We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #947 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming with good location”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Had a great stay at Hotel d'Angleterre. The room was very comfortable and the hotel is in an excellent location for good restaurants, museums and walking around the city. Pretty courtyard in the back if you want to relax outside during nice times of year.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    81
    12
    9
    12
See reviews for
49
76
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is the perfect place for a Paris get away, in the best area to access museums, music and all the Paris cultural sites. Hotel d'Angleterre is centuries old and furnished with antiques, but heated and plumbed for modern tastes. We had a marvelously romantic weekend in Suite #51, "the Apartment" on the top floor rear, to which the Hotel upgraded us no charge when we mentioned our Wedding Anniversary. The room is impossibly large for the City, and could not possibly have been more romantic with an antique tub in the corner of the Master Bedroom and other surprises. There is no lift in this wing of the building, but the staff carried our bags and cheerfully ran errands up the 4 or 5 flights.

The breakfast is very European and simple, served in a charming small room or I suppose, weather permitting, in the flowery courtyard.

Don't expect a modern business hotel. If what you are after is a charming Old Paris experience I could not recommend this place more highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are carefully decorated in traditional antique luxury style. Upgrade to any of the Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rémy S, Directeur général at Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion about the hotel.
it was a pleasure to read your review.
Yes room 51 is unusual for this area, it was a pleasure to give you the oportunity to stay in.
We hope to see you very soon in your romantic hotel.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After much research of moderately priced hotels in the St. Germain area, my favorite neighborhood, I chose the d'Angleterre on rue Jacob, just around the corner from St. Germain de Pres cathedral and close to Le Deaux Magots and Cafe Flore. It turned out to be ideal for my three days of wandering before transferring to the Intercontinental Le Grand in the Opera area for two nights prior to beginning a seven day river boat cruise through Provence.

A clean, charming hotel, with open inner courtyard and a lovely breakfast room with fireplace where the buffet was placed around and along the grand piano. Of course my single room was small, plugs for devices limited and required unplugging the lamp along the baseboard behind the desk, while in a contorted position. Next time I'll be sure and bring a mini multi power strip charger. Bathroom was tiny with a hefty climb over the high tub ledge to shower, so beware for those with mobility issues. FYI, no mini fridge but it wasn't a problem as I didn't spend that much time in the room. Laduree on the corner of rue Bonaparte and rue Jacob, just half block away. I loved being able to have my window open into the quiet courtyard. At night an automatic shade can be activated.

Breakfast was included in room rate (I'm a foodie, so this was the deciding factor in choosing to stay here) and very adequate it was with sliced meats, cheeses, baguettes, cereal, yoghurt, juices, fruit, hard boiled eggs, pound cake, bread and toaster, etc.

Desk staff spoke English and were extremely helpful with all my inquiries, particularly Celine. Walking distance to The Cluny, Jardin de Luxembourg, Bon Marche and Monoprix, as well as shops and restaurants all along Blvd. St. Germain.

An ideal location, a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Courtyard view is best for quiet, maybe opt for a superior room for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rémy S, Directeur général at Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion about the hotel.
it was a pleasure to read your review.
Our breakfast comes with the room if you reserve directly with us (official website or telephone and email).
We hope to see you very soon in your favorite area and hotel.
Best Regards,
(from the staff and Celine)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is where Hemingway stayed (and, I believe Ben Franklin may have, too). An elegant small hotel with uniquely quaint rooms. We were in the back and had to climb a winding staircase, but it was worth it. It was amusing to see the toilet in a tiny room by itself at the front of the suite. The shower and sinks were further into the room which was spacious with a sofa, chairs, a coffee table, desk and fireplace.

The location couldn't have been better - district 13 on the left bank, surrounded by excellent restaurants. We were a short walk from the bat-a-bus, a boat taxi, so to speak. I would recommend this for getting around since it stopped at Notre Dame, the Louvre, Champs-Élysées, the Eiffel Tower and the Orsay museum. A daily ticket allows one to get on and off as often as one desires up until 7:00 PM.

About a block from the hotel we observed a restaurant that had lines to get in every night about a half block long. Le Relais de l'Entrecôte - when you finally get in, it is worth the wait.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rémy S, Directeur général at Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion about the hotel.
it was a pleasure to read your review.
You are right Ben Franklin passed by and Hemingway was here in 1921.
Just to corect, we are in the 6th district.
We hope to see you very soon in your historical hotel.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have been visiting Paris for years but had never stayed here. I finally had the pleasure of staying for four nights in October. This is a wonderful place. Beautiful lobby and dining area. The room was perfect and very comfortable. The location is fantastic and the service is excellent. I really enjoyed being at Hotel d'Angleterre and highy recommend this lovely place.

Room Tip: The single room is small but quite adequate for one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Courtney052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rémy S, Directeur général at Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion about the hotel.
it was a pleasure to read your review.
We hope to see you very soon in your lovely hotel.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa,CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We love D'Angleterre as our home away from home. Walking distance to everywhere and great neighborhood dining. We have been coming back for 15 years. The recent renovations have made it a even more comfortable.


Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rémy S, Directeur général at Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion about the hotel.
We hope to see you very soon in your favorite hotel.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hotel D'Angleterre is a wonderful base of operations in the Saint Germain des Pres area of Paris. We stayed in junior suite #49 which is a large quiet room on the courtyard up 2 flights of stairs. The french decorating flair is revealed in the atmospheric beamed ceiling and romantic striped oversize draperies. All done in shades of blue and beige.The staff is simply superb.They gave us non-stop directions and made dinner reservations for us everyday.You are in really good hands here. We were able to walk to the D'Orsay museum, the Seine and other attractions from this location.There are lots of convenient restaurants in the neighborhood too. The breakfast was included and very good and served in a lovely room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are quieter. The junior suite was worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinnaWyckoff_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rémy S, Directeur général at Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion about the hotel.
it was a pleasure to read your review.
if you love room 49 do not hesitate to request it next time.
Room 47 is a similar room too.
We hope to see you very soon in your favorite hotel.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#695 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#67 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#673 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#1,318 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#748 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#744 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Address: 44 rue Jacob | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#485 Family Hotel in Paris
#568 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Paris
Hotel d Angleterre
Hotel Dangleterre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing