We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Haven of Parisian Chic in the Heart of the Left Bank”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Ranked #207 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Brilliant Haven of Parisian Chic in the Heart of the Left Bank”
Reviewed 11 July 2009

This being our first family holiday in the amazing city of PARIS - the Relais St Germain could not have been a better choice. Its location is absolutely brilliant, right in the heart of the buzz of the Rive Gauche, at an intersection dotted with cafes, bistros, meandering lanes where you would discover the quaintest shops and patisseries (highly recommended - MULOT - just a 3 min walk from the hotel). Bonus - very efficient wi-fi connectivity that helped us keep in touch with the world. Our family of 4 (one adult child, and one teenager) stayed in the Marcel Proust (room #32), and the Ernest Hemmingway (room #22) rooms - amazing decor and lavishly comfortable. We landed in the midst of an unprecedented heat-wave in Paris (over 32 degrees Celsius), and were grateful for the super-efficient air-conditioning! The team at the Relais - at least those we met - is excellent - namely Stana, Philippe, Anna. Plus the super-efficient bistro gentleman who served us breakfast every morning (except our final morning) at the Le Comptoir cafe. The first day we arrived - we had a late lunch there, and met him for the first time. When asked what's good - he said "everything is bad" ... ahhh ... a brilliant introduction to the French sense of humour!
On meals - our first lunch at the Le Comptoir was great - we over-ordered (compared to the modest croque monseiurs that other tables were having) - our order included an onglet of beef, two beef chateubriands, a platter of assorted charcuterie etc!
We went on to a few hits and misses for our meals in Paris over the 4 nights we were there. HIGHLY recommended is the CHEZ L'AMI JEAN at Rue Malar (within 15 mins walking from the Eiffel Tower) - brilliant x 3! The chef there is Stephane Jego, and he used to work with Yves Camdabord of Le Comptoir. If you want something different to the usual bistro fare - go there - novel Basque combinations in a traditional bistro setting!
A major MISS - the Relais L'Entrecote (at Rue St Benoit) - purportedly a 50-year (or more) restaurant that serves only ONE dish - beef entrecote, with what others claim to be an amazing 'secret sauce' - sorry we were extremely DISAPPOINTED. Beef was stringy and powdery, and for the price, we would have fared much better elsewhere.
We have fallen in love with Paris - and are determined to return in the cooler seasons (though unlikely again in the summer as the weather was blistering). Thank you, Relais St Germain!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MajidiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    93
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
82
281
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I have stayed many times at this hotel and it is always a pleasure. Everything is right . A real jewel !

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pclemarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Relais St. Germain for a second time in March 2009. My only negative comment is that we stayed for only one night this time. The room we had, #60, was beautiful. Large bed, a day bed/sofa, two seperate closets, a skinny shelved closet in the bathroom, and a table and chairs in front of one of the windows. I will certainly ask for this room again. As with our previous visit, the food was wonderful at the adjoining restaurant, Le Comptoir. We had both a dinner and a breakfast there.

One thing that I noticed this time is that there is a computer available if you need to get online. I'm sure it's not meant for someone to spend hours on it, but it is available for guests.

I did not require much of the staff, but all my interactions with them were friendly and professional.

The location of this hotel cannot be better. It's only yards from the Odeon Metro stop, near lots of good restaurants, near good shopping, and near the Luxembourg park. Also, it is very easy to walk to major attractions such as the Notre Dame, the Louvre, and the Orsay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We have stayed several times at this hotel, every time service has been very becoming. The rooms are charming, to say the least. Breakfast a marvel, if you can manage it all. The restaurant is absolutely top class at lunch and dinner, be sure to book in advance. If you want to know Paris, this is where you should stay.
Christer Heedh MD

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2009

This was the third time my wife and I stayed at the Relais St. Germain. The location is fantastic, the room very large, the staff extremely helpful and the food at the adjoining Comptoir fantastic.We spent five nights after Christmas and it was wonderful. When we arrived in the morning our room was not ready so the staff gave us another room so we could take a nap and freshen up until our room was available. From this location you can walk to all the best places on the Left Bank.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Athens45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2008

Having stayed in Paris many times, this last visit was the best thanks to Le Relais Saint -Germain. Our Junior Suite was beautiful and had a large bathroom! (Those not used to Parisian hotels; rooms and baths can be TINY compared to US standards). The staff was WONDERFUL and helpful with directions, reservations, etc. On that note the fantastic "Le Comptoir" which is part of the property, promises to have a table for all guests. On one warm evening there was a very long waiting line for tables at this popular spot. The staff sent us up to our room, with champagne, to relax a bit and they would call up when the next table was available-what a treat!
You cannot go wrong with this wonderful hotel, romantic, beautiful, great location, fantastic food! We shall return as soon as we can! Thank you Le Relais S-G!

  • Liked — The Decor and staff
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

We just returned from a 5 night stay and can not say enough about this splendid property. Every member of the staff was more gracious than the next. The room (Jr. suite 44) ,was spectacular and generously proportioned with breath-taking views over the Carrefour L'Odeon. The staff was more than helpful with dinner reservations each night. They also arranged for a table in the hotel-affiliated bistro "Le Comptoir" - one of Paris' most in demand tables and generally made certain that our every need was fulfilled. From the amazing (included in the room rate) breakfast ( in-room or in the downstairs restaurant) to the staff member who assisted with the set-up of the internet connection for my laptop in our suite, one could not imagine better, more professional service. Every amenity imaginable was provided at this hotel but the service by each and every member of the Relais Saint Germain staff was what made our stay truly spectacular. We will never stay anywhere else in Paris. This property is paradise. Merci to the Hotel Relais Saint Germain!!!

  • Liked — The service, the room and the location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank djgmota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#102 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#62 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel d'Aubusson
Hotel d'Aubusson
#32 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#161 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Property: Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Address: 9 Carrefour de l Odeon, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#42 Family Hotel in Paris
#141 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#300 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, between the Sorbonne and Saint Germain des Pres, Relais Saint Germain perpetuates the literary and gourmet tradition of the latin quarter while offering its own complete art de vivre. The Hotel, the bar with its hors d'oeuvre, the brasserie during the day and the gourmet restaurant at dinner dinner time, contribute to a unique and outstanding range of services. Our ambition is to offer our clients personalized rooms in a family(style environment while giving them a taste of our vision of luxury a la francaise. Relais saint Germain is your choice location with is sophisticated and convivial ambiance. Because Paris is a "moveable feast" our rooms are dedicated to the writers who contributed to the legend of the capital : Honore de Balzac, Antoine Blondin, Hemingway, Joyce, Proust, casanova, Francois Sagan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Saint Germain Paris
Relais St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing