We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Walk”

Montmartre Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.20*
and up
Montmartre and Sacre Coeur Walking Tour in Paris
Ranked #93 of 1,098 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This cemetery is the final resting place of Émile Zola, Edgar Degas, Alexandre Dumas as well as other artistic luminaries.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
682 reviews
315 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Interesting Walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

It's sometimes sad walking around this cemetery as many of the graves are quite unkept. I kept thinking give me a broom and a hose and a rubbish bag,but I'm sure a lot of people think that's what gives the place it's character. There is only one entrance so check your map.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BrisbaneBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    199
    52
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a must see if you're in the area (visiting sacre coeur), get a map by the entrance as it's massive. Very unusual monuments and a great place to think.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ruschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Its a wonderful place. Great monuments and great place to think in life. Recomend the visit, its a lot bigger then i expected.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nuno G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Another amazing destination in Paris, easy to reach with the Metro and we combined our visit here with the visit to Sacre Coeur which was great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jem357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very moving experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I recently spent A few hours in Montmarte Cemetery and found it be a very beautiful and moving experience.
As I wandered around I was taken back by the care and thought that local visitors took to tend to the graves of family.
I came across a group who were attending a funeral and was again moved with the singing and show of dignity.
If you can find an hour to escape the usual tourist spots just have a walk around and appreciate the beauty of this location.
There are many famous people at this cemetery and a useful board at the entrance giving an insight into their backgrounds.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlfiieandLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montmartre Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Montmartre Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing