We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for location and service”
Review of Artus Hotel by MH

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Artus Hotel by MH
Ranked #101 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have stayed here end of May 2014. I've been to Paris times and I can say the location and service at this hotel make it a great value. If you are a first timer in Paris - yes, rooms are far smaller than in the US. Yes - beds are smaller too. I don't come for the hotels, I want location and this one is great. There are many cafés on the same street. I enjoyed dinner in many very good to the very best restaurants and walked to them all. Sanjay the concierge did all my reservations and was most helpful. Clean, functional, and service with a smile - I had a great stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Jack,

Our team will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you for sharing your experience !

Best regards,
Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The staff and the location make this hotel. It is located within easy walking distance of Le Louvre, Notre Dame etc. With a plethora of cafes and restaurants just outside the door. We didn't get to meet the much praised Sanjay but he had already sorted out our transport to and from the airport on the Paris shuttle (well worth using). All of the other staff were extremely polite and very helpful, with directions, recommendations and restaurant bookings. The only thing which let down the hotel was the very tired room which we were in. Room 101 on the ground floor is clearly not one of the rooms which has been refurbished but it was comfortable. I would request a refurbished room on a higher floor as the noise when preparing for breakfast does wake you from 6 a.m onwards. We ate breakfast in one of the cafes just down the road which was considerably cheaper than the hotel and very nice and fresh. One restaurant recommendation was excellent (MonteVerdi, French/Italian a two minute walk away) and the other not so (Le Petit Cour, French, over priced and bland). I would definitely recommend this hotel and Paris. We found it a very friendly and interesting place.

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor and request a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dera CCandH,

It was our pleasure to welcome you for your getaway.

We hope to share these on your next stay and look forward to seeing you again. We apologize if our rooms did not meet your expectations.

We thank you for bringing your experience our attention and we hope future concerns could be assisted during a stay.

Best regards,
Grégoire Bethelot - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a wonderful little hotel on the Rue de Buci, just off the Blvd Ste. Germaine. Within walking distance to almost everything. Nice rooms, great breakfast, but most of all an absolutely amazing staff. We were made to feel special from the moment we checked in to our 4:30 AM checkout 6 days later.
Sanjay, the concierge was awesome! He was able to secure for us tickets to a sunset Vivaldi concert at San Chappelle, amazing! He also recommended several great restaurants. Don't miss Pouic Pouic or L'Epigramme!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonGrampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for thoroughly enjoying our hotel !

We are pleased to know your room had everything you hoped for your vacation. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with easily accessible and clear information ! Our Front Desk staff is happy and eager to point out all local attractions.

We welcome you to stop in and visit with them on your next stay ! We hope to welcome you back soon !

Best regards,
Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights, as the grand finale of our France vacation. During our trip, we stayed at a lot of great places (some over the top great), so perhaps our "ho-hum" attitude about this hotel has more to do with how grand the other places were in comparison. (Like the question, "are you tall?" Well, depends who you are standing next to) The location is perfect. The rooms are modern, and clean. Nice "artsy" decor. (My husband said he felt as if he were in a Finious and Ferb cartoon -- not bad, just a descriptor) Loved the shower (big, double headed - overhead rain, plus hand-held shower head). Yes, the room is small, but this is Paris. You don't really spend time in the room in this town. The only pause I have is about the bar. It was closed for two of the days we were there -- and the "self service, honor bar" was in the lobby but not open. Couldn't figure that out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BARLEYthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Barley,

We thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We do take our feedback seriously and are happy you shared your service experience so that we may improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were on the 3rd floor and although the room was small, it was well organized with a nice bathroom and comfortable bed. Breakfast off the lobby was more than satisfactory and the staff was very helpful, especially the concierge Sanjay who expertly arranged our dining reservations.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor and up are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear George,

Thank you for letting us know how much you value our cleanliness, service, amenities and location. We are delighted you found the experience you’ve been searching for - we can’t wait to see you again !

Regards,
Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had 3 nights in Paris and were excited. We arrived at the hotel and after check in were shown to the lift which just had enough room for us and our luggage (2 bags). Concierge couldn't fit in the lift and didn't join us. And then it began - the room was tiny! And the bathroom/bedroom were open plan - no privacy which came as a surprise. We wouldn't have stayed there if that was common knowledge. Also the bed was a double and not a queen size as they advertise. Had a challenging night and asked the concierge (Sanjay) in the morning about the small bed. He claimed all rooms were the same and they were Queensize. Not where we come from they're not!!

So realising we were fighting a losing battle we conceded and went out exploring Paris. The hotel's location is fabulous. It is close to everything. Sanjay did help us with a lunch cruise on the River Seine which I would highly recommend. Overall a good and bad experience. I am led to believe that most Paris hotel rooms are tiny but for the price we paid (400 Euro's per night) we could have booked a double room suite at the Grand Hyatt in most cities in the world!! So next time we're in Paris, we won't be staying at the Artus Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Knills,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. I am so sorry to hear that you felt disapointed with your stay.

We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service and I am disappointed to hear that you did not experience that.

If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, please contact me anytime at info@hmhparis.com

Regards,
Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is so good, that I am afraid to recommend it, because in Paris, every time that I find a nice hotel, the next time that I want to repeat it is unaffordabble!. The location is prime, the staff is amazing, clean, beautiful spaces, nice breakfast, really confortable beds. Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose A. A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Jose,

We are delighted to know that our service has made such an impression. Thank you for your kind words – We know it is important to feel welcome and at home.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#93 of 1,803 in Paris
795 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#142 of 1,803 in Paris
782 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#115 of 1,803 in Paris
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#119 of 1,803 in Paris
1,119 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#96 of 1,803 in Paris
410 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Academie Hotel Saint Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artus Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artus Hotel by MH

Address: 34 rue de Buci | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Paris
#69 Business Hotel in Paris
#71 Family Hotel in Paris
#78 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#99 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £137 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Artus Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the Artus Hotel revisits the 1950's style. This 4-star boutique hotel on the Left Bank is a tribute to contemporary art. This hotel with 26 rooms including an Exclusive Suite and a Duplex Suite has a decidedly modern interior, featuring all the pop colours of the Fifties. Reflecting its close association with Jacques Tati films, the decade brings fun and frivolous touches to Artus Hotel. Straight-backed chairs, wooden chests of drawers and small, brightly coloured pieces of furniture are part of the charm of this contemporary architecture. Lovers of art and design will make the Artus Hotel their home from home in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artus Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artus Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing