We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Ranked #337 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A gem in Paris”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

What a way to start my first trip to Paris! This hotel is literally a gem. It's a beautiful well managed and thoughtful hotel which was the perfect place for us to get to from Charles de Gaulle and to launch our two day whirlwind tour of Paris. No we didn't get to see everything, but we made a good start! Close to the Metro, luxurious room, comfy beds and a good sized bathroom - incredibly attentive and helpful staff on duty 24/7. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy19561956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Lucy,


Thank you so much for this positive feedback!

I understood you didn't have time to visit everything in Paris, we would be glad to welcome you again!

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we will be happy to get in touch with you through our facebook page.

See you soon!

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    206
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
70
184
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at Pavillon Bastille for 3 nights June 9-12. Reception staff is friendly and willing to take time for thorough explanations. Our room was a good size with plenty of space for luggage. THe bathroom was large and clean, fresh towels. The bed was large and clean as well, and the lighting in the room was good. The hotel is on the east side of the city, a little farther away from the main attractions of Paris, but we enjoyed walking around the neighborhood as well, and there are a few bars and restaurants in the area. This is definitely a good location for the price, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hello

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Our two receptionnists do their best to help our customers, we are also happy you enjoyed the hotel and the location.

Paris is not huge and it is quite easy to visit the city from the hotel.

Come to visit us again, we will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Based on good TA reviews, we booked for 3 nights. What a disappointment. The toilet was filthy from old stains that I could see from my bed (yes it was that close!). The view was of a bunch of homeless people camping against the wall of the opera house over the road. The breakfast, while more than expected by Parisienne standards, was served by one surly staff member with a clear attitude against English speaking guests. The room carpet was dirty and the hotel is on a particularly noisy street. All in all I would not stay there again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ShanevanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, we are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay among us. We try to do our best for our clients but it is not easy to satisfy everybody.

Rooms are very small in Paris, it is a fact and we tried to make the best decoration we could.

You might have some homeless in the neighborrod but have you ever been in a large city without homeless ? It is sad but what do you want to do about it?

The person serving breakfast don't have anything to english speaking customers, it represent 80 % of our clients! Maybe she had some difficulties to understand you...

We regret you didn't enjoy yor stay.

Best regards

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed five nights on recent trip to Europe. Good value for money, the rooms are very adequate in size and clean, the walls however are very thin and sound carries quite clearly. The hotel is very well situated in the Bastille area directly opposite the opera house and just a stroll to the metro. If you have your own vehicle there is short and long time parking available virtually opposite the hotel. It is also only a short walk to Notre Dam and the Latin quarter where there are numerous lovely little restaurants to eat in. The hotel has a small lift which is very convenient for getting luggage etc to the upper levels ( not always found in Paris hotels ). There is also a lovely little court yard in the front with umbrellas and chairs where you can sip on a glass of wine and watch the passing parade. A continental breakfast is served in what could be called the cellar, the food is very adequate and fresh. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, making various bookings for us very efficiently. If you are looking for a value for money, pleasant, clean and convenient hotel in Paris, I can recommend Pavilion Bastille.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive and complete feedback.

It is important for us to have nice recommendations, our clients are the best advertiser we can have!

Your review will help future customers to book in our familial hotel.

Thank you again

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Adrian, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Great hotel for the price.
Location is nice, common areas are small but clean, breakfast buffet is fine and rooms are great for Paris. Even they are still small, they are bigger than the average. Service is great, they also have free WIFI throughout the hotel and the air conditioning works. Best of all, the A/C thermostat is in your own room!
I will come back!

Room Tip: Room 15 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipatiblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Sir,


Thank you for recommending our hotel!

We are very happy you enjoyed the room, the area and the service.

Keep in touch through our facebook page.

Kind regards

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The hotel is small and this applies to the rooms as well. fitting and furnishing is typical for French and particularly Parisian hotels. It's good for France but don't try to compare with North America or even other parts of Northern Europe. You tend to pay a lot for a little but that's true throughtout Paris.

The location suited our travel plans, close to the Metro and train stations with some reasonable restaurants and bars in the area. We loved the Sunday market just across the road.

The staff were extremely helpful in pointing out places and the best means of transport.

If we needed to be in this part of Paris again we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KraftyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

Rooms are small in Paris, buildings are old, this is the charm of the city! It is true you won't find large rooms as you can have in US.

Glad you enjoyed the location and the hotel, we hope to welcome you again!

Best regards

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Bay
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I choose this hotel because of all the good reviews on TA and how inexpensive it was. Don't get me wrong, we weren't going to Paris on a shoestring budget but we love high-end dining, shopping & lots of champagne so the more we saved on a hotel the more we could spend on our true passions. We spent 7 nights at Hotel Pavillon Bastille to celebrate my B-day in April/May and we were very happy with the experience. We were originally skeptical because the price was too good to be true but our worries were soon set aside,

Location was incredible - close to 2 major train stations and a 5 min walk to 1 to one of the main metros in Paris so traveling around the city by public transportation was very quick, easy & cheap (more money for champagne lol) , close to the 11 e for all the foodies, close to all the must see museums, close to the Marais, Latin Q & St Germain for all the history & slice of the Parisenne life, the Rue Oberkampf for the nightlife. No matter what in you're in Paris for this hotel is just a blink away.

The room was typical Paris in size but nicely decorated and clean. The mattress was way above average and the bathroom was larger compared to other hotels I have stayed in while in Paris that cost more and were no where near as convenient.

The 24 hour a day staff was amazing. Everyone made us feel very welcome & catered to our every request. (BTW we are not low maintenance). Christina was sooo friendly and always had a smile for us but was very knowledgeable for those that needed recommendations. She is equal to any concierge at a 5 Star Hotel. She even surprised me with a box of beautiful chocolates for my Birthday. How cool was that!

The only thing you may want to consider before booking here is if you are a light sleeper or "country folk" - rue de Lyon can be a little noisy. As we are both heavy sleepers and used to all the city noises this was not a problem for us.

Thank you to everyone at Hotel Pavillon Bastille for a memorable time - we will be back again to see you all!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpshotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to welcome you for your birthday, and we hope you will come back.

We attach a lot of importance to the welcoming, Cristina and Indunil love to help our clients, we are lucky to get them.

We offer nice rates because we want to keep a good value for money, more you book in advance, more you will get a good rate.

Thank you again for your amazing review.

Keep in touch with us through our facebook page.

Kind regards

The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le Marceau Bastille Hotel
Le Marceau Bastille Hotel
#383 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#112 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Best Western Hotel Marais Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Paris Bastille
Hotel Paris Bastille
#651 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Des Trois Gares
Hotel Des Trois Gares
#1,063 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pavillon Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pavillon Bastille

Property: Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Address: 65 rue de Lyon | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#300 Family Hotel in Paris
#464 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#519 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pavillon Bastille 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautiful building located in the 12th district of Paris ,the Hotel Pavillon Bastille is a place of charm and comfort that you will find graciously welcoming whether you are visiting the capital for tourism or business. Come and discover the many advantages of this 3-stars hotel and its 25 rooms, located just a few steps from the Place de la Bastille (Bastille Square) and its metro station. The pretty courtyard, with its flowers and trees, is ideal for enjoying a leisurely breakfast in the sun or a quiet rest in the dappled shade. In an elegant setting which is both tranquil and friendly, you'll enjoy a wide range of services, many facilities and the smiling assistance of an ever available team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pavillon Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Bastille Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing