We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #898 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed here for a week in April 2013. I had a single room which is relatively compact, but it was roomy enough and exactly what the hotel promised. I would have considered a bigger room, but the hotel is clearly popular and by time I booked only a single room was available.

The room faces the internal courtyard and was very quiet, so I slept very well in the comfortable double bed. The room had a large desk which was very convenient. One thing that was lacking was enough power points, but I asked reception whether they had a powerboard with multiple power points and they quickly delivered one to my room. I found the staff friendly and helpful on all occasions.

The room came with a long narrow bathroom which was very good. It had a nice big bath and plenty of room around the basin. The free WiFi worked well.

The breakfast in the hotel was served in a very beautiful room. with the selections on top of a grand piano! I found the breakfast to be excellent.

The hotel is in an excellent location, not that far to walk to the Louvre. Most nights I walked to the neighbouring Latin Quarter for dinner and I found that an easy stroll. Not that far from the hotel, in Rue de Seine, there was a supermarket, which was great to buy cold drinks on the way back to the hotel before going to dinner or on the way back from dinner.

I would definitely consider staying here again. The only question I would need to answer would be depending on the season, as I do not recall an air-conditioner in the room, which was not an issue while I was there, but not sure how the room would be in the middle of summer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a small quiet hotel on a quiet street. We had a stunning room on the fourth floor with exposed beam ceiling, and a dining table separate from the sleeping area. The staff were unobtrusive and very helpful when needed. Made our stay in Paris just wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was very authentic and has lots of old world charm. Located in a nice part of town within walking distance of Notre Dame, Eiffel Tower, Louvre etc. The rooms are different, we had two: 103 and 121 where 121 was a little better. The yard is wonderful too. This was where Benjamin Franklin wrote part of the US Declaration of independent and Hemingway has stayed here as well.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Copenavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The D'Angleterre is a lovely small hotel in the perfect location - on the left bank but close to the Seine. We had a junior suite which was spacious, very well appointed and comfortable. The large marble bathroom had a shower and a bathtub. Breakfast was included and was very generous.The staff are very accommodating.
This is a 3 star hotel, but at least as nice as 4 star hotels that we have stayed at in this neighborhood. There is no concierge, which would be helpful for recommendations. The hotel is not air conditioned, but we were told it was going to be installed shortly. This was not an issue for us in October.

Room Tip: Loved the junior suite.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bouchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Had a great stay at Hotel d'Angleterre. The room was very comfortable and the hotel is in an excellent location for good restaurants, museums and walking around the city. Pretty courtyard in the back if you want to relax outside during nice times of year.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is the perfect place for a Paris get away, in the best area to access museums, music and all the Paris cultural sites. Hotel d'Angleterre is centuries old and furnished with antiques, but heated and plumbed for modern tastes. We had a marvelously romantic weekend in Suite #51, "the Apartment" on the top floor rear, to which the Hotel upgraded us no charge when we mentioned our Wedding Anniversary. The room is impossibly large for the City, and could not possibly have been more romantic with an antique tub in the corner of the Master Bedroom and other surprises. There is no lift in this wing of the building, but the staff carried our bags and cheerfully ran errands up the 4 or 5 flights.

The breakfast is very European and simple, served in a charming small room or I suppose, weather permitting, in the flowery courtyard.

Don't expect a modern business hotel. If what you are after is a charming Old Paris experience I could not recommend this place more highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are carefully decorated in traditional antique luxury style. Upgrade to any of the Su...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rémy S, Directeur général at Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion about the hotel.
it was a pleasure to read your review.
Yes room 51 is unusual for this area, it was a pleasure to give you the oportunity to stay in.
We hope to see you very soon in your romantic hotel.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After much research of moderately priced hotels in the St. Germain area, my favorite neighborhood, I chose the d'Angleterre on rue Jacob, just around the corner from St. Germain de Pres cathedral and close to Le Deaux Magots and Cafe Flore. It turned out to be ideal for my three days of wandering before transferring to the Intercontinental Le Grand in the Opera area for two nights prior to beginning a seven day river boat cruise through Provence.

A clean, charming hotel, with open inner courtyard and a lovely breakfast room with fireplace where the buffet was placed around and along the grand piano. Of course my single room was small, plugs for devices limited and required unplugging the lamp along the baseboard behind the desk, while in a contorted position. Next time I'll be sure and bring a mini multi power strip charger. Bathroom was tiny with a hefty climb over the high tub ledge to shower, so beware for those with mobility issues. FYI, no mini fridge but it wasn't a problem as I didn't spend that much time in the room. Laduree on the corner of rue Bonaparte and rue Jacob, just half block away. I loved being able to have my window open into the quiet courtyard. At night an automatic shade can be activated.

Breakfast was included in room rate (I'm a foodie, so this was the deciding factor in choosing to stay here) and very adequate it was with sliced meats, cheeses, baguettes, cereal, yoghurt, juices, fruit, hard boiled eggs, pound cake, bread and toaster, etc.

Desk staff spoke English and were extremely helpful with all my inquiries, particularly Celine. Walking distance to The Cluny, Jardin de Luxembourg, Bon Marche and Monoprix, as well as shops and restaurants all along Blvd. St. Germain.

An ideal location, a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Courtyard view is best for quiet, maybe opt for a superior room for more space.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rémy S, Directeur général at Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion about the hotel.
it was a pleasure to read your review.
Our breakfast comes with the room if you reserve directly with us (official website or telephone and email).
We hope to see you very soon in your favorite area and hotel.
Best Regards,
(from the staff and Celine)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#728 of 1,804 in Paris
328 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#620 of 1,804 in Paris
168 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#665 of 1,804 in Paris
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#1,595 of 1,804 in Paris
8 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#713 of 1,804 in Paris
320 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#198 of 1,804 in Paris
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 44 rue Jacob | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#485 Family Hotel in Paris
#568 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £161 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Paris
Hotel d Angleterre
Hotel Dangleterre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing