We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Food, Excellent Racing and no Tourists!”

Hippodrome d'Auteuil
Ranked #501 of 1,098 things to do in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic horse track in the Bois de Boulogne was once frequented by Ernest Hemingway.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Top Food, Excellent Racing and no Tourists!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Four Euros to get in, which includes a free bus from the Metro. (Bath racetrack £20 to get in and £10 for the bus). Excellent , clean facilities including numerous restaurants, The cheapest was Euro 19 for a meal. (Bath racetrack £10+ for some grease). Eight top class races with 750,000 in prize money. (Bath, 6 races for less than £12,500). Great views from wherever you sit, and easy to put bets on - you go to the Euro 2 or Euro 10 windows and tell them the number of the horse and the amount that you want to bet on it to win or be placed (or both). Not overcrowded and a relatively cheap way to do something French without any tourists. I put Hippodrome d'Auteuil into Google and got the France Galop website (or something similar) which shows when the meetings are and what time the first race is.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bis+Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“You Bet It's Authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is no tourist trap. Auteuil is a storied steeplechase course dating back to the 1800s. We'd never seen a steeplechase and truly enjoyed this first experience. It was an entirely local crowd. And while you'll hear little or no English spoken, this isn't a detriment. The waiters, betting window attendants, and others were patient, tolerant and helpful in our attempts to communicate. The first time bettors window has English-based information and bilingual staff if you need them. The course has got a family atmosphere with children's activities and an informative racing museum for guests. It's clean, beautiful, picturesque, and authentically French to the core. We enjoyed it!

Top 5 Tips:
1. Go to the first time bettors information area to find brochures in English and helpful, enthusiastic attendants to instruct you.
2. Take the Metro to Porte de Auteuil station. A free bus was waiting with door-to-door service to the Hippodrome gate.
3. Cost? We were given free entry coupons on the bus the day we visited. But regardless, posted admission was under 10 euros.
4. Free race guide available at the entry gate.
5. Want the best seat in the house? Arrive early and hungry and you may find premium seats open in the top floor Brasserie for the day! (Or, make a reservation to guarantee a seat there.) We got lucky. Without a reservation we enjoyed a window seat on the finish line while dining on a delicious and reasonably priced lunch. (Reasonable means comparable to what we would expect to pay at home: 2 large meals, bottle of wine, coffee, dessert was under 60 euros.) Since it was cold outside, we watched the races from the Brasserie all day as did everyone else in the local crowd.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TheMcNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham Friary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

poor servi ce but it does have a toilet whi ch is about the best yoiu can say for it
60 euro's for a steak - hang on

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kev in r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We ate here 2 adults, 2 children on the set menu. We really enjoyed the food and found it to be very reasonable. would recommend

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank cutelilfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top class racing - excellent racing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

Have visited a few times. Easily accessible by Metro. Not had to pay entry fee to course on 5 visits but is appx €8 if had to.
Good bar & betting facilities -English speaking where needed & very helpful.
Well worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank mollyGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hippodrome d'Auteuil also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Hippodrome d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing