We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel d'Angleterre & Paris in January”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #965 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hotel d'Angleterre & Paris in January”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed in Paris for a week in early January and were pleasantly surprised by the weather and thoroughly enjoyed the City. The Hotel d'Angleterre was pleasant - the rooms were much larger than a hotel where I stayed down the street the year before. The continental breakfasts were really lovely. The only real downside was that construction commenced in the atrium during the last few days of our stay, which meant scaffolding outside our room and workmen early in the morning. We had not been advised when we booked that construction was pending during our stay, and I think notification would have been reasonable. We were, however, offered a different room, but decided that the inconvenience of packing, unpacking and re-packing a couple of days later wasn't worth it. There were lots of narrow, steep stairs to get to our room which was not a problem for us but might be for some people. Its a good hotel for the price in comparison to others we've seen. Very spacious in particular compared to others in the same price range. Great part of Paris also - love St. Germain des Pres.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    78
    12
    9
    12
See reviews for
49
75
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel, once the British Embassy, in such an attractive area of Paris - and a short trip in January, when rates were reduced by 20%, finally provided the opportunity. The welcome was most friendly: our double room, facing the Rue Jacob on the first floor, was small but pleasant, easily accessible, with sufficient storage space and a perfectly adequate bathroom. Apart from the morning bin-men, it was surprisingly quiet. Breakfasts, in the charming front room opposite reception, were excellent - once we realised that it was possible to ask for a cappuccino, rather than the tasteless, diluted coffee provided. Good baguettes, nice croissants, yoghurts. The hotel is very well positioned, an easy walk to the Metro, and very close to all the delights of St. Germain. The inner courtyard is attractive, doubtless the place for breakfast in the summer.
No real criticisms. Bathrobes would have been nice. A larger room would have been welcome.
On our third morning the builders arrived with scaffolding - but there was no significant inconvenience, and their work will presumably lead to improvements. Not the cheapest, but certainly one of the nicest, hotels in the Rive Gauche. ( I don't really like the immediate charging of the first night to your credit card, after booking - it seems not to fit with the civilised, friendly attitude of the rest of the service.)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 234Edward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

There are hundreds of reasons why hotels make it or don't, and many of them are subjective, ie they are dependent on the mood, taste, needs of the reviewer. I have stayed at hostels and 5 stars but its not always about the crisp linens and fancy bath soaps. When my wife and I planned our trip to France we wanted to stay in Paris for a few days and our needs were: reasonable price, left bank location, and something that felt "Parisian". I happened to discover the Hotel d'Angleterre and you can read about its interesting history, but the location on the rue Jacob, in the heart of the St. Germain de Pres neighborhood was perfect. We wanted to be able to walk to lots of great neighborhoods and restaurants and for that it was perfect. The room was charmingly old feeling and like many of the small hotels, there is a central courtyard where each morning we could hear them setting the places for breakfast. Each morning we would start our day there with coffee and fresh croissants and bread with jam, planning oue events of the day. The staff was pleasant and helpful and even though it was not the most luxurious place, it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StopPagingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the hotel angleterre for many years, throughout the 80s and 90s we often stopped there,sometimes twice a year,in those days each of the rooms had a different themes and were wonderfully furnished and cleaned, it was great to try out each of the rooms over the years.
Since then we have only stopped in the suite up the oldest heritage stairway, a steep climb for most,but they always managed to take our suitcases up for us. I know that a lot of the rooms are very much overdue for refurbishment and this has been needed for many years but three or four of the rooms are very nice indeed, the best suite has not really changed over the last thirty years with a lot of character and history attached, the price of the the suite in the 80s was £120 per night this is now about £300 per night and for us is still a nice place to stop and very handy for the cafes deux magots and flore and all the best restaurants and nightlife of the left bank,the hotel is very quiet in rue Jacob if you don't count the dustbin men in the morning.
We would hope the lady owner might spend some money and hopefully bring the hotel back to it's former splendour, this would not be too difficult in financial terms, this is all it really needs.
looking but if you

Room Tip: The suite at the top of the hotel is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danny1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

this was my first stay at the hotel d'angleterre. for the last 40 years i have been staying essentially in this same arrondisement.

i frequently travel to paris alone. this hotel is by far my best selection.

my room was wonderful, roomy, peaceful and the view was indescribable.

all of the staff are warm, helpful, caring and conscientious.

my only problem - the coffee is awful!!!!!!!

i would recommend this hotel to anyone. i do not know if it is the best place for children but that is not for me to decide.

also - Thomas at the front desk is a treasure (i believe he is secretly an angel).

i shall return.

Room Tip: I cannot properly answer this as i had a single room which i requested be facing the courtyard and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alineinoubliab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have been visiting Paris every year for nearly thirty years and this area is by far our favourite in which to stay. Our second stay at this hotel was as satisfactory as the first. It is very Parisian in feel - we do not like bland, characterless establishments - but immaculately clean etc and we have always found all the staff perfectly charming. On this stay we set off for home via the metro, only to find that the train terminated at the next stop. The queue for taxis was huge... we rang the hotel and they arranged for a taxi to be waiting by the time we struggled all the way back to them with our luggage. They could not have been more helpful.
This is a bustling area of small art galleries, interesting shops and many great bars and restaurants. Around the corner from the Boulevard Saint-Germain, the rue Jacob itself is reasonably quiet so that we feel that one has the ideal combination of being in a peaceful setting but still at the centre of things. We appreciate being able to throw open our window and look out and much prefer that to air conditioning!
It's not particularly cheap but it is, we think, excellent value and we will certainly be staying there again. ps as we left an American couple were excitedly photographing the hotel's old wooden outer doors!

Room Tip: We always enjoy being at the front of a hotel in Paris as we like the street scene, but I think othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
1,359 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,302 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This was our third stay in the Angleterre. We enjoy staying on the left bank in Paris and this hotel is in an ideal location. The hotel is in Rue Jacob, which is a nice street. It is very close to Laduree, the famous pastry/macaron shop. This is literally a 2 minute walk from the hotel. You can walk to the Louvre and the Musee D'Orsay and Notre Dame from here. Also Rue Des Arts, which is a nice area for walking around and exploring the local cafe culture is not to far away.

We had a junior suite which overlooks the garden. The location is peaceful and you do not realise that you are in the middle of Paris when you are sitting in the garden. It is nice to have a drink in the garden at the end of a days walking around Paris. The junior suite room is pricey but adequate. However, if you stay in August, you get a 20% discount, which makes it more affordable. It is clean and I would describe it as having typically charming Paris decor. It is not modern. However, for the prices charged, they should have an iron and ironing board in the room and a safe that works.

We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful, whilst not overly familiar. The breakfast consists of croissants, jams, toast, cereals, coffee, tea, and cheese.

This is a charming Parisian hotel in a great location but do not stay here if you are looking for a modern five star full service hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#735 of 1,798 in Paris
308 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#61 of 1,798 in Paris
578 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#647 of 1,798 in Paris
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#1,316 of 1,798 in Paris
3 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#737 of 1,798 in Paris
285 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#759 of 1,798 in Paris
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Address: 44 rue Jacob | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#486 Family Hotel in Paris
#569 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Paris
Hotel d Angleterre
Hotel Dangleterre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing