We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mercure Paris Bastille Marais(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Astoria - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Paris 17(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
330
141
36
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
141
36
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsile st louisnotre dameexposed beamspont mariereal tennis courtheart of parisgreat locationhistoric hotellovely hotelwine shopcheese shoppublic areasmodern amenitiesbreakfast areacentral locationleft bankinner courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is in an ancient building and like most Paris hotels has very small rooms. But there is a wonderful attention todetail: Annick Gutal bath products, free Wifi, good storage considering its size, bath robes. All the amenities you expec in a larger hotel. They even have a towel warmer, In the lobby lounge, there's a small bar, adaily papers and a couple of bookshelves filled with loads of travel books, about half of them on Paris. Everyone who worked there spoke English and was responsive to all our needs.
The main street of the Ile can get really busy on weekends aand at nioght but the rooms are not on the street so you only have to fight the crowds to get there. Once in the hotel, it's a haven.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolAnnO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We have been staying at this hotel for many years, but this was our first visit for a while, and it was wonderful to be back. It has become a home from home.

You cannot beat the romance of the Ile St Louis, a small island barely 100m wide and 300m long right in the centre of Paris, barely 200m from the rear of Noter Dame: it is Paris's best kept secret. The narrow main street is lined with delightful shops selling clothes, artisan food, arts and crafts, antiques - and the island's best product, without a doubt, Berthillon ice cream: taste it and forget every other ice cream you have ever tasted. There are a handful of small restaurants and, at the end of the island nearest Notre Dame, a couple of bars, where you can sit and watch the world go by. This is a village right in the middle of Paris and its main street, which throngs with people by day, becomes quite at other times. Get off the main street and the rest of the island is blissfully quiet, so you can sit on the riverbank and read your book in peace.

The hotel is concealed by huge wooden doors, which open into a passageway and external atrium: once you are in the hotel you leave the bustle behind and enter the blissful tranquility of the hotel, which was beautifully and sensitively converted from an old real tennis court by the present owner's father. The previous reveiwer describes it perfectly: if only those ancient massive beams could talk, what a tale they would tell! The bedrooms are smallish but certainly not cramped, and have been recently upgraded and modernised: they are light and airy, the beds are extremely comfortable, and the rooms contain everything you could need. Choose a room on the first or second floor if you are inn the main part of the hotel: they will be quieter.

The owner and staff are extremely accommodating: they will recommend and book restaurants for you, to suit your taste, and there is a big 'Paris guide book' section in the hotel's library just inside the salon to help you plan your stay. Nothing is too much trouble and when the rather restricted dining area inside the hotel was full when we came down for breakfast on the Saturday morning, they served our meal outside in the very pleasant, sheltered garden / yard area - very pleasant.

We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Paris: if the hotel was booked we wouldn't come.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sirth0mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Jeu de Paume is a small, very well designed and superbly located hotel in Paris. It is one of only a few hotels, all small scale, located on Ile St Louis, the small island in the Seine River next to Ile de la Cite, home to Notre Dame cathedral.
It seems that an architect restored the centuries-old building, exposed all the original wooden beams, kept a great deal of the space of the building open, inserted an unobtrusive glass-walled elevator, a ground floor bar, a very comfortable outdoor sitting ( and smoking ) area on a patio near the massive street entrance doors, a breakfast area on the ground floor, and a sitting/reading area as a balcony inside the atrium of the building on the second floor. There are several rooms on the ground floor, with garden areas. The second and third floors each have a number of rooms, some of them - including the one we stayed in for three nights- overlooking the inner courtyard garden.
A giant magnolia tree was outside our window.
The room preserves the ancient wooden beams, but is in all other ways contemporary in design; with very comfortable bed, very good lighting, adequate closet space, and a very functional bathroom, with bath and shower, plus separate room with toilet.
Robes, slippers and toiletries are supplied.
With it's off-street location, the rooms are very quiet at night.
Breakfast includes fresh orange juice, fresh bread and pastries. It is much more than adequate.
Service staff are friendly, helpful, able to communicate in very adequate English, and eager to help arrange taxis, recommend local restaurants and advise about attractions in the area and cultural events in Paris. We followed their suggestions several times, and were glad we did.
Ile St Louis is mainly a residential neighborhood; but one located in the heart of Paris. There are a large number of historically significant buildings that ring Ile St Louis, almost all of them having stone facades and wonderful views over the Seine.
There are no large streets on the island, and it remains a community where people live for years and decades.
The owner-architect of the Jeu de Paume Hotel deserves great praise for having restored a building worth saving, and for converting it into a wonderful small hotel.
It is the kind of place you want to return to again and again. I hope we get the chance to do just that.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeafarerRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Really nice. A lot of atmosphere. A very unique hotel with a lot of character. Small, just 25 rooms. And the rooms are renovated! Not very big (but not unpleasantly small!) but very delicate. Holding an avearage 4star standard I would say. Mut with beams in the roofs and being delicate they appear very nice and romantic. And staying at St.Louis is perfect. Fantastic atmosphere to stay on this little island. And since we didn't intend to go west of pl Concorde we didn't take the metro once! :-)
The service was ok. Friendly but nothing more. Not owerwhelmed. Not very personal and a bit distanced. Not very attentive (but not unattentive!) Would maybe expected more of such a small and charming place.
But not a cheap place. But considering it's unique style and location on St.Louis it's worth it if you're willing to pay for these qualities.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are with beams! Avoid ground floor.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oystein1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Tremendous location, less than 10 minutes from latin quarter or the Marais. Hotel is clean, attractive and lived up to expectations on every level.

Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Lots of the rooms have exposed ancient wooden beams, but hte rooms are bang up to date. Stayed in lots of places in Paris but this was our second stay and we wouldn't contemplate staying anywhere else next time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bearfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews