We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Difference the Hotel Artus Can Make”
Review of Artus Hotel by MH

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Artus Hotel by MH
Ranked #102 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

When we walked through the embracing glass doors of the Hotel Artus, we felt as if we were with friends we didn't know we had in Paris. The Hotel Artus and their very professional Chef Concierge, Sanjay Kaloya, helped make our first trip to Paris a memorable and enjoyable one. Even before we left the U.S., Sanjay had made reservations for us at the restaurant, Fermette Marbeuf. He found us tickets to the Eifel Tower, had Metro tickets we could buy in the lobby, and reserved a night tour of Paris for us, He suggested places to picnic, restaurants with delicious menus and advised us on what to wear. Whenever we entered the lobby, he greeted us by name. And he wasn't the only person on staff who was so helpful and friendly. Everyone was there to help us, from attending to the temperature in our room to explaining the bill.

They offer a petit dejeuner that could satisfy any appetite, with a wide selection of breads, fruits, cheeses, meats, cereals, yogurt, cottage cheese, eggs, jams, juices, and other beverages. I thought petit meant small, but this breakfast buffet was not at all petite.

The rooms were clean, modern and filled with thoughtful necessities, like big fluffy towels, a magnifying mirror and mini emery boards.. The duvets and pillows were fluffy and.so comfortable.

We felt we had fallen into the lap of luxury at the Hotel Artus. We would return there and would recommend it to everyone.

Karen Wade

Room Tip: I had a room with a street view on the 2nd floor (U.S.A. 3rd floor).
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oregonteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Oregonteacher,

Thank you so much for this very exciting review.
It is so nice to know that we managed to make your stay in Paris special and unforgettable.
Yes, our Team knows how to organise your stay in a best way and I am very grateful to them !
We hope to see you at the Artus Hotel again and again.

We remain at your disposal for any assistance needed,

Best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for Artus Hotel by MH
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great St. Germain (6th Arr.) location. Endless cafe choices just out the door. A few minor issues arose during our stay but Sanjay, the wonderful concierge, quickly resolved them and generously provided a complimentary bottle of champagne as an apology. Easy walk to everywhere with endless streets to explore. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The newly remodeled rooms are small but nice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billyspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear BillySpeed,

It is so good to know that you had nevertheless a great time in Paris and that you chose us for this break.
We are so glad that you found great Saint Germain des Près location. It is true that it is one of the best places to discover Paris.

Thank you very much for your nice words! We look forward to seeing you again!

With my kind regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Like most people, we spent hours researching hotels and I must say, we made the right choice. The Artus is perfect in so many ways.

Starting with the amazing location. This hotel is in the heart of the 6th and close to restaurants, shopping, bars and the Metro. You can walk to most of the sites from here.

The room was quite small as you know from the other reviews. But, it was well laid out and it didn't bother us. We faced the main road which we prefer, but if you enjoy a more quiet experience, ask for a different view. My only suggestion for the room is to bring some hangers as 4 didn't quite cut it.

The best part of this hotel is Sanjay, no doubt. He is amazing. He can get you anywhere, explain everything and pretty much do it all. He is such an asset to this hotel.

Tips...
-Walk around this neighborhood. There is so much.
-Cross St. Germain and walk around that neighborhood. Higher end stores.
-It is safe to walk around and take the Metro at night. We weren't sure, but had zero issues.
-I heard the breakfast at the hotel is good, but if you are like us and prefer to venture out, there are plenty of places within 2 minutes of the hotel. We had croissants many mornings at Paul. Walk out the front door and go left.

We loved it and will definitely be back the the Artus!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SKS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear SKS4,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! I am thrilled to hear our team made your stay memorable.

It sounds like our location was perfect for your trip to Paris and that our service made your stay unforgettable.

I hope you’ll join us again soon for another great stay.

Best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We arrived for 4 nights; the "superior room" we were first given was unbelievably small. The outside temp was 34 degrees C and the air con did not work - this is the same situation as described on August 2012 on your reviews (A whole year ago!!).

We arrived Saturday and were fed a story that the aircon had just broken and would be repaired on Monday. On Sunday afternoon I demanded we be moved to another room or
another hotel. They gave us another room on Monday and our stay from then was quite
OK BUT I overheard a couple who arrived on the Monday and were given our old room
complaining about the aircon not working!! Obviously the desk are instructed to feed this fantasy story to visitors and the aircon just doesn't work EVER in these rooms. Also the queen size mattress in the original room was flattened on one side and you tended to roll out of bed if you slept on that side. I reported this but nothing was done - I had to prop spare pillows under the edge of the mattress to save from rolling out of bed during the night! THIS IN A SUPPOSED BOUTIQUE LUXURY HOTEL at 350 Euro a night! What a joke! Also the mystical Sanjay was also supposedly on holidays (I suspect this may be really: no longer works here!). I grant that the desk staff were young and very friendly but are obviously let down by poor management.

We have seriously stayed in better hotels in country districts in Australia.
Absolutely cannot understand some of the rave reviews on your site! Yes, it did have location BUT........ A really disappointing experience for us! I could NOT recommend this hotel to anyone in case they got the room we were first given!

Room Tip: Do NOT take rooms where you need to travel up the very tiny lift!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We have taken good note of all your comments and would like to apologize for all the inconvenience caused.

I'm convinced that your negative perception of your room unfortunately corresponds to an accumulation of facts that have marred it by your stay and be assured that we are really sorry that we did not meet your expectation.

In order to restore your faith and trust in our property, I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again and that you will give us the opportunity to change your perception of us.

Concerning our concierge, Sanjay, as my colleague told you, he was on vacation. Rest assured that he is still part of the Artus Hotel !

Please contact me directly for your next stay in Paris, I will be happy to personally take care of your reservation.

Yours sincerely,

Romain Binet – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the Artus Hotel for the weekend and had a brilliant time. We were looking for a boutique hotel with a good location and we chose perfectly. The hotel itself is on the Rue de Buci in the 6th Arr in the Latin Quarter. As you walk out of the hotel, turn left and there are the most wonderful streets filled with character, french atmosphere and superb restaurants, cafés and bars. 5 mins through these streets and you come face to face with Notre Dame. It was wonderful. Very conveniently situated by the Mabillion Metro station.

The hotel itself is wonderful. The rooms are small but we were expecting this being the centre of Paris. The layout was well planned and the bathroom and especially the huge shower area was super.

Unfortunately we didn't have a view at all and the lift was broken.

Sanjay and his team were exceptionally helpful throughout our stay. Helping with directions, finding me plasters and supplying us with plenty of tea bags!! Thank you to the staff, you are a credit to the hotel.

We also had breakfast and it was delicious. So pleased we upgraded to the breakfast at the last minute.

We took in the sites and if I was to give one bit of advice, it would be to not bother with the queues at the Eiffel Tower, instead go up the Tour Montparnasse at night and view Paris with the Eiffel Tower straight in front of you and no queuing for 2 hours!!
My favourite afternoon was spent at the Sacre Coeur, sitting at a cafe in the square and watching the entertainers whilst drinking wine!

Had a wonderful weekend and a fabulous stay at the Artus Hotel.


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cln27a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Greatings from the Artus Hotel,

Thank you for such an amazing review. I am thrilled to hear you had such a great stay with us. It is always wonderful to know that our friendly team members made someone’s stay unforgettable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

My best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our first stay at this property was for our honeymoon, over 17 years ago. It had a different name and has been renovated at least once (maybe twice) since then. Those are the only things that have changed...service, cleanliness, and comfort have not. We have stayed in only a handful of other Paris hotels over the years (and only went the Artus was booked full), and keep coming back to the Artus.

My husband and I stayed there this past weekend, and loved it just as much. Key things: breakfast every morning, which you can have delivered to your room, concierge service by Sanjay (the best I have ever seen anywhere), comfortable beds. Oh, and the fabulous location in the middle of everything!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Jennifer,

Wow – thank you for such a great review! It sounds like your stay was truly memorable as 17 years ago and I am thrilled you still visited us ! I have shared your review with our team and I am so happy our exceptional service made all the difference in your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon.

My very best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Although classic room was on the small side, as may be expected in Paris, the overall experience was very good. Location could not be better, close to many super restaurants and the best museums, etc. Metro station was about a block or two away. The Artus has a real bar with a good selection and cozy atmosphere. And Sanjay, the concierge, was very helpful, even before we arrived. Will definitely come back but likely to a larger room.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Jose,

I am thrilled to hear your stay at the Artus Hotel was great. It sounds like you really enjoyed our prime location and comfortable bar. I have shared your wonderful compliments with our team and we cannot wait to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#85 of 1,804 in Paris
763 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#75 of 1,804 in Paris
670 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#84 of 1,804 in Paris
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#104 of 1,804 in Paris
1,085 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#106 of 1,804 in Paris
386 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#125 of 1,804 in Paris
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artus Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artus Hotel by MH

Address: 34 rue de Buci | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Paris
#70 Business Hotel in Paris
#71 Family Hotel in Paris
#81 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#99 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £153 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Artus Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the Artus Hotel revisits the 1950's style. This 4-star boutique hotel on the Left Bank is a tribute to contemporary art. This hotel with 26 rooms including an Exclusive Suite and a Duplex Suite has a decidedly modern interior, featuring all the pop colours of the Fifties. Reflecting its close association with Jacques Tati films, the decade brings fun and frivolous touches to Artus Hotel. Straight-backed chairs, wooden chests of drawers and small, brightly coloured pieces of furniture are part of the charm of this contemporary architecture. Lovers of art and design will make the Artus Hotel their home from home in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artus Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artus Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing