We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Ranked #186 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A charming boutique hotel”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I found the Grand Hotel Saint-Michel by random through a German hotel page. It was newly reopened. It is in the 6. Arrondisement, close to the Jardin Luxembourg, the Pantheon, and the Sorbonne. It is a located in an old building, with small rooms like in most Paris 4-Star-Hotels. The room design is modern and stylish. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is served in the basement, with a rich buffet. When you don´t take a luxury hotel, which in Paris costs not below 300 EUR, the Grand Hotel Saint-Michel is my favorite. I choose it about 5 times already, once with colleagues, who also enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maximilian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    355
    58
    23
    11
See reviews for
193
518
50
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tewantin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We recently spent 4 nights and were extremely pleased with the hotel and its central position. The staff were very helpful and helped us find whatever we were looking for. The room size was a pleasant surprise as we had been warned to expect a very small room and it turned out to be a good size. The en suite bathroom was spotless and well appointed. Overall the hotel made our stay in Paris a very memorable one.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and found it noisy when the windows were open but the room had a nice outlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The key to this hotel is location and luxury. Conveniently located to many attractions and the Paris transit system. The University of Paris, Le Sorborne, and Pantheon all within close walking distance. Well-appointed and fairly spacious rooms (for European standards). Very nice steam room that must be booked for private use only - be sure to take advantage of this great amenity, especially in the evening after a long day of walking! The front staff are friendly and always willing to help - they even provided us with converters for our plug-ins. Staff were also bang on with recommended area restaurants when asked for advice (provided business cards for eateries) - must try Cafe Juliette as duck is superb.

Room Tip: Ours was on 4th floor and facing the street. Very noisy and garbage pick up every 6am with noisy tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel May 1st to 10th. The staff were some of the best we have ever encountered. Maria and all the front line staff were always quick with directions or providing excellent recommendations for restaurants nearby. Always with a smile and a chat about how we were enjoying our 1st visit to Paris. The rooms were kept very clean. We had a nice small balcony off our room and we were comfortable in our room. Nice touch providing bathrobes and slippers. You can walk to a great deal of attractions, shopping and restaurants in the area. This hotel has everything you need and we highly recommend! Thank you GHSM for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Pick a deluxe room or higher as the classic rooms are on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_D348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a charming hotel in the heart of the Latin Quarter, on a quiet side street just off the Boul Mich, this is a fine choice. The location couldn't be better, just 10 min walk from Notre Dame, yet in the room all you hear is silence.

The people at the reception are friendly and speak good English. My room was tidy albeit a bit small, but such is the nature of hotels in the center of Paris, even if they have four stars.

Tea and cookies are served in the lobby in the afternoon. All in all, a convenient and pleasant place to stay in the center of Paris.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe_trotter_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this small spotlessly clean, well decorated hotel in a lovely area with a good choice of shops and restaurants nearby, a short walk to Notre Dame, Metro, sightseeing buses, hotel room was nicely decorated and used the space available very well, it had everything you need from a large comfortable bed, good shower, air con, fridge, flat screen tv, dvd player, toiletries, full length mirror, good choice at continental breakfast but best of all was the staff who were welcoming, very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel due to its location, staff, comfort and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Room 203 was a corner room with views onto the streets below, you can hear some noise later at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeeFeeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We loved our 2 week stay at Grand Hotel Saint Michel. The rooms was clean and comfortable. Many say that the rooms are small. Didn't affect our comfort at all. And no smaller than other Paris hotels. This is a lovely boutique hotel in a great neighborhood (Sorbonne) very near many great restaurants and places you want to be. Rami and Marie at the front office were wonderful, and make an effort to make sure you feel welcome, safe and comfortable. Would go again in a second.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rllewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#85 of 1,800 in Paris
1,157 reviews
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#81 of 1,800 in Paris
265 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#131 of 1,800 in Paris
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#280 of 1,800 in Paris
1,304 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#112 of 1,800 in Paris
1,622 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#138 of 1,800 in Paris
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saint-Michel

Property: Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Address: 19 rue Cujas | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#136 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#141 Business Hotel in Paris
#147 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Saint-Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Saint-Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing