We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Montparnasse Gem”
Review of Hotel Sainte Beuve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Ranked #41 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Montparnasse Gem”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Sainte Beuve for our wedding anniversary. Being great admirers of Ernest Hemingway, we wanted to stay in Montparnasse and wander around the neighborhoods and local eateries that he used to frequent. We were not disappointed! Not only is Hotel Sainte Beuve only several blocks away from the fantastic Le Dome, Les Closerie des Lilas, and Le Select, but a five minutes walk away from Gertrude Stein's home with Alice B. Toklas as well. It is also only a minute's walk away from the Notre Dame des Champs Metro which rapidly took us anywhere else we wanted to go! As far as the hotel itself, it is a charm filled boutique hotel with an attentive and friendly staff that saw to help us whenever they could, and provided a wonderful environment for our entire stay. The breakfast was delicious, our room (although small since we requested the basic room) was inviting, clean and comfortable, and the lounge area near the small hotel bar was lovely and cheerful on those cold Parisian Autumn days when a fire was often lit for anyone to enjoy. We would definitely recommend Hotel Sainte Beuve to anyone looking to stay in this historic and interesting arrondissement!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLAckerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear guests,
We were delighted to read your warm review.
The location of our hotel is really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
Our hotel is indeed a boutique hotel, i.e. a small hotel with exceptional service. We would therefore like to thank you for noticing it. At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…
We pay extra attention to the cleanliness, decoration and layout in our hotel to maintain the welcoming and cosy atmosphere our guests like. We do have a cosy and intimate bar area for our guests. To add even more charm to this atmosphere, we lit a real chimney fire in our lobby every evening during winter.
We hope to welcome you again and again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    130
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
107
296
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our first trip to Paris. This hotel is perfectly located near several Metro stations and a short walk to a multitude of great places to eat from fancy to little cafe' as well as a huge shopping district which is a short walk away (or you can take the metro). The staff is welcoming and very helpful. The breakfast was perfect to get us started without overloading us. Also on the same stret as three fantastic restaurants and around the corner from a local breakfast spot.
We felt like guests at a friends mansion (as if we had friends with mansions). Its away from the bright lights and noise but close enough to walk there if you want. A romantic place for young lovers, or if youve been together a bit longerl (like 30+ years in our case), it will make you feel even more in love. We would come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guests,
We were very pleased to read your kind review!
Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Indeed our hotel is located on a quiet street in a nice and convenient area with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4, 6 and 12). Moreover, there are countless typical restaurants and bistros close to the hotel as well.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris.
We also pay extra attention to the decoration and layout in our hotel to maintain the welcoming and cosy atmosphere our guests like.
The whole team hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel was nice enough but not great. We had a room on the top floor, which was good - although not much of a view from the window. Reasonable size, but not exacly spacious. It had decent amenities, but they weren't high end. The "mini-bar" fridge looked like a dorm room reject. Some of the furniture was old metal. The nightstand was too big for the space and prevented one of the closet doors from fully opening. Decorating needed a bit spiffing up. But, comfortable bed, clean, good bathroom (even if the sink had a hard time draining), etc.

One major problem while we were there. It turned very cold, and we had no heat in our room. First the staff told us they fixed it, but all they did was give us a space heater (which we didn't consider very safe). On the second day, they fixed the problem (we don't think they had the heat turned on to our floor yet), and it was OK. While we understand that they may have needed for someone to come in on Monday, we didn't appreciate being told something that wasn't true.

I guess we wish we could give this hotel a 3.5, but going down to 3 would be too low.

The neighborhood was OK, but not particularly charming. There were restaurants and stores nearby, but it wasn't particularly close to the "sights" (although we did walk - a long walk - to both Notre Dame and the Orsay). Lots of restaurants toward Montparnasse station, but seemed like Parisian chains. Not the hotel's fault, but we should have thought a bit more about the location. It was near two Metro stops, though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KV-MKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
On the day you arrived, temperatures had unexpectedly dropped. We were still in “summer mode” in terms of air conditioning, i.e. the heating was indeed not on.
Guests usually come to our hotel also for the neighborhood. They indeed really enjoy being able to have a nice dinner in a famous brasserie such as La Rotonde or La Closerie des Lilas, or in a typical small bistros (Le Timbre, Moustache, Chez Marcel, Le Parc aux Cerfs).
We took note of all your comments to keep on improving the quality of service.
Despite all, we sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in our hotel again.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walden, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Small and charming. Bedroom and bath clean and comfortable. 1 block from Luxembourg gardens and very close to 4 main metro lines. Neighborhood had lots of stores and restaurants, cafes. The breakfast was pricey 16 euro pp. Around the corner is a great cafe and small supermarket. Staff was very helpful and always there to assist whether it was for a car service to and from the airport, help with directions, locating a special restaurant(which was 1 block away) or providing change.

Room Tip: twin rooms with 2 beds seem to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you for your nice review.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops and 1 RER station within 5 minute walk (line 4, 6, 12 and B). Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…It is really important for us that our guests start their day with an excellent breakfast.
At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We found Hotel Sainte Beuve in a book titled "1000 Places to Visit Before You Die." We loved the location and the staff and hope to return in the future.
We found several good places to dine nearby. Also a short walk to Montparnasse Tower which is worth going to top for a great view of Paris.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Rue St Beuve and was on the 3rd floor and worked out very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenB20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your kind review.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within walking distance (line 4, 6 and 12) and countless restaurants and bistros.
At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
The whole team sincerely hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently placed for the Metro, Jardin de Luxembourg and a twenty minute walk from the Musee d'Orsay and Notre Dame. The bedroom we had was small but had a comfortable bed and good bathroom. A good breakfast was served I the salon/bar. Friendly staff.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wendywooMiddlesex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear guests,
We were deeply touched by your warm and kind review.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within walking distance (line 4, 6 and 12) and countless restaurants and bistros.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…It is really important for us that our guests start their day with an excellent breakfast. At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
The whole team sincerely hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was really nervous about choosing a hotel in Paris. This hotel had great reviews so I took a chance. I'm really glad I did because this hotel was wonderful. The bathroom was a great surprise with nice big furry robes, slippers and lots of towels. I' was worried about our room being right next to the elevator, but I never heard a sound. The staff were very polite, attentive and eager to help out with anything. The reason I only gave 4 stars was because the room was much smaller than expected along with the T.V. I would stay here again and again...it was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We pay extra attention to select the best products possible for our guests: for breakfast, but also slippers, shampoos… Moreover our staff is always happy to help with dinner reservations or recommendations for places to visit in Paris.
We do have 4 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos are available on the hotel’s website.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,800 in Paris
1,840 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#109 of 1,800 in Paris
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sainte Beuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte Beuve

Property: Hotel Sainte Beuve
Address: 9 rue Sainte Beuve, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Paris
#37 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#48 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#111 Family Hotel in Paris
#482 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sainte Beuve 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a small street on the Left Bank the Hotel Sainte-Beuve, a magnificent "home from home" in which to rest after a walk through central Paris, is an address that has remained secret for several decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sainte Beuve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sainte Beuve Hotel
Sainte Beuve Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing