We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service & nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Ranked #172 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful service & nice hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Rooms are small (not atypical for Paris) but well appointed and clean with good bathroom and lux toiletries. Location is good for metro and being near, but not in, the center of the action. But the key to this hotel is the service. Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly on a par with any of the best run, big chain hotels that spend a lot on staff training. They have a nice little gym with steam room (which is a nice extra you don't oftent find in a small hotel). And their breakfast is fantastic. I don't usually eat breakfast in the hotel (usually not good value and limited selection). I tried it on the second day and thought it was better than what I could get at most local cafes and at a competitive price, if like me breakfast is the big meal of the day that gets you ready for walking all over Paris! I would recommend this hotel and woudl stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelguru1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    351
    57
    21
    11
See reviews for
187
511
50
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at Grand hotel St Michel on two separate occasions in March/April 2014. Service including front desk and team were very helpful. The buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. We had a suite located on the ground floor - it was clean, tidy but quite dark even with the two skylights positioned over the bed and in the lounge area. The bathroom was smallish but included good quality amenities.

All in all a very good stay. What made this hotel most enjoyable was its friendly and eager to please staff.

Candy W

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway, Norwegen, Norge, Noreg, Noruega, Norvege
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel was as expected for the money paid. Cheaper alternatives accross the street. The rooms where clean, great beds and ok room size. The tv had about 100 channels to choose from. There was a handy coffee machine, mini bar and a small safe in the room. This hotel also seemed very safe and the staff was polite and nice.The room was very quiet. Best about this hotel is the location. 300m away from the RER station at Luxembourg, which will take you directly to CDG or ORY airport. Situated in the latin quarters, is by my opion the best location in Paris (I've stayed at other Paris locations before). 500m to Notre Dame and from there you got the best of Paris in short walking distance (Louvre, the pad lock bridge, river boat at pont neuf etc...). Go for this hotel or this area to have a safe and good time in Paris. The intention with this trip, was to see a football (soccer) game at Stade de France. The same RER station will take you there. The latin quarters are vivid. Take a hop on and hop off bus from Notre Dame.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet and it faced the back yard. No view from this room, but quietness is more im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenrikSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Paris. Its located in the latin quarter of Saint Michel and is perfect! Very clean, modern, stylish and boutique feel. Next to different meter stations, tour bus stops routes and plenty of restaurants and bars but the street the hotel is located on his pretty quiet so you can have a good nights sleep. Had a lovely balcony in are room to look out on the the street. Staff very friendly. Didn't eat here so can't comment on food. Is a must stay!!

Room Tip: Asked for a room with a balcony which wasn't available but we had french doors that opened and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holte, Denmark
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Grand Hotel Saint Michel does not instil great feelings. We stayed there for 4 nights. It is sort of okay, mainly because of the friendly staff and the attractive location in the 5/6 arrondissement. Rooms are tiny - think closet - with barely enough space to walk around the bed. The bathroom with the little toy loo is cute, but the overall impression is that rooms are over designed in a cheap way. Beds are nice but the aircon sucks. The so called fitness room is in a faraway corner of the basement with 1 bike, 1 stair master and a treadmill crammed into 6 sqm. No weights or any other equipment.

Breakfast is stupidly expensive. Head out to any of the cafés in the neighbourhood and have a hearty breakfast for 7-10 € instead. There is no facilities for tea of coffee in the room, but they do serve tea/coffee in the reception from 3-4.30 pm.

You can get far better value for your money in a 3 or even 2 star hotel elsewhere in Paris. In my humble opinion Grand Hotel Saint Michel does not deserve their 4 stars and we probably will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Close to Luxembourg Garden, shopping, restaurants and charming market lined streets. The hotel itself was stylish, modern and very comfortable with the room we had not overly large but also not small like a typical European hotel room and all at a reasonable price. The staff here were wonderful, giving us tips on ways to get round, maps, umbrellas when it was raining etc and made our stay all the more comfortable. We didn't have breakfast with our room so took a wander around the markets every morning finding small restaurants serving quality food at a much lower price then you would pay at the hotel (we paid 5€ for a panini, crepe and a drink). This was such a lovely part of Paris to stay in and when we can make it back to Paris, we will be staying here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very happy with our stay at the Grand Hotel Saint-Michel. Perfectly located across a small alley from Sorbonne in the Latin Quarter (between the 5th and 6th arrondissements, e.g. neighborhoods.). This hotel is modern, clean, quiet, and surprisingly spacious considering our expectations. Our room was facing directly into the intersection which afforded nice open views of Sorbonne's ornate architecture and let in the morning light quite nicely.

The staff was very friendly, I want to particularly thank Christina at the front desk for making our stay even better. She was extremely helpful in suggesting restaurants for dinner, locations for top-notch pastries, and for being very accommodating with our questions and one-off requests.

The hotel has breakfast which we highly recommend. Keep in mind that breakfast isn't really "big" in Paris, the locals typically eat a baguette with jam or butter. The hotel breakfast is reasonably priced and includes a selection of sliced meats, salmon, eggs (scrabbled or hard boiled), a selection of cheeses, various breads (yes, croissants), jams, juices, teas, nuts, yogurts, etc. Overall very happy with the breakfast.

The bedding, bathroom, shower were all comfortable, modern, and each room tastefully decorated for utility and design.

Lastly, wifi is included, which is a nice perk.

Our next stay in Paris will definitely be in this area of the city and will almost certainly be with the Grand Hotel Saint-Michel.

Room Tip: Room 303 is really nice as it faces into the intersection and Sorbonne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleClassTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#89 of 1,802 in Paris
1,141 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#139 of 1,802 in Paris
544 reviews
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#94 of 1,802 in Paris
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#111 of 1,802 in Paris
1,552 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#278 of 1,802 in Paris
1,288 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#178 of 1,802 in Paris
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saint-Michel

Property: Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Address: 19 rue Cujas | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#124 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#141 Business Hotel in Paris
#147 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Saint-Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Saint-Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing