We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable hotel in great location, but very busy street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Ranked #148 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Serviceable hotel in great location, but very busy street”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This hotel is adequate. The beds are comfortable, the linens are good, the location is very convenient for so many things, and it is good value in Paris. My initial room was between the ground and first floor. You reached it from a very small landing partway up the stairs from the lobby to the first floor. It was hard to get the door open or get your suitcase in. When you did, you entered a narrow hallway with the bathtub on your right and several stairs up to a second door that opened to the bedroom. That room had a very low ceiling with one half window on either end that were close to the floor. The front window looks out on Rue Saint Peres which is a very busy and noisy street, so you really can't have that window open. The room was nicely appointed, but gave me claustrophobia. I stayed there just one night, then went off for the weekend. I asked for another room on my return and was given gave one on the second floor at the back. It was fine, much quieter with normal height ceilings, but very plain and quite dark. The personnel were somewhat friendly. They did make me a hair appointment at a good local place on the next street, but they did not seem that knowledgeable. The breakfast was quite ordinary. I think there are better rooms, so I will try again.

Room Tip: Do not take the room that is between the ground and first floor in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    139
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
62
215
43
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Right in the heart of St. Germain, close to Bd St. Germain, Rue du Four etc. Nice comfortable traditional hotel, On walking distance from the shopping district , famous cafés and good restaurants. Pleasant staff, value for money!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roeland b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My wife and I spent two days at this little hotel. It is conveniently located to many Paris attractions (you can walk to Notre Dame, boat tours, several museums, shopping, etc. Our room was small as are many European hotels but everything it included was first class. Great showers, nice beds, free wifi, etc.

What really set this hotel apart though was the service, in particular that offered by Angela at the front desk. I travel a great deal for work and Angela's knowledge of Paris attractions, how to get there, where to eat, lugging heavy suitcases (not required, but she was right there to pick them up) was outstanding. Her knowledge was a huge contrast to a far pricier hotel we had just used in London where no one at the hotel seemed to know where anything was (even if it was a couple of blocks away) and couldn't even commit to when our room would be ready. As a final example, when my wife's knee was damaged and she was in severe pain, Angela arranged for a doctor to visit us in the hotel who arrived within 60 minutes. Three prescriptions later we were able to complete our vacation.

Although I have mentioned Angela by name, the entire staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was my fifth business stay at the Hotel des Saints-Peres. My room was a double with a courtyard view – nice and quiet. It had everything I required for a brief business stay – adequate breakfast; free wifi and comfortable bed. The TV was pretty poor and the bathroom rather dated; but these are small quibbles. The location is excellent and staff friendly - ideal for the tourist and adequate for the short stay business traveller.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsandyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a very nice traditional hotel located just off St. Germaine and about a 15 minute stroll from the Louvre. My top-floor room was quite large by Paris standards and overlooked the courtyard, so it was very quiet. A modern bathroom was set off with a traditional bedroom, and most every amenity you could want was here. The only available iron was down in the basement with the laundry, but the concierge had no problem with me using it during the evening. I was a business trip of only one night, so I did not have much time to explore, but I'd be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

It's a very good hotel in Paris and worth the price. It's well located (walk distance to the St Germain best area- cafes/bar/restaurants), very great service and charming "antique" rooms. The suite consists of a spacious room, with living room, large bathroom and bedroom. It's so clean and fitted with everything you need. Old/classic Decoration.

There is a nice terrace/garden in the hotel's lobby as well (I really liked it). Breakfast is very good too. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renatites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Quite high prices but very unique hotel on old apartment. Antique rooms. Good brekfast. Clean and comfortable. Just 1 minute way from st.germain shopping stores and 10 minute from notte dame/louvre by walk

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donjohnsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#92 of 1,802 in Paris
429 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#72 of 1,802 in Paris
632 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#86 of 1,802 in Paris
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#87 of 1,802 in Paris
904 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#178 of 1,802 in Paris
767 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#107 of 1,802 in Paris
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France

Property: Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Address: 65 rue des Saints Peres, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Paris
#110 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#207 Family Hotel in Paris
#214 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Saints Peres Hotel
Hotel Des Saints Peres
Saints Peres Hotel
Saint Peres Hotel Paris
Hotel Des Saint Peres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing