We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Ranked #258 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

You are warned, stay elsewhere. Stayed for 3 nights, although it is a good location. I had things taken from my room and was dismissed by the night doorman. There is no point in having a room key since it seems there are universal keys. The rooms are very small (even for European hotels) and not the cleanest. Although it is cheap, there are better alternatives in the same price range. I would not rec. this place to friends. Breakfast is very bland but there is a nice bakery on the block. I do agree with the other guests comments, there are signs begging for trip advisor reviews...would not consider this a top 20 hotel in Paris at all...quite laughable.

Room Tip: Based on the room map, they all look to be the same small size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CW2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie T, Propriétaire at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so confused about your comment ! Indeed, it is not fair for us to put a review like that without to tell us your room number or your name. The goal for us is to know what was happened with the night auditor and why he rejected you as you said. He told us about a story with one room that the guest were drunk and wanted to come in her room with a stranger but her roommate didn’t want. That is why the night auditor blocked him with the authorization of the other person who was sharing the room. In this case, if it was you, we understand that you could be upset about that but for the safety of our hotel we cannot authorize it.

However, if you were alone in the room of course there would be no problem but you were sharing a room with somebody who didn’t want that a stranger come in your room.

On the other hand, for the security of our guest, we need to have a general key to open all our rooms (all hotels in the world have a general key). For exemple, if you lose your key who will open the door? Or how the cleaning lady can clean the room without your key? Or worse, if there is a fire or a person very sick, we need to open the door at any time to be able to help the customer as soon as possible.

Regarding the breakfast, we can accept that you did not like it because, indeed, tastes are not the same for everyone. But if we can add something to say, it is that we have fruits, jam, fresh orange jus, one of the best bread of Paris from KAZER bakery, etc... and the person in charge of the breakfast is always at your disposal and is able to make everything that you want scrambled eggs for exemple… Moreover, we are always able to buy something for a special request if the guest wants it.

To conclud, we are always asking to our guest if everything is alright during their stay with their room or anything else and you did not tell anything about your dissatisfaction at your check-out. That is why, it's like a knife in our back.

We hope after analyze you will understand that your comment was maybe too excessive due your anger.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and have always been impressed with it. We love its location first of all, the service is friendly and helpful, and the rooms small but certainly adequate. The bathrooms have always been clean and quite spacious. The breakfasts are good too and the shuttle service to the airport works very well. All in all, we love the place and hope to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Decide if you like street noise or want quiet. Personally I like the street sounds in the morning s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryK1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie T, Gérant at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Mary,

We thank you for your nice review and your fidelity to our hotel.

It will be with a real plaisir us to welcome you every time you want.

We wish you happy holidays!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

There is a sign in the lobby asking travelers to help make the hotel a top 20 in Paris. I wondered if this was a joke. The WiFi is spotty. The in-room instant coffee wasn't replaced after the first night and, resigned to tea the next morning, that wasn't replaced the next night. Breakfast was ok, but certainly better at the hotels in Laon, Nancy, and Beaune. To access television at night the TV had a trick to turn it on, most channels didn't come in, and the cord going into the wall needed to be turned just right. Hotel aside, we enjoyed our time in Paris. (note, this is the second time typing this since the hotel internet went out when first trying to submit)

Room Tip: pick a room NOT on the street side. Garbage pick up is 7am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moniker h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie T, Responsable réception at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. That is the only way we are able to improve and avoid all kinds of disappointment from our guests.

Regarding the Wifi, there is a transmitter on each floor to amplify the signal and from our computer at the front desk we can check if everything is working well.

However, the signal could be low or spotty sometimes, if it is busy but in any cases you can always ask at any time to the receptionist to reboot the system or give you another connection. Moreover, there is a computer in our bar and an Ipad in the living room available for all our guests.

Concerning the Tv, indeed, the cable was probably not connected.

To concluded, we are able to respond to all your discontent if you ask us. For exemple, we could change your room to have one facing the courtyard (quieter) or check or change your tv in case of any problems.

Our team is at your disposal 24h/24 .

We hope you still had a good stay in paris despite the fact that our hotel did not meet your expectation.

For the next time, don't hesitate to let us know if there is any problems, to be able to resolve it as soon as possible.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed for four nights at the hotel and really enjoyed it. Yes, the room was small, but it was big enough. The bathroom was large and very clean. The water pressure in the shower was great. The towels were nice and large. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They greeted us warmly whenever we returned from our explorations of the city. The location is great-within walking distance of the Lourve and Notre Dame. Several cafes and restaurants were close by. The neighborhood seemed safe.

Room Tip: Our courtyard room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4travelfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie T, Responsable réception at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank for your review. It is precise and very nice of you !

The best gift that you can give for our staff is a comment like that.

What more to say except thank you !

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and I joined a large group of travelers who all stayed here. The hotel was very charming, rooms were small as many noted, but the location was ideal. THe staff was wonderful, arranging for shuttle to airport, restaurant suggestions and a friendly helpful smile whenever we passed by. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a prime location at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie T, Responsable réception at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we thank you for taking time to put a comment about our hotel.

Regarding the size of rooms, indeed, we can't do anything to enlarge them because it is an historic building but that's part of the charm of our hotel !

Moreover, thank you for saying that we have a nice staff !

We hope to see you a next time.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Dauphine St. Germain on our honeymoon and we were extremely pleased with it. The rooms are indeed small, but this is typical of a boutique hotel in Paris. The location in St. Germain was amazing and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They were extremely accommodating in helping to make reservations prior to our arrival and also providing information while we were there. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie T, Responsable réception at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,

First, we thank you for your strong recommendation and for having time to write a comment.

We hope you will never forget your honey moon in our hotel. As you wrote, we are ready 24/24H for helping our guests to book tours, restaurants or even to give the best advises possibles for everything.

We will be very glad to welcome you a next time for an other special event.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed at Hotel Dauphine in mid-September, 2013. I had a lovely room on the 5th floor overlooking the charming Rue Dauphine (I had requested a street view). This hotel got everything right. I emailed them, requesting an additional night be added, I requested a nice street-view room, and they followed through! As others have said, the location just can't be beat. I walked daily -- to the Louvre, Orsay, Notre Dame, Marais, around Luxembourg Gardens, and even to the rue Mouffetard (during a "Hemingway walk"). The staff at the front desk were both kind and helpful. When returning from a long day, I was always welcomed back, and felt like I was "home." I would highly recommend this hotel, and I actually think it's reasonably priced for the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank camerawithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie T, Responsable réception at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a real plaisir for us to read a comment like yours about our hotel and we thank you for putting it.
As you wrote, we always try to best meet the specific requirements of each customer and moreover with the smile!!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and hope to welcome you a next time.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#112 of 1,802 in Paris
547 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#139 of 1,802 in Paris
863 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#208 of 1,802 in Paris
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#504 of 1,802 in Paris
191 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#106 of 1,802 in Paris
1,110 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#720 of 1,802 in Paris
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain

Address: 36 rue Dauphine | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#239 Business Hotel in Paris
#279 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#285 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £98 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE HOTEL DAUPHINE SAINT GERMAIN (LEFT BANK)The hotel provides a warm, friendly welcome and attentive personal service in a charming and authentically Parisian atmosphere, guaranteeing you will enjoy a memorable stay with us.The unequalled charm of Saint-Germain-des-Prés springs from the association of culture and savoir-faire: you must see for yourself the slightly leaning stone buildings, the narrow streets with their flowered balconies, the gourmet shops and specialty bookstores, the famous cafés with their large terraces (Le Flore, Les Deux Magots). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Saint Germain Hotel
Dauphine Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing