We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the Concierge!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Aubusson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel d'Aubusson
Ranked #36 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beware the Concierge!!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here briefly at the beginning of an extended stay in Europe to celebrate our 25th anniversary. The hotel itself is very charming with a courteous front desk staff. The location was perfect and we walked just about everywhere.

It was very important to us that we visit the top of the Eiffel Tower during our stay because we had only seen the tower from the street on prior trips. When making the reservation, all advance tickets to the top were already sold out. The concierge presented two options and and told us that the "easiest" would be to have lunch in the Jules Verne restaurant because we could then purchase tickets to the top from there. (There is a private elevator from the street to this restaurant mid-way up the tower.) Lunch was fine but then we were unable to purchase tickets to the top. We were told that we'd have to go back down to street level, purchase the tickets, and then wait (for hours!) in the regular line for the elevator to the top -- thus defeating the purpose of spending over 350 Euros on lunch!! What bothered me most was the fact that the restaurant was very clear about the fact that the ticket office on their level (to the top of the tower) is often closed. Given this, the hotel concierge should not have instructed us that this would be the "easiest" way to the top. He should have been clear that we would be taking a chance. Had we known, we might have opted to skip lunch and take our chances with the regular line. I don't speak French and didn't think I should have to make transatlantic calls to figure all of this out. Isn't that what concierges are for?!

If you just need a place to stay, this is a very charming place. If you need advice on things to do in Paris, do NOT rely on this concierge. Do your own research!

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a bedroom window facing Rue Dauphine and a window in the bathroom facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EJPgh_412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAubusson, Directeur général at Hotel d'Aubusson, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Madam BARNES,

Thank you for having stayed with us during your last trip to Paris. I am delighted that you enjoyed our property and location. I also can understand you feel disappointed not to have had the possibility to visit the Eiffel tower's top part but who is responsible for that?
Regarding the lunch cost, you were told that “Jules Verne” was a fancy Restaurant. Moreover, we cannot be held responsible for the fact that the tickets sales were closed the day you went there.
By recommending you this option, we had absolutely no other interest than satisfy your expectations. We are really sorry that you had been unable to visit the top level but we could not predict these particular circumstances we are not responsible for.

yours sincerely,

Nicolas GUIPET
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    167
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
179
565
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel D'Aubusson for 4 nights in a superior room. After all of our months of planning my husband became ill with a flu-like virus on our first night and remained ill for our entire stay in Paris. The staff could not have been more helpful, cancelling reservations and calling a doctor when necessary- even housekeeping worked around us.

Despite the sickness, we could appreciate that our room was a nice size, with a lovely renovated bathroom and a suite of closets. The only negative was that being on the first floor was a little noisy when the music played at night in the bar. But once the music stopped the room was nice and quiet, with no noise from the street at all.

The location of the hotel could not have been better. Plenty of small restaurants for take away meals for me. I also felt very safe walking alone. I took advantage of room service which was helpful and had a good full breakfast in the dining room one morning. I also was able to take a walk to both the Louvre and Notre Dame.

Staying at this hotel helped us make the best of a bad situation. We hope to visit Paris again and would stay at this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank provotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

It is a given that excellent hotels in Paris are expensive but paying a lot does not guarantee that you will find a welcoming atmosphere for American visitors. We travel with a group of eight with demanding tastes and the Hotel d'Aubusson met everyone of expectations from gracious and helpful staff to a wonderful bar where drinks are not measured by thimbles and the maître'd, Favien, is worth the price of admission alone. He is hard working, charming and just fun. Another wonderful feature is jazz every night by some talented performers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We selected this hotel because a previois stay was memorable. This one exceeded our expectations. The staff is so friendly,professional and informative. Our Grand Luxe room was lovely, spacious and quiet. The breakfast was served in a charming room from 7am to 11:30, which worked well for our flexible schedule. Most key sites were walkable from the hotel, a Seine River cruise left from the Pont Neuf bridge, around the
corner. The staff made reservations for an evening concert at Sante Chapelle and it was one of the highlights of our vacation. There was a wine tasting before dinner each evening in Laurent, followed by jazz.
Overall, we were made to feel very comfortable and pampered. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I started our visit to France with a few days in Paris and stayed at the Hotel d'Aubusson. It was a very good choice as many of the museums and sights were within walking distance. The service at the hotel was super. Everyday we had a query or two and these were addressed satisfactorily with professional charm and humour by the personnel at the reception. Our room was a grand luxe. We were initially shown a smaller grand luxe room but when we expressed dismay at how small it was, a quick check was made and we were given a larger one which was quite comfortable and very clean. After completing our trip in France, we decided that this hotel was still our best stay, partly due to the warm staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to line 10 on the Metro which made it easy to get to the races at Longchamps. It is a charming hotel.The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The room ,a grand luxe, was quiet and very comfortable with a very well-appointed bathroom. The breakfasts were delicious and served in a room decorated with a stunning Aubusson tapestry.
We were lucky that there was a jazz band in the bar on one of the evenings that we were there. The whole atmosphere was warm and comfortable. There was nothing that we could criticise and would stay there again

Room Tip: Very quiet if overlooking the inner court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemima59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

As a travel professional I have personally stayed several times at the Hotel d'Aubusson with my family. My clients have loved the fun and informative front desk staff...Jean, the Head Concierge, Royce (his mother lives in New Mexico), Audry, Alexandra and Luxman the doorman are always there to lend a helping hand...directions, restaurant reviews, 'what's going ons in the area", etc.
Actually with a former General Manager Pascal Gimel, I helped create the Winter Package and the Romance Package providing nice discounts. the "King of the Bar" is Flauvin- the head barman, who also keeps pace to the jazz band in the cozy lounge adjacent. Spacious marble bathrooms, with Hermes amenities in each room...whether Superior, Class, Grand Deluxe, Jr. Sutie or the Duplex (great for family)...everything fits - including the former monastery's dense wood beams in each room and fire place living room. A British breakfast a must to get you started...and a nightcap in the hotel's umbrella covering courtyard tops the list.

Room Tip: All rooms have double paned windows so noise is not an issue on the Rue Dauphine, whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#63 of 1,798 in Paris
774 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#23 of 1,798 in Paris
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#80 of 1,798 in Paris
709 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#33 of 1,798 in Paris
559 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Aubusson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Aubusson

Property: Hotel d'Aubusson
Address: 33 Rue Dauphine | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#45 Family Hotel in Paris
#57 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#152 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Aubusson 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish and very attractive Hotel d’Aubusson is housed in a true Parisian mansion dating back to 1634 and located in the very heart of Saint Germain des Prés, a stone’s throw away from the renowned Pont Neuf bridge and within easy walking distance to The Louvre museum, the Orsay Museum, Ile Saint Louis and the Notre Dame cathedral. Boasting discrete luxury, Louis XV furniture, original Aubusson tapestries and a wonderful wood burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Aubusson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Aubusson
d Aubusson Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing