We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barely average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Balzac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Balzac
Ranked #585 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Barely average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Disappointing
- rude man at check in left me waiting for 5 mins while he showed a (cash paying) previous guest to him room and collect his tip while porters stood idle
- unquestionably the worst club sandwich ever from room service ... pre-prepared and served straight from the fridge
- no mobile reception in my room ... had to take and receive calls from lobby
- hotel over-heated

I would not stay here again even if it is on my company's preferred hotel list

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    122
    57
    19
    12
See reviews for
60
219
9
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We loved this hotel. Nice part of this hotel, is you are only a block from the hustle and bustle of the Champs, but it is nice and peaceful, with no traffic noise.

The room was very comfortable, and large by European standards.

We had the breakfast included in our package, and it had a nice selection for starting the day. Would have been nice to have a coffee maker in the room though.

The concierge service is great for helping arrange trips and reservations for dinner. Especially for those of us with a limited vocabulary in French.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street, so slept with the windows closed at night. Did not here any traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerwanabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Recommended by a friend. I reserved 2 rooms (family vacation). The first encounter at the reception desk was great, since you are doing all your check in SITTING DOWN unlike many hotels where you stand in queue and hope for a kind look. Then we were given our rooms, rather spacious considering you're in Paris. Breakfast was included and it had a big variety and more upon request.
All in all, it was a very good experience and I would certainly stay there again on my next trip to Paris soon

Room Tip: Go for the higher class rooms simply if you want more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Saad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Excellent hotel whether on business or holidays trips. Few meters from the crowded Champs Elysee and Arc de triomphe, yet so calm and warm. The management is of high level standards and always caring, the rooms are well equipped.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hady R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Great hotel!!!! It has very spacious rooms, styled in old Parisian grandeur, bathrooms are clean and new, I had a bathtub and shower. My room overlooked a gorgeous patio. It's location is superb and the staff are very professional. It is quite pricey, but I think it's worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

From room service to Transportation and accommodation to the food and cuisine this hotel has it all. The staff is nice and very well trained to welcome people with a smile and charming appearance. The rooms are warmly decorated to make you feel at home and the food service is always on time and excellently cooked.
I really recommend if you stay in paris to visit this hotel which is close to all the city life aspects, to champs Elyse and Eiffel tower and the most prestigious places in France.

Room Tip: Ask for the best view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I would like to thank you for this fabulous experience that I had in your hotel, that I couldn't wished for any better service facilities, the room was very spacious, with a great view, food was excellent, n I was impressed by the welcoming and helpful staff. L

Room Tip: you may chose what you like, sea view, or city view, both are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary71233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
De Vigny Hotel
De Vigny Hotel
#1,087 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#141 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Radisson Blu Hotel Champs Elysees, Paris
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Vernet
Hotel Vernet
#360 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Fraser Suites Le Claridge Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balzac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balzac

Property: Hotel Balzac
Address: 6 rue Balzac | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#322 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#419 Business Hotel in Paris
#432 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Balzac 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balzac is a luxury hotel located in the heart of central Paris' spectacular 8th arrondissement.Just off the Champs-Elysees and moments from the Arc de Triomphe, Faubourg Saint-Honore, Avenue Montaigne and Avenue George V; the hotel is perfectly placed for the very best Paris has to offer. The 69 rooms and suites at the hotel are sublimely decorated in a mix of neo-classical style with rich colours, fabrics and contemporary furnishings. Some of the rooms, including the Royal suite, exhibit spectacular views of the eiffel Tower and across Paris. The hotel contains a rich history and has been immortalised in fiction by a selection of the world's finest writers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Balzac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balzac Hotel Paris
Hotel Balzac Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing