We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“72 Mazarine appartment...Incredible!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain
Ranked #87 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Where to begin? We were greeted warmly by Sandrine at the hotel prior to our transfer to the appartment. She facilitated the transfer to the appartment and Kazi accompanied us and was so courteous as he helped us with our luggage up to the appartment. The appartment was fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A very modern renovation that works perfectly with the historic setting of the beams and building. Having the spacious living and combined kitchen area to first enjoy a light breakfast then to relax with a late night drink was perfect. My wife loved the master bedroom's bathroom...so luxurious. The location is incredible. A two minute walk to the bakery every morning for fresh croissants and quiche. There is a small but complete grocery store just across the street from the bakery. At night we also enjoyed a nightcap at each of the two cafes at the corner, once again only yards from our doorway. I would highly recommend the Jacobine restaurant also only 3-4 minute walk and the Regalade Sain-Honore restaurant near the Louvre. We were only an 10-15 minute walk to Notre Dame and similar to the Louvre. The perfect location for a Paris visit. From my first contact with Sandrine to our departure, luggage handling and return of our security deposit by Kazui I could not be more pleased. The service we received, the luxury accommodations and location of the appartment far exceeded our expectations! Thank you Sandrine and Kazi. I can assure you we will be back many more times in the years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Built into a 17th century historic building, but the amenities and courtesy are all 100% modern. The staff makes you feel like family, in a good way. You're taken care of, and if you need something, just ask. Adapters for the outlets, a computer to use, are all available. Small rooms. Big service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 114BobB114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

If you are looking for a small boutique hotel for a lovely stay in Paris, for a reasonable fee, Hotel Verneuil is the place for you. It felt like staying in a home, instead of a sterile impersonal hotel. The location is wonderful, a few blocks walk to the Louvre and Orsay museum. Charming cafes on surrounding streets. All very quiet, just like in a post card. We also walked to Notre Dame and the Latin Quarter with no problem. The walk to the Eiffel Tower was perhaps an hour, but it is all flat streets and you see many of the sights of Paris to and fro.

I took the advice of previous reviewers and booked a club room. Everything is renovated and new. The room is on the small side, but if you will only use it for sleeping, more than enough room. The bathroom is modern and clean.

We booked the breakfast, which was delicious and plentiful. All of the staff is helpful and friendly. The waitress at the breakfast cave was very accommodating.

I feel that this property is four stars based on the value, location, and service given. Of course it is not the Ritz, so please keep that in mind. It is more of an inn or bed and breakfast experience.

One word of caution is the elevator, which has been mentioned in previous reviews. If you have mobility issues, this is not the property for you. It is a restored antique building, and you need to walk up a spiral staircase to reach the elevator. Also there is no elevator to take you down to the cellar breakfast room. There is one room on the first floor level that you can book. But you need to be aware before booking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nnonon, Directeur général at Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your time and detailed comment further to your stay at Hotel Verneuil !

I am so pleased to hear that you have find your "home away from home" this is what we intend to offer for our guests, and many of our regular visitors are coming for over 10 years !

I would like to remind here that the Ritz is now a PALACE, and that the new rating of hotels in Paris including 5 stars and Palace ratings.
So we are very proud of our 4 star rating, and do our best to offer the best 4* service !

Looking forward to welcoming you back the soonest !
best regards
Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I searched and searched for an apartment for our Paris stay and finally decided on this one. I rented it through Escalea.com and did not know it was associated with the Hotel Verneuil until close to our arrival date. Everything from the rental contract to our services when we arrived and departed were perfectly handled. The contact for the apartment, Sandrine, was always quick to answer my numerous questions which made me feel confident we had selected the right choice. Much to our delight, Kazi from the hotel, greeted us at the apartment upon our arrival and offered to carry all of our luggage. He also picked up our luggage on the day of our departure and delivered it to the hotel for a later pick-up. Thank you Kazi!

No, there is not an elevator and there are 78 stairs (yes, we counted!) but it was not a problem and just added to the adventure! When you reach the top and open the door, you are greeted with an immaculately clean and beautifully decorated and appointed apartment. Our family of 5 (including 3 teens) was very comfortable there and sometimes it was hard to get everyone out the door! The apartment had everything we needed and the fresh fruit and chilled water bottles were an extra special touch.

Sometimes photos make things look bigger or better, but I can assure you, the photos you see on the website accurately depict this beautiful space!! Once you leave the apartment, you are surrounded by many dining choices and the close proximity to metro stops or short walk to many great sites makes it a convenient location. I would recommend this apartment to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nnonon, Directeur général at Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Guests,
thank you for your time in writing this review further to your stay at Appartement Mazarine !
Yes, I know, the 4 floors walking up is a bit of hard time, but I feel the same everytime when I am arriving and opening the door !
Just a place where you feel so good !

It is a real pleasure for us to ensure that everything is going on well for your visit in Paris.
We know how important a hollday is !

Best regards
Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Have spent the night in many hotels in Paris, but this was the best hotel so far. The location and atmosphere of the hotel are great. In a quiet street in Saint Germain des Pres, close to lovely restaurants and shops and just across the bridge from the Louvre. The standard room is small (as are all hotel rooms in Paris) but with a great bed & bedding, lovely bathroom (with L’Occitane products – always nice) and very clean. Price / quality ratio is also good. Service at the front desk was great. They referred us to a nice bistro around the corner and we weren’t disappointed. Hardly want to recommend this hotel as I am afraid they will be fully booked next time I want to go. ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctg004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My son had spent a year in Europe as an exchange student, and we decided to take him on a 2 week tour at the end of his stay. We visited Amsterdam, Antwerpen, Bruges, Brussels, London, Paris, Luxembourg and Liege, Belgium. We spent a lot of time researching hotels and chose many, many good ones (thanks to Trip Advisor!) However, Hotel Verneuil was the absolute best hotel we stayed in!

It was my son's 18th birthday, and we mentioned this to Sandrine when booking our room. Much to our pleased surprise, when we arrived on 7 July 2013, she greeted us by name and wished our son a happy birthday. The check in area feels like a pleasant study with comfortable seating, and our room was immediately ready. The hotel feels like a posh townhome, with gorgeous decor and a wonderful windy staircase. Even the room key is lovely: old fashioned brass with a large number plate and even a tassel attached.The lift is on the first floor and took us up to our 5th floor, air-conditioned room. Big plus to have A/C in Europe, especially during their unprecedented 85 degree F heat wave during our visit.

Our room was beautifully appointed with super comfortable beds and pillows, luxurious bathroom with hair dryer, tasteful stone tile and a great shower with constant hot water and good water pressure. We immediately left to begin walking around. When we returned hours later, hot and tired, we found a delicious large macaroon waiting for us in our room, decorated with 'Happy Birthday' and a card from the staff. My son was both touched and thrilled - Sandrine told us it was from the boulangerie Eric Kayser a few streets over, and we made it a point to eat there often.

We stayed just a short 2 nights, and could not have had a more warm, pleasant or comfortable stay. Hotel Verneuil made our first trip to Paris perfect! Sandrine went out of her way to recommend cafes, points of interest, and even currency exchanges within walking distance. We felt like we were staying with friends, and cannot wait to return. We are already planning our next trip to Paris, and you can be sure we will stay at Hotel Verneuil again. It's right in the center of everything we wanted to see, just 2 blocks from the Seine and a 10 minute walk to the Louvre. We used the St. Germain de Pres Metro stop, and it was a quick and scenic walk from our hotel.

Two days after our stay, my son realized he had lost his camera with all the pics of his Europe stay. We called Sandrine, and she let us know that they'd found it and would immediately mail it to our home in the US. Such amazing service - just another example of how well Hotel Verneuil takes care of its guests.

I can think of no better place to call home when in Paris. The room rates are extremely reasonable and we had everything we needed and more than we expected. Because of Hotel Verneuil, Paris has become our favorite destination. We felt extremely welcomed and pampered. This hotel should be rated #1 in Paris - the street is quiet and lovely, and just steps from everything. We love it!

Thanks, Sandrine, from Beth and Alexander - you went above and beyond for us. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C and be sure to let the staff know of any special occasions or needs you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nnonon, Directeur général at Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Beth, Dear Alexander,
I can say your name as you have signed ! But I would have known it was you anyway !

I would like to dearly thank you so much for this wonderful review !
It was just a pleasure to have you here with us.
And this special trip for your son, celebrating is 18th birthday is something important enough in your both lifes so that we pay special attention to details (such as the macaroons)

I hope you have received the camera now !

I much look forward to welcoming you next year or earlier !

Best wishes to both of you !

Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We just spent three nights at Hotel Verneuil. We found this hotel to be very charming. It is a typical French hotel with old world charm located in the 7th arrondisement on a very quiet street. We loved the l'Occitane products in the bathroom and the upgraded bed linens which are not often found in French hotels. The elevator starts on the first floor which is one floor above ground level. We stayed on the fourth floor and did not mind hiking the stairs. the staff was very helpful and quite friendly. They were full of tips for restaurants and other helpful tidbits. We loved the location, being only a few blocks behind the Musee d'Orsay. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank markandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#86 of 1,804 in Paris
714 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#57 of 1,804 in Paris
589 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Academie Hotel Saint Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Lille
Hotel de Lille
#181 of 1,804 in Paris
270 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#98 of 1,804 in Paris
412 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#24 of 1,804 in Paris
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain

Address: 8 rue de Verneuil, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Paris
#69 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#100 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £147 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century building fully renovatedHotel Verneuil is housed in a small 17th century building situated in a quiet street in the Saint-Germain des Prés area, at the heart of Paris. The location of this unique and charming hotel is enhanced by the close proximity of antique shops, art galleries, fashion boutiques, restaurants, cafés (deux maggots, Flore), and major museums. 600 meters to the Louvre and 500 meters to the Musée d'Orsay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verneuil Hotel Paris
Hotel Verneuil Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing