We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious, helpful staff; super clean with great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #920 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gracious, helpful staff; super clean with great breakfast”
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This is our second stay at Hemmingway's old haunt and we love the location, the helpful staff, generous breakfast spread and that each room is unique. Our first stay was in Room 40, a superior room on the second floor with a nice view of the flower-filled courtyard. This time, we stayed one night on a ground floor room (Room 35 I think) that was quiet but only had a bath tub (we tall Americans need a shower). When we returned to Paris for a longer stay a week later, we were in Room 38, which was a little too close to the courtyard action (we like to sleep with the windows open and we could hear people walking by). The long, narrow room was divided into a cute entry, tiny living room, closet, bedroom and bath with a shower. The hotel is super clean. We have made plans to pay a little extra and return to the superior room next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    84
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
51
82
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We stayed in one of the junior suites overlooking the street. It was very lovely, just as the photos show. Gorgeous large bathroom with all the amenities. The complimentary breakfast in the morning room was a leisurely and elegant way to start the day. The staff was friendly and discreet. The hotel does not have air conditioning, but that was not necessary at all in April. The location was perfect -- in easy walking distance to the Musee D'Orsay and Louvre. Wonderful restaurant at 33 Rue Jacob, right across the street.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emptynesters23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2008

My wife and recently stayed at the Hotel D'Angleterre for a couple of nights. We'd heard about the hotel from friends who'd enjoyed staying here and, having stayed at an uninspired selection of near-by hotels, we decided to give the D'Angleterre a try. We stayed in a suite and were charge Euro 285 / night. The room (No. 46) was dingy (peeling wallpaper) and the furniture and carpets tired. The bathroom was equally grim and the stairway leading up to the room should have been redorated a decade ago. The lobby and the breakfast room were perectly nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor I can only assume that the hotel has some pleasant rooms and some lousy ones. Certainly our room didn't having anything in common whatsoever with the much nicer looking rooms pictured in the hotel lobby. The location is great - but there are any number of cheaper (and equally tired) hotels on or near the Rue Jacob. Save your money - or look for a hotel with greater consistency.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank jkojkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2007

As avid fashion victims, my wife and I love St Germain shopping. The hotel is very convenient to that and to museums as well. Certainly its proximity to Flore and Deux Magots is another asset. The rooms give a feeling of history and connection with why we come to Paris again and again. A charming visit, at worst efficiently commercial, at best an ingenious solution to finding a base in Paris.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
Thank MikieSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

Terrible hotel. Terrible staff. No air conditioning. Expensive room. Breakfast was ok, bathroom was ok, but the service was non existent and the staff very snobby. Typical reaction to Americans, even though we speak perfect French. Probably OK in the off season, if you want to be in the neighborhood. Internet is fee based, expensive.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank gscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2007

Where to start? Wonderful location with eateries, antique shops and within easy walk to The Louvre and Notre Dame. The Manager exuded Gallic charm and the room was relatively luxurious for the price ( not cheap but you do get what you pay for ) Highly recommended!

  • Liked — location and gorgeous courtyard.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julieshabbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2006

In October 2002 I had stayed for the first time on rue Jacob at the Hotel d' Angleterre. There must be something with rue Jacob hotels and me as I just haven't had much luck in my visits (Hotel du Danube on the same street was not a good visit either).

The Angleterre has many repeat guests and there was a time when it was difficult to get a reservation. Maybe it's still that way as I usually book at least 4 to 6 mos. in advance.

This stay I had a deluxe double room which was quite expensive (248 euro at the time) which is in the wing overlooking their courtyard and with just stairs access-the elevator does not service this wing.

First of all the room smelled musty, the pillows reeked of mildew and I doubt they were replaced frequently. The bedroom has a lovely non-working fireplace that was marred by the peeling paint above it. The bathroom was unique, old-fashioned in furnishings, but the bathtub was badly maintained as the faucet was loose and there was mold around the tub; they haphazardly tried to patch it but did a bad job.

The breakfast was a total waste of money at 9 euro (they now offer a free b'fast buffet in the rates) as it was continental; scrambled egg was an additional 3 euro or so and it was badly cooked by the maid who doubled as the cook that morning.

Caveat: The hotel insists on having a personal check made out in your local currency to guarantee your reservation-no credit card guarantees but you can pay with c/c upon checkout. There is a very stiff cancellation policy in effect-the amount being dependent on when you cancel!

Also the desk clerk charged our bill for the .03 euro when we asked him to phone a restaurant to make dinner reservations.

And the hotel has no a/c so that's something to consider if you plan to visit in summertime.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Badly maintained room and bathroom which was overpriced
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a renovated room
  • Stayed September 2002, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank paris_1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#714 of 1,800 in Paris
318 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#685 of 1,800 in Paris
159 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#1,479 of 1,800 in Paris
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#709 of 1,800 in Paris
327 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#643 of 1,800 in Paris
309 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Address: 44 rue Jacob | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#485 Family Hotel in Paris
#568 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Paris
Hotel d Angleterre
Hotel Dangleterre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing