was awesome. I felt I was at Hogewarts and expecting Harry Potter to welcome us any moment! The room had all amenities we expected. It was clean, big enough to accommodate 5, and again, the coolness of the AC was a blissful feeling considering the blistering heat outside.
The hotel is wonderfully located. Minutes walk from Rue Rivoli, where you can shop at will, the Hotel de Ville, Paris's city hall, about 10 minutes from Notre Dame, and placed near plenty of eating and drinking establishment. If you want to be near good places to be in the heart of Paris, then this is your spot.
If you are looking for a clean-cut Marriott or Hilton feel, then this is not your place. If you are in for something a little different, you are in Paris for something else than cable TV and a hotel room, then this will be a neat experience.
I like the other reviewer's reference and will add o it by saying, this is a Scooby-doo meets Harry Potter place!
Have fun, try something different, and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chefsprive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Spent one night here and was pleased with it. There is no air conditioning but they did have fans in the room available for use. Stayed in the room with the flying buttresses and had to be careful not to whack my head on them. The bathroom was nice, great soaking tub. The street below is a busy pedestrian road but did hear the noise with window closed. Close to many of Paris' great monument. The staff was very nice and helpful. Be careful, no elevator!
Would stay again. My room had a single murphy bed a well as a double but it would be impossible to move around if used, but is available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perkinscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I reserved a room in February including a credit card number to hold the reservation. When I arrived in mid-May, the Hotel Saint Merry was CLOSED, shut-down, and boarded up. Their web site is online and STILL taking reservations. I was never contacted by the Saint Merry about their closure or even possible closure. So, I arrive after 15 hours of travel with 40lbs. of luggage and I'm sitting in front of a boarded up, windows broken nightmare. If you have a reservation, please (please) make a back-up.

Also, DO NOT go to the "recommended" hotel posted on the board where the front door used to be. It's owned by the same hotelier and I think it's a bait and switch operation. The Saint Merry's beautiful charming web site and Trip Advisor praise are still driving business to Saint Merry which is sending people 20 minutes away from the city center to a poorly lit, sketchy neighborhood.

This has been a nightmare.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Patrij B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed there 2 years ago and enjoyed every moment of it. If you are looking to get a real Paris flavor and feel like you are basically sleeping in the midst of history - this is a place for you. Rooms with gothic furnishings take you back in time, art on every wall in every corner throughout the hotel adds a unique authentic feel, and the smell of the best French Bakery in Paris (which is literally outside the hotel) in the morning calls you for a fresh brewed cup of coffee and the most divine breads in the whole city. Perfect location because of walking distance from all great sightseeing of Paris. Strongly recommend for those travelers who are looking for a true authentic Paris adventure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlfromthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Keeping in mind that we choose location and charm over comfort and convenience, Hotel St. Merry was an excellent choice for our four-day stay in Paris. Just across the bridge in the Marais district, from the Rive Gauche and Notre Dame de Paris and surrounded by interesting shops and restaurants, this hotel's location cannot be beat. And at 160 euros per night (September 2011) for a superior double, a real bargain in Paris. Its a little difficult to find because, well, it looks like a church rather than a hotel. Though it is only four or five blocks from the Metro Chatelet, it seemed longer dragging a couple hundred lbs of luggage in inclimately hot weather after two sleepless days with numerous flight delays in New York. If this is your first stop in France after a trans-Atlantic journey -- I'd recommend a cab to deliver you to the door. And no, there is no lift, which would not have been as much of a hardship had we not been exhausted. Keep in mind that the first floor in most European buildings is actually the second with the ground level being zero.

The room was tiny (Red Room) with barely enough room for the bed though who lingers in their hotel room while in Paris? The area is busy and noisy but, though we had a street-side room, it was quiet enough with the large, sturdy windows closed at night. And, the view from our balcony was entertaining with all of the late-night restaurant and club goers mingling about. My only real complaint is that there was ONE electrical outlet in the room which made it necessary to hussle when charging two cell phones, a camera and a video camera. Packing an extension cord would rectify that.

We would definitely stay at the Hotel st. Merry again, take a cab from the airport and bring an extension cord!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MoreheadRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,112 of 1,802 in Paris
250 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#349 of 1,802 in Paris
665 reviews
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#1,021 of 1,802 in Paris
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#153 of 1,802 in Paris
1,542 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#724 of 1,802 in Paris
207 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#696 of 1,802 in Paris
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Merry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Merry

Property: Hotel St Merry
Address: 78 rue de la Verrerie, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,356 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St Merry 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finely restored Gothic-style hotel in an 18th century stone building - Downtown, adjacent to Hotel de Ville and Pompidou Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St Merry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Merry Hotel
St Merry Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing