We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris Trip 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Ranked #187 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paris Trip 2013”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This is a fabulous hotel for couples. The concierge staff offered fantastic recommendations for a dinner out as well as romantic activities. I recommend booking a spa appointment in the hotel as it's relaxing and secluded. It's really easy to do and you get the whole area to yourself, including the gym and steam room. During my stay, the wifi was temporarily down and the refrigerator broken, but overall it was a magnificent experience.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cchali4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    356
    58
    23
    11
See reviews for
195
518
50
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We managed to walk to all major sights from this hotel but as long as you have a good pair of walking shoes.
The hotel itself is modern and although the rooms are smaller than we could imagine we were not in them long to worry about it. Strategically place your cases so you dont trip over them and all will be fine.
You are In the latin quarter with many dining options not far away from the hotel and as you walk through the cobbled streets you are spoilt for choice.
staff at the hotel are wonderful and ready to help in any way they can. We were directed to a laundromat within walking distance not far from the Pantheon which was extremely clean.
For the best muffin you will ever taste try the cafe just up from Macdonalds heading towards the Pantheon and somewhere close to Subway. We were served by a lovely english speaking man and the muffins we purchased were something like I had never tasted before.
If you chose this hotel you will not be disappointed and if you dont like walking like we do there is the metro and buses nearby for your convenience.
Enjoy Paris and dont let the talk of pick pocketers and scammers scare you like they did us. We witnessed no pick pocketers and only approached a few times to sign petitions but kept walking and said no and were left alone. We were aware of our valuables and only carried photocopies for id.
My suggestion is to learn the basic french words and use them when you can as its actually enjoyable to try and converse in french and appreciated by the locals. Carry a small card with the words and some numbers to help order food etc.
Have fun in Paris and enjoy the Grand Hotel Saint Michel if you chose to stay there as we certainly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKR068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I've stayed at the Grand Hotel Saint-Michel twice now and have sent friends here, as well. The hotel is nicely appointed with modern furnishings and amenities - wifi throughout. And it's in a great location - quite walkable to a great deal of Paris' fantastic shopping areas and cultural attractions. The staff are very helpful and on multiple times helped me secure dinner reservations in advance, as well as a car service back to the airport on my return. If you're looking for a relatively affordable hotel (around €160/nt), centrally located and easily walkable to the restaurants, shops, and museums in Saint-Germain/Latin Quarter, Le Marais and Île Saint-Louis etc. - this is a great place to stay. It's also conveniently located to the Metro and RER.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jess2art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We just returned from a 4-night stay in Paris where we enjoyed all the major attractions and had a great time at the Celine Dion concert (which was incredible!).
Check-in and check-out at the GHSM (Grand Hotel Saint-Michel) was quick and pleasant.
We were on the 6th floor which has an incredible view of the surrounding buildings, with their impressive architectural elements. I couldn't help myself from looking out the window whenever we were in the room.
The room was modern and very clean, with a comfortable bed (that was decorated with about 27 lovely pillows... OK maybe just 7 or 8 - but very nicely done!). The bed is queen sized with one mattress (rather than two mattresses pushed together, as annoyingly done in many other hotels). The room was made up every day, including towel changes and replenished Hermes soaps and shampoos.
Note that because it's the top floor, the intruding roof design (common to most buildings in Paris) means that the room may not fit very tall people. I am 5'8" and my head was about an inch away from the ceiling over the bath. There was no height issue in the rest of the room except for one corner. The view out the windows greatly outweighs the minor issue with the ceiling height – so no big deal.
Service is excellent. We had a minor issue with the sink on the first day. The technician arrived (in a tuxedo) within 5 minutes of our notice, fixed the problem in less than 10 minutes and was very friendly.
The excellent service was common to the entire hotel staff who are all very kind and outgoing. The front desk personnel showed us how to get to various places on the complimentary (free) map and gave us good advice. They always greeted us when we entered and left the hotel. They even often inquired if we are enjoying our stay and if they can be of any help - especially Maria.
Location, location, location - The hotel is located in an excellent area right between the Sorbonne, Pantheon and central Saint Michel street with its many stores and restaurants.
The Luxembourg metro station is about a three minute walk from the hotel and is very convenient in terms of getting to any main site in Paris and to the airport.
The GHSM offers a very full and broad breakfast, and for 15 Euros per person, it’s very reasonable. If you just want a cup of coffee with a sandwich or muffin, the cost will be about half right outside of the hotel.
There is complimentary coffee, tea and cookies every afternoon in the lobby which is a very nice touch.
The hotel also offers free WiFi access to all guests - which is not a given at most hotels - and was very appreciated.
I must add that just about every person that we encountered in Paris was very pleasant and courteous. People are very helpful when asked for directions and there is no problem with speaking in English. Americans really have unfair misconceptions about France and the expected experience with French people. After visiting Paris, I can truly say that it’s an amazing city with genuinely great people. This trip really changed my outlook.
We had a great time in Paris and would gladly stay at the GHSM again without any hesitation.
As a tourist tip, I highly recommend downloading the “Visit Paris by Metro - RATP” phone application. It has an offline mode (which means that you don’t need an internet / 3G connection) and tells you which trains to take from / to any destination. It is very very very helpful!

Room Tip: Room 603 on the 6th floor has an incredible view of the surrounding buildings, with their impressive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yoav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Arrived to a friendly welcome, we had a first floor room, very accessible and quiet too. The room with ensuite was very smart, liked the modern decor. Our room was cleaned every day and made-up and nice fresh towels too. The hotel is very central to some good restaurants and bars. The reception staff were very helpful with their free maps and instructions to finding museums using the metro etc This was our second visit, (first April 2012) and I'm sure we will return next year again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Staff were great the steam room was excellent and the breakfast was really good and by Paris prices reasonable. The location was prime everything was within easy reach. There is no bar but there are plenty of bars around.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 787John_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Myself and my partner booked this Hotel rather last minute for a much needed break away at the end of October, and was absolutely perfect for what we wanted!

Our room was absolutely beautiful and surprisingly a great size despite reviews I had heard of Paris rooms. The en-suite and facilities were excellent, cleaned everyday.
The location was excellent, we had a lovely view of the Pantheon overlooking a very quite street, excellent for much needed rest after trecking over Paris.

The staff were incredibly helpful and polite, all trying extremely hard to speak any language to match their guests, making our stay a lot easier. We decided to book a show one night and easily managed to do this through the reception.

We did not choose the breakfast buffet as we did feel 15 euros each morning was rather expensive, however as early risers we struggled to get breakfast anywhere in town as Paris don't not wake up until 11am, so could be a good option.

As a couple in their 20s this hotel was very comfortable, romantic and ideally located. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Our room was 402, although on the corner and located closer to neighbours rather than most rooms, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper12London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#85 of 1,801 in Paris
1,159 reviews
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#79 of 1,801 in Paris
266 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#282 of 1,801 in Paris
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#132 of 1,801 in Paris
566 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#110 of 1,801 in Paris
1,627 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#137 of 1,801 in Paris
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saint-Michel

Property: Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Address: 19 rue Cujas | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#136 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#141 Business Hotel in Paris
#147 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Saint-Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Saint-Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing