We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmin hotel in a lovely area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #824 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Very close to all the attractions. We like walking and it is easy to get to the Louvre, Notre Dame, Mussee ¨'orsay, the Eiffeltower from this hotel. There is also a Metro station close by and a lot of nice brasseries around the corner. It is an expensive area though, but if you just stay for a couple of nights the location is the most important. The rooms are charming, we had a suite with two bedrooms and a huge bathroom.

A wonderful little open air yard where you can have your breakfast if the weather allows. Breakfast was terrific!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flyhighstaylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2010

This is our second stay at Hemmingway's old haunt and we love the location, the helpful staff, generous breakfast spread and that each room is unique. Our first stay was in Room 40, a superior room on the second floor with a nice view of the flower-filled courtyard. This time, we stayed one night on a ground floor room (Room 35 I think) that was quiet but only had a bath tub (we tall Americans need a shower). When we returned to Paris for a longer stay a week later, we were in Room 38, which was a little too close to the courtyard action (we like to sleep with the windows open and we could hear people walking by). The long, narrow room was divided into a cute entry, tiny living room, closet, bedroom and bath with a shower. The hotel is super clean. We have made plans to pay a little extra and return to the superior room next time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We stayed in one of the junior suites overlooking the street. It was very lovely, just as the photos show. Gorgeous large bathroom with all the amenities. The complimentary breakfast in the morning room was a leisurely and elegant way to start the day. The staff was friendly and discreet. The hotel does not have air conditioning, but that was not necessary at all in April. The location was perfect -- in easy walking distance to the Musee D'Orsay and Louvre. Wonderful restaurant at 33 Rue Jacob, right across the street.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emptynesters23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

My wife and recently stayed at the Hotel D'Angleterre for a couple of nights. We'd heard about the hotel from friends who'd enjoyed staying here and, having stayed at an uninspired selection of near-by hotels, we decided to give the D'Angleterre a try. We stayed in a suite and were charge Euro 285 / night. The room (No. 46) was dingy (peeling wallpaper) and the furniture and carpets tired. The bathroom was equally grim and the stairway leading up to the room should have been redorated a decade ago. The lobby and the breakfast room were perectly nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor I can only assume that the hotel has some pleasant rooms and some lousy ones. Certainly our room didn't having anything in common whatsoever with the much nicer looking rooms pictured in the hotel lobby. The location is great - but there are any number of cheaper (and equally tired) hotels on or near the Rue Jacob. Save your money - or look for a hotel with greater consistency.

Stayed: January 2008
4  Thank jkojkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2007

As avid fashion victims, my wife and I love St Germain shopping. The hotel is very convenient to that and to museums as well. Certainly its proximity to Flore and Deux Magots is another asset. The rooms give a feeling of history and connection with why we come to Paris again and again. A charming visit, at worst efficiently commercial, at best an ingenious solution to finding a base in Paris.

Stayed: April 2006
Thank MikieSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2007

Terrible hotel. Terrible staff. No air conditioning. Expensive room. Breakfast was ok, bathroom was ok, but the service was non existent and the staff very snobby. Typical reaction to Americans, even though we speak perfect French. Probably OK in the off season, if you want to be in the neighborhood. Internet is fee based, expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank gscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

Where to start? Wonderful location with eateries, antique shops and within easy walk to The Louvre and Notre Dame. The Manager exuded Gallic charm and the room was relatively luxurious for the price ( not cheap but you do get what you pay for ) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julieshabbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#85 of 1,803 in Paris
711 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#754 of 1,803 in Paris
333 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#492 of 1,803 in Paris
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#693 of 1,803 in Paris
329 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
#690 of 1,803 in Paris
327 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Millesime Hotel
Millesime Hotel
#328 of 1,803 in Paris
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 44 rue Jacob | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#484 Family Hotel in Paris
#567 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £157 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Paris
Hotel d Angleterre
Hotel Dangleterre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing