We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but crappy quality” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Sully

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Sully
Ranked #1,630 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location but crappy quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed here for 3 days to celebrate for New Years. It was very expensive for the low quality of the hotel.
- The service elevator didn't work and didn't note this on their website or over the phone when we talked to them. We had to walk up 5 flights of stairs.
- Very small, standard room with small bathroom (the bathtub drain was putty- obviously repaired in a tacky way).
-They have strange rules such as not allowing any outside food or drinks into the lobby or your room.
-Also, we had to leave the hotel key with the night clerk before we left. The clerk was an unpleasant person.

The daytime staff clark is super friendly and helpful. Overall, very expensive new years prices for a 1-2 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonjourvivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    34
    39
    25
    48
See reviews for
34
54
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Due to train strikes we had to get a last minute hotel when we got stuck in Paris an extra day. This one was around the corner from the hotel we were already staying at and very cheap. Since it was only for one night we took it. Our room was up 5 flights of very steep stairs, which is not ideal but something we could deal with. Once we go to the top and went around the corner to our room, the hall was filled with random things like old doors and furniture. I guess they were using the hall as storage. We navigated around that and opened the door to our room. The bed was in such a strange place that it was difficult to get our bags in the room as it was right behind the door. I have to say one good thing was that the room is quite large with a cute balcony overlooking a courtyard. However, the room didn't look like it had been cleaned in ages with dust in all the corners. There was paint peeling off the walls and doors. The bedsheets had strange stains on them and holes. I took one look in the bathroom and decided not to take a shower in it. It was so dirty it reminded me of camping. Plus, the hook for the showerhead was broken so I imagine showering would have been difficult anyway. I was very happy to leave in the morning and not come back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Oulu, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

If you're looking for a budget accomodation in the hip Marais, this might a possibility. But I wouldn't recommend. I had to choose this because every hotel and hostel was fully booked.

I had a double room facing the Rue Saint Antoine, a busy, noisy bulevard. I didn't mind though, a real city is supposed to be noisy. The large window was a nice spot to sit at and observe the street life. And window closed, I had no problem sleeping tight. Although it was a double room (63€) I was charged for single (50€). Anyways, it was still overpriced.

Room was in a poor condition. Carpet was stained, wall papers worn and ugly and so were bed and blankets. No breakfast was served, but that's no problem, there are nice cafés in the neighbourhood. Two times out of three, the shower was intolerably cold. The front desk told me that I should shower in the evening, so there would be enough hot water... phew. Fifty bucks might not be too much for a hotel, but no wc ensuite and no breakfast makes it non-recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kvahtera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

...with friendly staff and nice common areas. Recommended from a friend who lives in Paris, whose wedding guests all stayed there. The view to the street is picturesque and the windows shut well to close out the noise. Great, free wi-fi connection in the rooms. That said, room size and comforts are in line with France, not the U.S., so expect a smaller room, thinner walls and less-insulated plumbing than you might be used to. The value and location more than make up for it, so just bring ear plugs, as you would in any European city, and wake up well-rested.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeverInMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

Interesting place....if you're backpacking through France and are a young college student on a budget this place is an awesome bet. If I had stayed there 10 years ago when I backpacked through Europe it would have been a great value, especially for the location. Now, if you are on a tight budget this is a good value. If you are not on a strict budget I would not not stay here. We ended up there because we were in Paris during 'conference' season and could not find a room for under $300. Hence, it was three hundred big ones or 50 euros for one night--we opted for the 50 and the truth is that you get what you pay for. The maids and the older gentlemen were friendly. Location is unbeatable for the price. I am a clean freak and so had a bit of trouble putting my head on the pillow (bring your own sheet). Although it seems that the management is trying to upgrade as I saw new shower doors and plumbing waiting to be installed in the hallway. No elevator, the showers were built for midgets (literally, the shower/spout comes up to your waist--I'm 5'5 and the spout was on level with my belly button).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1guendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2008

it was the only LP recommendation that was bad - we actually walked the streets till we found the lovely Hotel Clip nearby - highly recommend

Stayed October 2003
Helpful?
1 Thank tikidog_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2007

Good Points: good location, nice staff, quiet, can come and go as you please, spacious, cheap (60 euro per night).

Bad Points: Really really dirty, stains on walls, doors, carpets etc, cigarette ash boxes lying along corridors. Bathroom mouldy, tiny and very dirty, lots of insects, no breakfast.

We have stayed all over Europe in Budget and hostel accommodation but have never stayed in somewhere as dirty as this hotel. The thing is though it could be a really great hotel, it's spacious, airy and quiet but there is absolutely no effort whatsoever put in to the cleaning of it (despite the cleaning staff being lovely and bubbly).

The skirting boards are thick with dust, the wardrobe is covered in other people's grubby handprints and the bathroom hasn't been properly cleaned in around a decade and there are plenty of insects to keep you company. Ashtray's (some of them broken) line the corridor, curtains hang of the rail and the television is too high on the wall.

The location is really good, with three metro stops 'Bastille' only 5 minutes away. Rue Antonie is filled with beautiful delis and an abundance of nice restaurants and cafes are nearby. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone but would stretch the budget, opt for somewhere more expensive and perhaps stay in Paris for a shorter amount of time.

It's such a pity really as with a bit of effort this place could be great.

  • Liked — Roomy and Good Location
  • Disliked — The Dirt
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank love4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
#1,499 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Pratic Hotel
Pratic Hotel
#1,555 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#707 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Place des Vosges
Hotel de la Place des Vosges
#1,061 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#420 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Sully? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Sully

Property: Hotel de Sully
Address: 48, rue Saint Antoine, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,630 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel de Sully 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Sully reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Sully Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing