We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais
Ranked #1,042 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A return visit”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I returned to this hotel in September and again in October. The staff is terrific, the rooms unique, and housekeeping staff friendly. It's quite a personal place, and I look forward to returning.

I suppose it was a bit noising one morning, but it's the city and high school kids have a way of being loud in the morning. And that was just one morning out of 4.

The location is unbeatable, whether for getting around on foot, walking to the Gare de Lyon in about 20 minutes or getting by bus to the Gare Montparnasse in about 30.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaintPaulMarais, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comment posted in November on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stays.
You were very kind with your comments, and we very much appreciate you finding “the staff terrific, the rooms unique, and housekeeping staff friendly”.

We are really pleased that you appreciated the "unbeatable" location... It's true, we are fortunate to be in one of the nicer areas to stay in Paris.

We hope to see you soon in our establishment (do not forget that booking directly on our website with the code "TRIPADV", your breakfast is free!)

Yours sincerely,
The Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    72
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
59
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My partner and I recently stayed eleven nights at this great little hotel. The location was perfect... so convenient for experiencing everything Paris has to offer. The concierge staff was exceptional... so friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Housekeeping was quick and efficient, and the buffet breakfast service much appreciated.
The fire brigade located across the street was never a nuisance. No screaming sirens or noise, just regular training and maneuvers by handsome, fit young men that were actually quite entertaining to watch.
We enjoyed every second of our stay. We would definitely stay at the Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais again.

Room Tip: The rooms could be considered small, but I suspect it's "average" for staying in Paris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaintPaulMarais, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review you have given us! Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay with us in October!
It is always impressive the number of guests we meet who are dedicated to reading TripAdvisor, so once again, much appreciated!

That you found Saint-Paul le Marais Hotel provide you with an “Incredible stay” is the best compliment possible.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your 11 night stay, and that the concierge came through with flying colours!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,
The reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I visit Paris every year and in the past have rented apartments. This year we decided to try a hotel in an area of the city that we had never stayed before. While renting an apartment was a touch cheaper, the hotel made the extra dollars worth it. First, the staff at the hotel was absolutely superb. The front desk was staffed with highly attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable caretakers (one of whom, after getting to know us a bit as we sipped wine in the petite, yet charming lobby bar, suggested we attend a popular English-language play--we went and loved it). As for the housekeeping staff, our room was almost always cleaned by the time we returned from breakfast. Speaking of breakfast (which was included in the price of the room), the buffet was well stocked with cereal, bread, fresh juices, sausage and eggs, not to mention nice jams.

We're pretty discerning travelers and really couldn't find much fault at all with this hotel, though if you haven't stayed in central Paris before you may find the rooms small compared to the U.S. The location, delightful staff, and warm atmosphere more than make up for a room that you won't spend much time in anyway given the abundance of things to do mere steps away. The higher cost of the hotel v. apartment in a similar location was offset by a breakfast that would easily cost 15 Euros and services of the staff. Finally, the hotel had a bunch of intangibles for us mostly related to the service experience, that you can't put in a few short words.

My wife and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaintPaulMarais, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear guest,

What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your romantic stay at the Saint-Paul le Marais Hotel and with the services we propose.

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us on Tripadvisor!

We have shared your remarks with the entire team, which will be a wonderful source of motivation for all of them.

We are very much looking forward to your next stay with us, which hopefully will be very soon!

Yours sincerely,
The Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a great little hotel positioned right in the heart of the Marais. Close to the main shopping and all the back alleyways. Only challenge was the drop off spot out the front is right opposite the fire station. Great if you are female and enjoy a perve, but not so good if you leave your car as it will be towed away. Room was excellent and the reception was super helpful with bookings for transport, restaurants and any advice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavahoSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaintPaulMarais, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you kindly for the generous heading you posted on TripAdvisor following your visit with us in October.
We are pleased to see that you liked our breakfast, as you mentioned. We just improved it and will continue to do so in the coming weeks (do not forget to enter the code "TRIPADV" for free breakfast when you book your stay directly on our website).
We look forward to having you with us again in the near future, and thank you again for your thoughtfulness!
Yours sincerely,
The reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This lovely, warm and romantic hotel was way over and above our expectations! The location is very convenient, the staff is not only professional but also extremely friendly and helpful! The breakfast buffet offers a quite large variety, and the hotel has a unique special design. We enjoyed every moment of our stay, and will definitely come back if we ever have the chance!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaintPaulMarais, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your comment.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location in the heart of the Marais and the intimate atmosphere of our property.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Best regards,
The Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I will start off with the best points. It is in a prime location for Le Marais, eating out (breakfast, lunch and dinner), shopping, hiring bikes, near a supermarket, near the bus-stop, near the metro, near a taxis rank and near a church. In fact, I doubt that there is a better position to be in Paris. Most people want to be able to walk from the front door to not far to get what they want and here we could do that within a minute's walk, easily. A choice of many restaurants and bars nearby. The concierge staff were all lovely, helpful and spoke very good english. Nothing was too much trouble. Wifi was free and accessible in our room. Brilliant.
However, this is Paris where prices are a premium and I have to say that I did need to take a deep breath at what our money had paid for. We had a Double Superior room and I sought of thought this would be a 5' bed but it was in fact a small double (4'6"). The furniture was tired, sadly. The decor, dated, but we did have a larger sized room than anticipated. We also had a good sized bathroom ensuite with a Jacuzzi bath (I hate them so didn't use the function), a TV with remote, 2 hairdryers, a safe, a kettle and a phone. There was also an A/C unit but we did not use it. The room was clean. We didn't eat breakfast at the Hotel - 12 euros a person seemed too much. Instead we went to La Favorite Bar nearby.
We got used to the fire brigade coming and going (they live opposite) and never expected peace - it's the centre of Paris - and we actually became quite fond of our room over our 4 night stay. However, please don't book expecting an amazing Boutique hotel. Please do book to be in the heart of where you need to be in Paris with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Not sure I can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosiefutures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaintPaulMarais, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding the hotel facilities and the staff.
We are glad to hear that you liked the place and the area a lot, we are indeed perfectly located in the Marais for visiting Paris on foot and at the center of a lively district for finding a restaurant, having a drink or going shopping.

As you mentioned, the size of our rooms is very correct to Paris (where most new visitors are surprised at the size of the Parisian hotels' rooms) and we are not a modern "Boutique Hotel" but a charming three stars hotel, housed in a former seventeenth century convent, which has preserved its beautiful decor, patina and stonework through out the centuries.

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Kind regards,
The reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed for four nights and loved it!! We moved areas to a much more expensive hotel and wanted to go back to Saint Paul. We were close to trains, buses, restaurants and shops. The staff were helpful and the room had charm. Breakfast was rushed due to not enough seating and we missed a cooked breakfast so ate elsewhere. Will definitely stay there next visit. I wish I was there now. I accidentally selected a rating for the swimming pool but there is no pool.

Room Tip: We had courtyard room level four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaintPaulMarais, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Mrs,
Thank you for your lovely post!
There is no greater pleasure for us than to get positive feedback from a satisfied customer.
You made us all smile today.
We all look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
The reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#80 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#372 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Le Marais
Grand Hotel Malher
Grand Hotel Malher
#666 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#469 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#381 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Le Marais
Pratic Hotel
Pratic Hotel
#1,516 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais

Property: Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais
Address: 8 rue de Sevigne, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#324 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned between the famous Place des Vosges and Notre-Dame. This romantic hotel, superbly located in the Marais district, invites you to enter a world of poetry. Choosing to stay at the Saint Paul Le Marais Hôtel means to stay at the centre of one of the liveliest districts of the capital! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Le Marais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing