We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Ranked #149 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

What can I say? This came as a recommendation from a friend and, as nervous as I was, there was no need. From the moment we stepped on to Ille St Louis, I knew it was a good choice.
Central location, not too touristy and not too noisey!
Quaintly difficult to find, the hotel has a beautiful setting, with lovely interior design.
The rooms are not large, but that is not a negative as the public areas make up for it.
The management and staff cannot do enough to help and make the stay a real pleasure.
I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
My only regret, is that I didn't stay longer.... but I will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tullidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    118
    31
    12
    9
See reviews for
57
261
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
730 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,434 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for four days and nights and used it as a base to explore the two islands. Check-in was very smooth as my bags were brought up to my room after I settled the necessary specifics at the front desk. The hotel used to be an old tennis court but there aren't any remnants of this structure left to my knowledge. There is a unique glass elevator that we used to access the second floor and also a spiral staircase that gives the entryway a bit more atmosphere than one would expect.

I purchased a basic room. Based on American standards it was smallish but for Ile St. Louis (where space is more precious than in NYC or SF) very adequate. There were separate facilities for a shower/wash basin and WC. The bed was soft and temperature control accurate. A small mini-bar was replenished daily and housekeeping was quite good. My only slight grouse was a bit more noise than I'm used to; occasionally I heard others talking or moving around their rooms but this wasn't a consistent issue and didn't effect sleep quality. The cost (190E) even for the off-season in Paris was very reasonable.

The setting is superb: centrally located both in the context of the island and Paris at large. A bit quieter than its more touristy neighbor, Ile St. Louis has much to offer and all of the unique shops on the Rue and many restaurants are literally a few steps from the front door. Although there are no metros close by three are within a 5-10 minute stroll: Pont Maire, St. Paul, and Cite.

A breakfast buffet is included in the room price and is very pleasant: a variety of rolls, bread, jellies, and coffee or tea are served from 7-12PM. There is no restaurant on site but as mentioned several close-by and although I did not order it, room service is available and contracted from local restaurants. A bar near the entryway provides a nice break from a day's sightseeing.

By far the highlight for me was the service. All of the staff to a man/woman were very courteous and attentive; I felt welcomed the entire time I was there and had an excellent experience with the concierge and front desk at every interaction.

In summary, this is a very good hotel with a rare combination of location, price, and service. I would definitely stay again if given the chance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank midway42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We loved the hotel and will definitely be back for another visit. As English speaking tourists the entire staff was supportive and patient with our attempts at French. Although French was not required to communicate. The entire staff was fluent in English. The rooms were clean and up to date on electronics. The food was authentic and delicious. The location couldn't be more perfect for afternoon strolls shopping or having coffee.

Room Tip: all were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel is on Ile St Louis and is within walking distance to all main attractions. The street is a lovely row of shops, restarants & boutiques. The hotel rooms are small (as is generally the case in Paris) but it is larger than the average Paris room. The hotel interior is distinctive and inviting with a lovely relaxed vibe. It is a quiet oasis beyond the old-style entrance doors. If you are looking for comfort and quirk in a prime location - this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

If you want a real slice of Paris this is your place.
Was worth every extra dollar.
Service was immaculate from check in to check out and rooms were very boutique but homey.
So peaceful but you feel like your living as a local.
There is a lovely deli a few doors down with an amazing selection of cheeses and meats. Bakeries and a local grocery store near by so you won't get slugged tourist prices.
The Latin Quarter is a short walk for so many local cuisines.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lost_on_foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greve, Denmark
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We picked the hotel due to the location and were pleasantly surprised to find this pearl in the middle of Paris. Nice rooms with a lot of history and very friendly service. The location is perfect to explore the Marais and Latin quarters. Definitely not the last time we use this hotel as a base for exploring Paris.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night last week after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. While visiting my daughter in London, we had a 2 day, one night escape to Paris. We have both been a few times and love Ile St Louis. The location was as perfect as we had expected, and the hotel an absolutely stunning old building. Every staff member was very friendly, happy to speak English and help us in anyway. Our room was ready on arrival from Eurostar about 10am. Quiet room with everything we required. Wish we had longer and time to explore the whole building. Couldn't fault anything and would happily stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonW2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel de Lutece
Hotel de Lutece
#571 of 1,802 in Paris
325 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#904 of 1,802 in Paris
196 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
#530 of 1,802 in Paris
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#265 of 1,802 in Paris
885 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#35 of 1,802 in Paris
147 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#84 of 1,802 in Paris
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Jeu de Paume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Jeu de Paume

Property: Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Address: 54 rue Saint Louis en L Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#259 Family Hotel in Paris
#272 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Jeu de Paume 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel du Jeu de Paume is a charming 4* hotel created in a former 17th century royal jeu de paume; it was fully renovated during summer 2010 and decorated in the "Arty" style. The rooms are cosy and comfortable, overlooking the small patio garden in which breakfast or drinks can be served. The Jeu de Paume is located in the historical heart of Paris on the Island Saint Louis, at walking distance from the cathedral Notre Dame, the Latin Quarter.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Jeu de Paume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Jeu De Paume Hotel
Hotel Jeu De Paume Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing