We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, not cheap, fair location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Ranked #350 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small room, not cheap, fair location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here, far from better locations, to be near friends. For $300 a night got a room 10 x 20 feet. Very European. Place (and neighborhood) is a bit run down: looks better in pictures. Gypsies living in tents across the street. Metro close but no decent eateries nearby. Pleasant desk staff.

Room Tip: Facing front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xyzzy55260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PavillonBastille, Propriétaire at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guests,
We were happy to have you with us.
We know we do not have the biggest rooms but they are in the standard Parisian size.
Concerning the restaurants, we do have very good one around the hotel such as Bofinger, Le Train Bleu which we recommend and for the ones we only have good feedbacks.
But the most important for us is to read that our staff made the maximum to make your stay the most pleasant as possible.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you another time in Pavillon Bastille.
With all our thanks for your nice feedback,
Best regards from Paris,
David B.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    212
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
74
190
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
AKL
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

A cute hotel at a excellent location, metro is close by, as well as cafés. Room is small (but reasonable size) and clean, with good breakfast selection. Staff is friendly, Christina has been very helpful when we checked in.
This hotel has a lift which my dad appreciates the most.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Livingwithbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence C, Directeur général at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guests,
We thank you for your nice comment about our property.
We appreciate to see that our guests are happy during their stay !
We remain at your disposal for any other stay you might need, we will be glad to welcome you another time in Pavillon Bastille.
Best regards from Paris,
David B.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our second stay here was better than the first, stayed longer. Easy access to TGV station, Gare de Lyon, easy access to the Metro, short walk to supermarket and bakery. Very friendly and helpful staff.
We had a leak under our lavatory and it was fixed in less than 1/2 hour after reporting it.
Very close to some really nice restaurants in the Bastille area.
Wish we could rate higher.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence C, Directeur général at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guests,
I well remember you as I personnally fixed your washbasin. It was a pleasure to have you with us.
We all do our best to satisfy our guests and help them feel as being at home !
You are absolutely right, our location is very convenient to catch the metro (3 lines 1-5-8) at only 150m from our property.
The TGV (French fast train) is reachable at Gare de Lyon in less than 10mn walking and we have a lot of good restaurants that we recommend in the neighborhood.
We hope to welcome you a third time in Pavillon Bastille very soon !
Best regards,
David B.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Ideal for Opera Bastille. Feels like you are in the heart of Paris but still good and friendly service. Room quiet despite being on a main road. Clean and up to date facilities. Good buffet breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 947stephent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence C, Directeur général at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guests,
We are happy to read you spent a pleasant stay in our hotel.
If you like Opera, this is right, we are at the good place !
Looking forward to welcoming you another time in Pavillon Bastille,
We thank you.
The Managing Dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Friendly reception staff who provided great information on arrival. Rooms were excellent - clean and comfortable. The hotel was set back a bit from the road and there was lovely courtyard entrance. It was a nice change to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The best part was the location - 10 minutes from the Marais district and 10 minutes from Gare de Lyon (even with luggage). There were lots of great restaurants nearby and even though it was so close to the centre of Paris, it's position at the Bastille end of Rue de Lyon wasn't too busy so there was very little traffic noise. I'd definitely stay here again - it was a great find.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence C, Directeur général at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Google Translation
Chère Deborah,
Nous sommes ravis de voir que vous avez passé un excellent séjour dans notre établissement.
Nous avons été ravis de vous recevoir et sommes touchés de l'excellente notation que vous nous avez attribuée.
Il est vrai que notre situation à 150 mètres de la place de la Bastille rend notre hôtel très pratique pour les transports (3 lignes de métro 1-5-8) ainsi que pour aller déjeuner ou diner dans l'un des nombreux restaurants aux alentours.
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau très bientôt au Pavillon Bastille.
Bien cordialement,
La Direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

On arrival to the hotel for our four night stay, the receptionist was excellent at checking us in and providing information about the tourist attractions and what to do while in Paris, alas she was the only friendly hotel staff we met that week. Throughout the week my opinion of the hotel changed. You have to leave your key at the reception when leaving and collect it on return, which is really inconvenient. We did not have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment.

The room itself was a double bed and was grand for sleeping in and having a base for the trip. We looked for a 'do not disturb sign' for the room as we wanted to sleep in and relax on our trip. However there were no "do not disturb' signs available in the room, inquired at reception about this and they eventually gave us one on the second evening which we put out that night. The next morning the cleaner didn't even knock and just walked in disregarding the sign altogether and interrupting our sleep. We asked for the sign for a reason.
We left the sign up as we did not want the room cleaned for the rest of the trip, again the sign was ignored, our room was cleaned, and items I had left in bottom of the bedside locker had been disturbed and moved around. I didn't even bother to complain about this as I don't think it would have mattered! Thankfully this was on our last night and I could not wait to leave the next morning.

I will not be staying at this hotel again which is a pity as the location is excellent and Paris is a wonderful city!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTurtle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence C, Directeur général at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for your comment about our property.
We do apologize for trouble caused. In order to check who was in charge of the cleaning of your room during your stay and to respect your privacy, could you please send us your name and dates of stay to direction@pavillonbastille.com ?
We never had this kind of problem before but we will be glad to answer to you with a special compensation advantage on your next reservation.
We hope to welcome you another time in Paris,
Best regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My fiancée and I stayed here for 5 nights (17-21 March)
It was perfect for what we needed.
Clean, comfortable room and bathroom.
Friendly reception.
Great location, a minutes walk to the Bastille Metro, 20 min walk to the Notre Dame and Latin Quarter.
It's just up from the Seine so we would basically just walk along the river to the Louvre/Arc/Eiffel Tower etc.
Tons of restaurants and bars and shopping just off the Bastille(which is a minute's walk)
I'd highly recommend this hotel for Paris, when you're out exploring and sightseeing all day, not living in your room.. you just need a clean, comfortable place to relax, sleep and shower and not feel like you're squashed in a cupboard with a bed ( my last experience in Paris)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence C, Directeur général at Hotel Pavillon Bastille, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We were very happy to read your nice comment about our hotel.
Our staff and I are sensible to your comments.
We are glad if we were helpful to improve your stay in Paris.
Awaiting to welcome you another time in Paris,
Best regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le Marceau Bastille Hotel
Le Marceau Bastille Hotel
#352 of 1,800 in Paris
597 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#117 of 1,800 in Paris
612 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Ledru Rollin 12eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Des Trois Gares
Hotel Des Trois Gares
#1,121 of 1,800 in Paris
178 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Best Western Hotel Marais Bastille
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Albe Bastille
Hotel Albe Bastille
#592 of 1,800 in Paris
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pavillon Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pavillon Bastille

Property: Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Address: 65 rue de Lyon | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#300 Family Hotel in Paris
#464 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#519 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pavillon Bastille 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautiful building located in the 12th district of Paris ,the Hotel Pavillon Bastille is a place of charm and comfort that you will find graciously welcoming whether you are visiting the capital for tourism or business. Come and discover the many advantages of this 3-stars hotel and its 25 rooms, located just a few steps from the Place de la Bastille (Bastille Square) and its metro station. The pretty courtyard, with its flowers and trees, is ideal for enjoying a leisurely breakfast in the sun or a quiet rest in the dappled shade. In an elegant setting which is both tranquil and friendly, you'll enjoy a wide range of services, many facilities and the smiling assistance of an ever available team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pavillon Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Bastille Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing