We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”
Review of Hotel Sainte Beuve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Ranked #59 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I love the Sainte Beuve! And Letzia was so helpful in every way and for everything I needed! She showed me how to get to all the places I wanted to visit and helped me figure out the metro stops. Thank you for making my stay in Paris so easy and helping me to feel at home!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TuscanyTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your guest experience on TripAdvisor!

Your words regarding the professionalism and kindness of our staff touched them a lot and especially Leticia! It’s true that they are constantly trying to make things easier for our guests, so that they feel as comfortable at Sainte-Beuve and in Paris, as they would feel at home.

We are so happy you loved our hotel and hope you will come and stay with us again on your next visit to the City of light.
With our warmest regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

It has been a little while since we stayed here, but this is a wonderful hotel in a great area of Paris. This is close to where Hemingway, Fitzgerald, Picasso, Frieseke, etc. hung out. The great cafes of their time are all just around the corner and they are still there. This is a magical part of a magical city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 46,749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your charming recommendation!
We are so happy you appreciated the atmosphere of our hotel and its neighborhood, which made this a memorable stay for you!

We hope to see you visiting us again soon.

With our warmest regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel was comfortable, clean and convenient. Good location as it is near the Luxenburg gardens and close to 3 different metro stops, plus bus stops but not in the center of tourist areas. We are "walkers" so it was a good value and nice hotel to stay at while in Paris. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very good restaurant (Invictis) 2 doors away. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The standard room(s) looks to an interior air shaft so if you want a view of anything, you need to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CarpeSkiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your guest experience on TripAdvisor!

We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, appreciating the charm and the comfort of our hotel.

It’s also so great that you found our location suitable in terms of restaurants’ choice and transportation facilities!

Thank you for staying with us and we’re looking forward to welcoming you back once again in the nearest future!

With our warmest regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is a little farther away from the river than we usually stay, but it was worth the walk. There were metro stops all around but we are walkers. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast delicious and prompt and the rooms were lovely. We appreciated the wonderful air-conditioning also as Paris was 90 degrees during our visit and we were up on the top floor. We will absolutely stay again. Great neighborhood restaurants, very quiet street. We heard about it from a friend and loved it.

Room Tip: high room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourist22903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your beautiful recommendation!

To read your comments regarding the professionalism and kindness of our staff, is a great reward for the whole team!

We’re delighted you found our breakfast delicious! Indeed, we only serve fresh and high-quality products to our guests: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, farm yogurt, fresh bread and croissants…

It’s also great you found our air-conditioning system was working well. Indeed, those are among the questions that many travelers ask and find important to know before booking any hotel!

Hoping to welcome you back to Sainte-Beuve Paris very soon!
With our warmest regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband, my daughter and I and another family truly enjoyed our stay at Saint Beuve. We made the right choice, 24 hours reception service, very welcoming, very helpful and warm and personalised. The location is superb, very quiet and nearby Jardin du Luxembourg and many good restaurants nearby .... We will definitely recommend friends to stay at this hotel and we will definitely be back perhaps sooner than expected ..... Keep
It up!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaPhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Bonjour,

Thank you so much for your beautiful recommendation!

It’s always a great reward for all the team to hear such nice words regarding the professionalism and kindness of our staff.

We’re really delighted you liked our lively location.

Thank you so much for saying you would recommend us to your friends and choose us again when visiting Paris! Know that we will be very happy to welcome you back with us again.

With our warmest regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I just completed our second stay at the Ste. Beuve. We chose this hotel almost entirely because of location. It’s situated on a quiet street just a short walk from the bustling Blvd. Montparnasse. The rue Sainte-Beuve has a remarkable number of very good small restaurants for such a short street. While many reviewers find the Ste. Beuve “charming,” we found it mostly dated. Certainly many of the Ste. Beuve’s features are disappearing from 4 star hotels: the miniscule elevator, mechanical keys with big fobs that must be left and retrieved at the desk, a very small TV that was very difficult to see from the bed (but there were no chairs to sit closer to the TV and watch the World Cup or The Tour de France), and inaccessible electrical outlets. If you want to plug in an electronic device you’ll have to unplug a lamp to do it. The furnishings might be generously described as antiques or, more accurately, as old and mismatched. The hotel is certainly ready for a renovation to bring it up to 21st century standards. Our non-smoking room did have a balcony which was nice. However, the balcony was littered with a cigarette package, cigarette butts, a cork, and other detritus. We asked to have the balcony cleaned and the floor was swept but the table and chair surfaces were not cleaned. It was raining during our stay so perhaps housekeeping was just waiting for better weather to complete their occasional cleaning of the balcony. On a more positive note, the air conditioning and the wi-fi work well. The Ste. Beuve is an adequate hotel, but there are much better options in Montparnasse.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Rhetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear guests,

We thank you for having stayed among us and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you enjoyed our location and the fact that we are located on a quiet street with nice restaurants.
We regret that you did not like the furniture in your room. Each of our rooms has different furniture that have been unearthed in Junk shops or flea markets. This gives a charming and cosy atmosphere, according to most of our guests, which contrasts with that of many modern hotels that have standardized furniture. Given the other hôtels in which you have stayed in Paris, maybe hotels more modern than ours suit you better, which we perfectly understand.
Finally, we apologise for your balcony that should of course have been perfectly clean. We will make sure that this does not happen again in the future.

Best regards,

Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed a week at the Hotel Sainte Beuve. I found the hotel to be very comfortable and clean. The receptionists working in the day and night were very helpful and polite. I really enjoyed my first visit to Paris and they made it less stressful. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 19 on the 5th floor. It was two windows that were floor length and opened onto a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Cindy

We sincerely thank you for the nice comment and for the time you have dedicated to the hotel
The team, as well as ourselves, is very pleased to know that your first stay in Paris and in our hotel was a success !
We hope to see you again next time you visit Paris !
Yours sincerely,

Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#21 of 1,804 in Paris
1,914 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#85 of 1,804 in Paris
717 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#98 of 1,804 in Paris
414 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#68 of 1,804 in Paris
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sainte Beuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte Beuve

Address: 9 rue Sainte Beuve, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Paris
#48 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#50 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#56 Family Hotel in Paris
#481 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £128 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sainte Beuve 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a small street on the Left Bank the Hotel Sainte-Beuve, a magnificent "home from home" in which to rest after a walk through central Paris, is an address that has remained secret for several decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sainte Beuve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sainte Beuve Hotel
Sainte Beuve Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing