We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad, actually good !”
Review of Hotel de Sully

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Sully
Ranked #1,632 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not that bad, actually good !”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This place did not seem that bad to my girlfriend and I. We have been pretty well welcomed from the staff and our room was alright. After reading all the reviews we did not have high expectations so that could have helped to appreciate it more than others trip users.
We've also spent a decent price in a very expensive city . In our room everything was working, we slept well. We might have been lucky. I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arnold r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    34
    41
    26
    48
See reviews for
34
54
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My family and I arrived to Paris. Soon we learned our reservations were cancelled, so the hotel management referred us to The Sully Hotel. I was greatful to get a room quickly after traveling for about 10 plus hours and exhausted. I soon headed to the my room located on the fifth floor, great exercise but our troubles began when we attempted to open the door. We could not beleive the condition of this small room , smelly room, ripped mattress , stained bedcovers, pillows smelled like body odor but I am saving the best for last The Bathroom nasty, nasty and disgusting , mildew everywhere, and the smell of raw sewarge was overwhelming

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Astrin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My wife and I needed a cheap place to stay in Paris for one night that was close to the train station. We were heading out the next day and didn't need anything fancy. I had come across this hotel before and quickly dismissed it after reading all the horrible reviews. In a moment of desperation, having waited till the last minute to book, we settled on this place.

The hotel is absolutely disgusting. Do not stay here. It is not worth it. Bit the bullet and fork over the extra money for a nicer hotel. We arrived later at night to check in. All the lights were out on the main stair way and we had to stumble up to our 5th floor room. The room itself was in disrepair; not to mention filthy. The bathroom was mouldy. The floors had not been vacuumed. And worst of all, it looked as though there were bed bug husks on the mattress, not to mention the hair and other stains that covered the sheets. We did not sleep at all and slept in our clothes above the covers.

This place is not worth it for even one night. Do not make the same mistake we did.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BillFould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

OK so it's not a luxury hotel! We had two family rooms and a triple room. For the price we found the hotel great! We had eight kids with us and three adults and it would have cost a fortune to stay anywhere else! It is a haul up all the stairs but our rooms were all at the back of the hotel and quiet. The beds were clean and so was bathroom. We were only staying one night and found the rooms plenty big enough as we were only in them to sleep! The hotel is in a fab location, plenty of shops, Monoprix supermarket literally across the road, cafes etc. Place de Voges only around the corner, lovely for a stroll around looking at the galleries and a playgroung for the kids! The staff were grand, had no problem with us arriving early (round 11am), our rooms were ready then. We were also able to leave our 11 bags in the lobby next morning for a few hours. So overall I;d go back there again just for the location alone!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brucefan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

horrible, not clean, mould and wet floor!!! would not recomend

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mica1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsberg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We are seasoned travelers and usually don't get caught up over too much. This, however, was beyond our breaking point. The five flight hike up to the room I could chalk up the "exercise" (who doesn't need it after Parisian desserts!?) The minuscule room? We'll just say really cozy. But that is as far as my imagination could go. "Splurge" on 10 euros more a night and go somewhere else! The smell was that of dirt, smoke and who knows what else. The floors looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in at least 2 years. I wish I could say that the bathroom looked like it had been cleaned.... ever. The mold ALL over the shower, bathroom floor and wall actually made me opt to not bathe for the 2 nights that we stayed here! (Now, THAT is gross!) Our wake up call was our wall neighbors having sex. Our midnight wake up call was new neighbors screaming (or what seemed like it because you could hear every.single.word), To help dim the noise of the neighbors, just open the window and all you can hear is constant street noise, cars honking and that might help drown out the noise of being able to hear everyone on your floor.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeAnna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
den haag
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at hotel Sully with 13 persons last weekend. Great location, but very unfriendly staff (while trying to make a reservation through e-mail I only got rude one-line-replies), all the rooms were dirty, the drains were smelling really bad and the smell went all over the rooms. Also there was a lot of bathroom mold in every room. In some rooms it wasn't possible to hang the showerheads, so you had to hold them but they were really dirty, as were the blowdryers, toilets, etc. The blankets had stains on it as well as the carpet.

I have been in a lot of french cheap hotels, and I don't mind really small rooms and no elevators and all this, but hygiene is something that you may expect in a hotel right?!
I was disgusted everytime I took a shower and I didn't wanna touch anything.

We saw the cleaning lady everyday, but wondered what it was that she was doing there...

Room Tip: Just don't go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
#1,506 of 1,802 in Paris
162 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#506 of 1,802 in Paris
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Pratic Hotel
Pratic Hotel
#1,559 of 1,802 in Paris
243 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Place des Vosges
Hotel de la Place des Vosges
#1,143 of 1,802 in Paris
209 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#373 of 1,802 in Paris
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Sully? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Sully

Property: Hotel de Sully
Address: 48, rue Saint Antoine, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,632 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel de Sully 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Sully reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Sully Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing