We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atypical experience”
Review of Artus Hotel by MH

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Artus Hotel by MH
Ranked #101 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Atypical experience”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

An atypical experience worth recounting. We had had a memorable stay at this hotel Under a different name some years ago and wanted to return. So I made a reservation directly with the hotel over a month before checking in. When we arrived in mid-afternoon, we were told we'd been upgraded. The "upgrade" to the only room on the highest level was as up as you could go, including a bathroom one story above the top-floor room. The room smelled bad! We rejected the "upgrade", asked for a different room and were told there were none. We were offered a room at a nearby sister hotel, the Madison, and were escorted there with our luggage by an Artus staff member, where we enjoyed an excellent stay. The Artus manager wrote me immediately, explaining that the odor problem was known but unsolved, and offering a night in a superior room with breakfast included.

Had we been assigned a different room at the Artus, I would probably be writing a positive review. My recommendation--specify that you do not want the room on the top floor! Get it in writing that the hotel accepts your refusal. That room should be taken out of their inventory!

Room Tip: Absolutely refuse the room at the very top of the hotel! It has an unsolvable bad odor and a bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank 2francophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear 2-francophile,

Thank you so much for your comment and thank you for taking the time to post it We are very sorry for the inconvenience we caused you during your stay at the Artus Hotel. We are reassured your stay at the Madison Hotel still pleased you! Please know, along with the Artus Hotel and the Madison Hotel, we also have three other hotels in Paris (the Terrass Hotel in Montmartre, the Bourgogne & Montana in the 7th district, near to the National Assembly)!!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our hotels!

Best regards;
Grégoire Berthelot – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    215
    45
    17
    10
See reviews for
130
506
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Just returning from a 4 night stay at this hotel. We are a family of four that stayed in the top floor family suite. The room was spacious for Paris and this location, more like 2 rooms, each with a bathroom!! The bed was very comfortable with wonderful bedding. Kids room had a sofa bed, not the best quality but kids did not complain. The staff is fabulous, always smiling and willing to help. Everthing good you hear about Sanjay his staff and the hotel is true! Definately recommend!

Helpful?
Thank 7Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Christian,

Your nice comment is very important to us. We are very happy to know that you are pleased with your stay, with the quality of the service and with our rooms! We make service a higher priority, so be sure that your positive feedback will be shared with our teams.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Artus Hotel,

Sincerely,

Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Last week was my second stay at the Artus Hotel in Paris. The last time was in 2006, and since then, I think the bathrooms have been updated even more so (they were nice at the time). The staff are friendly and helpful, the location is ideal, and the shower is to die for.

Room Tip: I was right by the elevator which made me nervous at first, but I did not hear a thing either night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Travel-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Travel - Travel

It was our pleasure to assist in making everyone comfortable – We know it is important to enjoying a vacation and always appreciate when our guests let us know how to make a stay great.

So glad you discovered us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you for sharing your experience!

Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here end of May 2014. I've been to Paris times and I can say the location and service at this hotel make it a great value. If you are a first timer in Paris - yes, rooms are far smaller than in the US. Yes - beds are smaller too. I don't come for the hotels, I want location and this one is great. There are many cafés on the same street. I enjoyed dinner in many very good to the very best restaurants and walked to them all. Sanjay the concierge did all my reservations and was most helpful. Clean, functional, and service with a smile - I had a great stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Jack,

Our team will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you for sharing your experience !

Best regards,
Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The staff and the location make this hotel. It is located within easy walking distance of Le Louvre, Notre Dame etc. With a plethora of cafes and restaurants just outside the door. We didn't get to meet the much praised Sanjay but he had already sorted out our transport to and from the airport on the Paris shuttle (well worth using). All of the other staff were extremely polite and very helpful, with directions, recommendations and restaurant bookings. The only thing which let down the hotel was the very tired room which we were in. Room 101 on the ground floor is clearly not one of the rooms which has been refurbished but it was comfortable. I would request a refurbished room on a higher floor as the noise when preparing for breakfast does wake you from 6 a.m onwards. We ate breakfast in one of the cafes just down the road which was considerably cheaper than the hotel and very nice and fresh. One restaurant recommendation was excellent (MonteVerdi, French/Italian a two minute walk away) and the other not so (Le Petit Cour, French, over priced and bland). I would definitely recommend this hotel and Paris. We found it a very friendly and interesting place.

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor and request a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dera CCandH,

It was our pleasure to welcome you for your getaway.

We hope to share these on your next stay and look forward to seeing you again. We apologize if our rooms did not meet your expectations.

We thank you for bringing your experience our attention and we hope future concerns could be assisted during a stay.

Best regards,
Grégoire Bethelot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a wonderful little hotel on the Rue de Buci, just off the Blvd Ste. Germaine. Within walking distance to almost everything. Nice rooms, great breakfast, but most of all an absolutely amazing staff. We were made to feel special from the moment we checked in to our 4:30 AM checkout 6 days later.
Sanjay, the concierge was awesome! He was able to secure for us tickets to a sunset Vivaldi concert at San Chappelle, amazing! He also recommended several great restaurants. Don't miss Pouic Pouic or L'Epigramme!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonGrampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for thoroughly enjoying our hotel !

We are pleased to know your room had everything you hoped for your vacation. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with easily accessible and clear information ! Our Front Desk staff is happy and eager to point out all local attractions.

We welcome you to stop in and visit with them on your next stay ! We hope to welcome you back soon !

Best regards,
Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights, as the grand finale of our France vacation. During our trip, we stayed at a lot of great places (some over the top great), so perhaps our "ho-hum" attitude about this hotel has more to do with how grand the other places were in comparison. (Like the question, "are you tall?" Well, depends who you are standing next to) The location is perfect. The rooms are modern, and clean. Nice "artsy" decor. (My husband said he felt as if he were in a Finious and Ferb cartoon -- not bad, just a descriptor) Loved the shower (big, double headed - overhead rain, plus hand-held shower head). Yes, the room is small, but this is Paris. You don't really spend time in the room in this town. The only pause I have is about the bar. It was closed for two of the days we were there -- and the "self service, honor bar" was in the lobby but not open. Couldn't figure that out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARLEYthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Barley,

We thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We do take our feedback seriously and are happy you shared your service experience so that we may improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#77 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#71 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#151 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#108 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#99 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artus Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artus Hotel by MH

Property: Artus Hotel by MH
Address: 34 rue de Buci | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Paris
#70 Business Hotel in Paris
#71 Family Hotel in Paris
#78 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#99 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Artus Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the Artus Hotel revisits the 1950's style. This 4-star boutique hotel on the Left Bank is a tribute to contemporary art. This hotel with 26 rooms including an Exclusive Suite and a Duplex Suite has a decidedly modern interior, featuring all the pop colours of the Fifties. Reflecting its close association with Jacques Tati films, the decade brings fun and frivolous touches to Artus Hotel. Straight-backed chairs, wooden chests of drawers and small, brightly coloured pieces of furniture are part of the charm of this contemporary architecture. Lovers of art and design will make the Artus Hotel their home from home in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Artus Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artus Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing